We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for basic food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wild Canyon Cafe

Wild Canyon Cafe
511 East Adams Street, Wilderness Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Wild Canyon Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 179 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Wild Canyon Cafe is a beautiful family restaurant located inside The Wilderness Resort.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Overpriced for basic food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We ate the breakfast buffet which was ok but overpriced. Adults were $13.49. For each adult meal a child could eat free, I've never seen such a massive pile of bacon! Fresh fruit was a nice addition to the high carbohydrate options- bagels, fried hash browns, waffles, pancakes, cereal, ...

Visited January 2013
Thank jhl_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sub Golden Corral Quality”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went here for Thanksgiving dinner and was severely disappointed. At the best the food tasted like a heatlamp. An embarrassment to the rest of the property.

Visited November 2012
Thank philerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't get the appetizers here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We only wanted a little bit to eat and that's what we got, but with a big bill. We ordered the chicken tenders and the mini tacos.....yuck! The chicken tenders (4 small tenders) came with a horrible ranch sauce and the tenders had no taste what so ever. The mini tacos were horrible! Little taco shells with NO filling served with sour cream and something that was supposed to be a taco sauce. The bill was $20.00 ridiculous!

Visited December 2012
Thank lovetotravel166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Old Country Buffet Quality at High-End Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We visited the Wild Canyon Cafe on Thanksgiving Day, hoping to enjoy a relaxing and nummy Thanksgiving meal. We were disappointed. The buffet is poorly designed, so people were walking every which way and bumping into each other. It was incredibly busy, whereas everywhere else we've gone today was deserted. Several times we had to wait for food or dishes to get restocked. The floor under our table was incredibly dirty. The food? Think Old Country Buffet. Lots of variety, but very low-quality. I believe the turkey wasn't even fresh turkey but some type of turkey loaf. C'mon! On Thanksgiving you can't manage to cook up a bunch of fresh turkeys? The wild rice soup was more like porridge than soup. The lettuce on the salad bar was brown and limp and there wasn't a lot of variety offered on the salad bar. The seafood was all breaded and frozen -- no fresh seafood was offered at all. Usually at this price point there are at least a few stations where fresh meat is being cut right there and served, but there were no stations at Wild Canyon. Almost everything on the buffet looked processed, frozen, breaded. While there were several kids' choices, they were incredibly unhealthy -- chicken nuggets, hot dogs, cheeseburgers, tator tots, french fries, etc. The hot dogs and cheeseburgers were in foil wrappers. There were quite a few choices on the dessert bar, too, but everything we tried did not taste good. The pies had horrible crusts. The pumpkin pie was soft and mushy. The taste of the cherry, apple and pecan pies was either "off" or tasteless. The buffet was pricey -- our 13yo daughter was charged as an adult. The entire meal for two adults, a 13yo girl and a 10yo girl, including drinks (not included in buffet price), was more than $100 when we added in a tip. For that price -- and on Thanksgiving, no less -- we expected a lot more.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank rebmafaith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Not good, not bad. The food is fair with a decent amount of selection on the buffet. The place is clean and the service was good. The catch is that the 'kids eat free' which is great until you get your check and an adult meal is $19.00! I have no problem paying $19 for a meal but come on, for this food. I would pay about $11 or $12 for this buffet. So all in all, it comes out in the wash with the 'kids eat free'. Its definitely no somewhere I would seek to go but it was quick and convenient.

Visited October 2012
Thank signalten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wild Canyon Cafe also viewed

Wisconsin Dells, WI

Been to Wild Canyon Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing