We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was fantastic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mexicali Rose

Mexicali Rose
195 State Highway 13, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53967
608 254 6036
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #109 of 169 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Slinger, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Service was fantastic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

But the food left a lot to be desired. I had fish mahi mahi, I believe, and it was very overdone. They took it off the bill. Everyone else said their food was ok. Some of the best salsa I have had. The drinks were good and the service was great.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

35% Recommend
    32
    33
    33
    30
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee, wi
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really BIG food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

The food was ok, with standard mexican fare as well as a children's menu and some a la carte items. Everything was kind of bland - could have used a lot more spice and flavoring. The pricing is a little expensive, most dishes were $13-$18. However, they give you an enormous amount of food. I would highly recommend splitting a combo platter with someone else in your group.
The view is beautiful. It would be a great place to sip margaritas on the patio, while overlooking the river.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Seafood Enchiladas!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

It's been about 10 years since my wife and I have eaten here, but we remembered the delicious seafood enchiladas. Now in their new location, we sat on the patio overlooking the river and had the same buttery, cheesy seafood enchiladas! Very beautiful on the patio. Very good service too!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“average food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

went around 4 o'clock on a Monday. Only ones in the restaurant group of 8. Service was very good, food was priced around $10 to $15 a dish. Portions were good but lack taste. I had the combo plate, everything tasted the same. others had chicken dishes and they complained about to much chicken?? (go figure) Chips and salsa were free flowing and about what you would expect. We took our drinks on the patio which over looks the power dam. Staff were friendly, I would visit this place again, just ask more question about the menu.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food Good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Good food Good location. We stopped here after a day at the waterpark and really enjoyed the restaurant

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mexicali Rose also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Mexicali Rose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mexicali Rose, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.