We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boy's get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Boy's get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Took a last minute fishing trip to Rivers edge with the boys after checking the weather report. Visited Monday to Thrusday in late September and we had perfect weather. Fishing was also fairly good catching a mixed bag, Walleye, Sauger, Crappie, Sturgeon, Stripers, Small Mouth Bass, Catfish and rock Bass. Quite the selection. We stayed in cabin 28 I believe. Two bedrooms and two baths, fireplace and kitchen. Quite comfortable for our crew. Ate at the Pub and Grub one night and I highly recommend it. Prime rib with shrimp was great. Sit by the huge aquarium and check out the fish. Two thumbs up for Mandy our server. Wanted pizza one night so we bought a couple of frozen ones. Then realized there was no oven in our cabin. Walked across the street to the restaurant and they were very gracious and cooked it for us allowing our group to enjoy it at the bar. Perfect place to get away, relax and forget about it all. Fall is the best time to visit. While boating be careful the water is low.

Thanks from the Ukrainian gang. Look forward to another visit in November.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    14
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
20
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hickory Hills, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at Rivers Edge Sept.1-3.. We booked one of their motel rooms since we were only staying 2 nights..While on the smaller side, the room was very clean and perfect for the two of us..We ate at the Pub and Grub and enjoyed the food very much.The whole staff was very polite and friendly to us our whole stay..We will be going back next year and looking to stay longer in one of there cabins. All in all a great place i'm glad i discovered.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

This is the first time in my vacation career that I have been treated so horribly by the staff and owners of a service oriented business. Members of my group were yelled at, sworn at and called liars. I guess I can respect a non-refund policy but when 33% of your product fails and your customers are forced to call for help a polite apology is in order. I would not recommend this resort in any capacity.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Owner at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was with a group of nine tubers on Saturday 8/25. We waited two and a half hours before we could get on a boat to be taken up a river. That was irritating but forgivable knowing that sometimes business demands can be unpredictable. Once we were taken up the river we were told that because of the wind, we may not be able to really float downstream but that someone would be back up to check on us and give us a tow if we wanted. Upon getting ourselves out onto the river, a few of our companions could hear their tubes leaking air. Between three deflating tubes and continuing to get beached, we were ready for that tow after being stranded for more than two hours. A few other groups were dropped off after we were, but not as far up the river as we were, and none of those boats made the extra effort to drive to us after dropping them off to see if we were ok. We flagged several boaters who had rented equipment from Rivers Edge to ask them to send someone up for us when they got back, but no one did. We finally found a couple on a private boat kind enough to call Rivers Edge for us—as we did not bring cell phones out on the tubes with us.

A boat was sent up to get us. Upon returning, we inquired about some sort of refund for all the trouble—mostly due to the deflating tubes and were told that nothing could be done because the owner wasn't there and we would have to call at a later date.

When our organizer called on 8/27 and talked to the owners, she was told there were no refunds and called a liar. The owner stated that the tubes were fine, which is odd considering he wasn't tubing with us to witness this. He also said he was right down the beach from us and that plenty of people had been sent to come get us but that we did not want to come back. If plenty of people were sent, we would not have had to flag down a stranger for help. Also, if he was right down the beach from us, why were we told the owner was not there at the end of our trip?

We are extremely dissatisfied with our experience and the lack of sympathy and effort to reconcile what happened.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Stephanie,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A group of friends and I went to Rivers edge for a tubing experience. After a 2.5 hour wait to just get on the river we were placed on the river and told that the wind was blowing the wrong way and it was a difficult time to get back down the river and they would be checking on us to see if we needed to be towed in. After about an hour 3 of the 9 tubes had deflated and we hadn't moved an inch from the beach we were left at. While waiting on the beach we flagged down one of the boats and told him we needed a ride back......he was a no show 2 hours later. We finally had to ask a civilian on a boat to use his phone to call the resort to come get us. When we arrived we asked for a refund and were told to call the owners. Upon calling the owners, he called us liars and they wouldnt give a refund. I'm really glad we paid to do nothing for 4 hours on a beach.....Never again and wouldnt recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Jessica,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went tubing here with a 12yo, 10yo, and 7yo. We arrived before noon and checked in. It took maybe 20 minutes to wait for the pontoonn boat to take you up the river where they drop you off.

The trip lasts around 2-4 hours depending on the current. When we went the current was very slow and the wind was coming up-river. It was taking FOREVER to make any progress. If you want to just nap in the tube this is great. After about 90 minutes we got a little antsy and started paddling. Even with paddling the trip took us 3 hours which for us was too long.

This part of the river was very interesting. There were 3-4 areas of beach to stop at and have a picnic lunch. We rented a tube for our cooler and took snacks and drinks.

This is not a deserted stretch of beach though. There are wisconsin touring duck-boats going down this area of the river. We were able to hear the guides description of the rock formations and learn the history of this part of the river :) One guide even pointed us out as an interesting species not native to the Dells.

There was also the Jet Boat tour which would come down the river and make a fairly large wake which kind of broke up the monotony of slowly floating down the river.


Tip - buy some food for lunch ahead of time. The bait shop and restaurant don't really have sandwiches. The bait shop had bread, ham, cheese, chips and drinks but nothing premade.

Tip - Make sure to arrive early. They can run out of tubes if it is busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! It is not a luxury resort but to me it is exactly what we want in the Wisconsin Dells area. We hardly leave the resort. You can rent canoes,kayaks and pontoon boats or bring your own. It is a fishing resort with a bait shop and guide serve. You can go to the bar/ restaurant for good food and fun without even getting into your car. You could even cook in your room. All rooms have sufficient pots, pans and dishes. The rooms are clean and some of them have a balcony to face the river. There are 2 outdoor pools and also log houses for rent We have stayed here every September for the last 32 years. As you can see..we like it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivers Edge Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

Address: 30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Rivers Edge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rivers Edge Resort and Motel to your Saves list