We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet comfortable stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort to your Saves list
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quiet comfortable stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Everything was clean and comfortable. It was not luxurious, but I really couldn't find any complaints except the rate was a little high. I have to take into account that it is the Dells though. We were able to ride the bikes to the lake to paddle boat. There are not a lot of bikes and they aren't 3 speed or any speed, but it was fun to ride instead of walking or taking the car. They have 3 paddle boats and it was fun. They have an outside pool and tennis courts by the reservation building. There was a small game room. We were only there for two nights and actually were busy doing Dells activities most of the time, so we didn't take advantage of many things they offer. It is nice to be away from the WaterPark craziness of the main strips of town.

GPS will not take you to the entrance of the resort. Keep driving and you will see it. There are two entrances. Only one will take you to the reservation building.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    31
    9
    4
    12
See reviews for
51
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
61 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012 via mobile

Loved having a two bedroom condo. Having a tv in each bedroom along with the living room and having 3 DVD players was wonderful. We brought our own movies but you could rent them from the office. The rooms were very clean and they even supplied beach towels. Kitchen was nice and we were able to eat 1-2 meals there per day. The only problem with the room is that they allow smoking. We called ahead and they put an ionizer in the room before they got there, so the room smelled ok,but by the end of the week we could smell the stale smoke smell in the curtains, but I am very sensitive to smoke and it didn't bother me.

A friend who had stayed at the Tamarack previously told us to bring bikes for the kids because they have nice trails, but we didn't, and what a surprise that they loaned them out. They also supplied a discount card for some local deals.

We would definitely recommend the Tamarack. It was a great surprise how nice it was. Also the location was perfect. Being close to a walmart is always very helpful.
The pools were nice nothing special but we didn't need them to be because we went to Noah's Ark.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Second time here and the summer is just awesome! Our backdoor opened to an open field and overlooked the park. For a Chicagoan to be able to open the door and see the kids play in the yard is priceless. Love the full amenity condo. Saves money on going on every meal with little ones. So much room that. Love it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Considering there are only 30 reviews here, I'm considering Tamarack to be a well-kept secret of the Dells. We rented a 2 bedroom condo for about ~150/nt. Here was our experience:

Customer Service: There was a little wait when we first checked in, but in fairness we were there at Noon and official check in was at 4pm. They were just verifying if housekeeping had gotten to our condo and finished cleaning. Other than that, I found the staff to be very helpful and the rest of the checkin and checkout processes went smoothly. There is no daily maid service, but they do have a 'linen exchange' where you can bring any towels, blankets, sheets, etc. and have them swapped out for clean ones.

The unit itself: I'd say our unit was semi-renovated. Part looked newer, parts looked older, but none of it I would consider 'run-down'. It was still well preserved. One complaint we had was that the room did have hints of having been smoked in (which drove my wife's allergies crazy), but it wasn't an overwhelming odor at all. Most importantly, EVERYTHING WORKED! Appliances were well kept and operational. Plenty of dishes, silverware, servingware, cookware, etc. Icemaker in the fridge worked as well. Hot water was VERY HOT and plentiful. That was one of the best features. :) Unit was also QUIET. Never heard any of the neighbors on either side of us. A/C worked fine as well (the place was actually FREEZING when we walked in. All in all, it wasn't the best condo I've stayed in (that would be in Orlando), but for the Dells I have to think it was 2 or 3 notches above your average hotel and - in most cases - half the price.

Location: Very nice location in that it seems far away from the hustle and bustle of the downtown areas, but it's really only minutes away from anything. Made it very easy to bring the kids back for a lunch break and then go back out afterwards. And again, very quiet.

Common Areas: Clubhouse, Pools, courts, playrooms were all in good shape. Nothing fancy with the pools (i.e. no slides), but we also had no problems with overcrowding or over-utilization. Indoor pool area has a nice 1ft depth pool for the real little ones. Locker rooms were clean. Didn't use the showers, but did see someone cleaning them while I was there. Didn't have a chance to check out the paddle boats on the lake, but those are free to guests as well.

Amenities: Pools (indoor and outdoor), hot tub, racketball, tennis, paddleboats, kids play area, videos/games for rent, discount card for many area attractions/restaurants (usually about 10% off).

All in all, we really enjoyed our stay here and I'll definitely plan on staying here again. Only caveat is that, like many other condo rentals, your experience can vary depending on how well maintained the unit you receive is. By reports though, it appears that many of them are getting rehabbed, so the chance of getting a 'lemon' should be lower. Also, we rented a 2 bedroom unit, but one of the units was actually a loft that overlooked the living room. Not a huge deal, but we had a 3mo in our room (other two kids took the second bedroom), which was the loft and had to be extra quiet after she went to bed. Just something to note.

Room Tip: You may want to make any requests for bed types (i.e. you can have a queen or two twins in the secon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay Wisconsin
Level Contributor
138 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed a week here. It was disappointing that there is no free wireless, but we were told they ate going to put it in.

The units are clean and well laid out. There is parking for two cars at each unit.

All appliances worked well.

The units themselves are a little confusing to find, but they did give us a map.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed with our granddaughter in a 1 bedroom unit. The bed and sleeper sofa were so uncomfortable we both had bachaches the next day. Our feet got very dirty after walking on the floor for short time. The unit size was sufficient but the wall air conditioner in the living area was not enough because the bedroom was very hot, maintenence brought a box fan which helped some. The staff was nice and helpful but they could not fix the beds. The kitchen allowed us to cook breakfast and dinner which kept our food expenses down.
I would not recommend this resort because of the beds.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We just came back from the Tamarack Saturday after a 7 day stay with Travel Advantage Network (TAN member since 1988) and I am very happy with the resort offerings. And just 2 short miles from Downtown Wisconsin Dells, but, its closer to all the water parks. It’s also a 5 minute drive rite to the Wilderness and the Great Wolf, you can drive by and make fun of all the people who just overpaid for their stay in the Dells... If you like wooded out of the way areas with open space, peace and quiet this is the place for you. The ducks (not the boats) come by your place and will wait to see if you are willing to feed them and then move on. As I was packing to leave, a mama duck stopped by with all her babies, hung around for a bit and it was a very welcome treat for my two kids who came out to enjoy the company before they moved on to the next condo unit and before we departed to go back home.

We stayed in the Birch condo unit which is in the middle of everything on the property and puts you walking distance between the recreation center (Very impressive) with the indoor pool, game room, exercise room, racquet ball and more, the outdoor pool by the kids play ground, tennis and volley ball courts, the laundry facilities, the maintenance facilities and the fully stocked Hummingbird lake with plenty of active fish for your kids or adults. And at this point I will not give away any fishing secrets here, this is something you have to experience for yourself. All you have to do at this place in the morning is wake up, make breakfast and head out after you have planed your days activities at the Tamarack or in the Dells. Oh and DON’T forget to plan one evening at the Big Sky Drive in, it’s only 20 minutes away. Also, the best activity for the cost to get in, is to take your family to Circus World in Baraboo. It was very cool, I was just amazed. Be sure to pick up a Dells Coupon book, it will give you many great saving , including 2 for 1 to Noah’s Ark for the day.

To this day I have not been disappointed with the TAN Property offerings. With TAN or without TAN this is a great bargain to stay in the Dells, you will leave exhausted and happy.

The ONLY con, which is tiny little blip is the GPS puts you at the very beginning of Xanadu Road in some residential section. I’ve seen that complaint on other reviews. But if you keep driving past the express way towards the Walmart sign (Rt23) on Xanadu Road as soon as you pass up the hill, you are home for the week.

This was a great family trip and an even better place to stay… I Can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Birch is in the center of the property
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
3.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#18 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
2.1 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 1,369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort

Address: 874 Xanadu Road, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#27 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located midway between Chicago and Minneapolis, Wisconsin Dells is an ideal family vacation spot with a variety of entertaining activities offered year-round. In the late fall and winter, you can ski, snowmobile and ice skate. In the spring and summer, take the kids to ride the Ducks on a scenic tour or to one of the thrilling water parks. Whether you're bringing the kids on vacation, or you're just a kid at heart, the Wisconsin Dells will keep you coming back for more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tamarack And Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort
Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Fairfield Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamarack & Mirror Lake, a Festiva Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.