We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tubing Disaster and NO Customer Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers Edge Resort and Motel
30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tubing Disaster and NO Customer Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was with a group of nine tubers on Saturday 8/25. We waited two and a half hours before we could get on a boat to be taken up a river. That was irritating but forgivable knowing that sometimes business demands can be unpredictable. Once we were taken up the river we were told that because of the wind, we may not be able to really float downstream but that someone would be back up to check on us and give us a tow if we wanted. Upon getting ourselves out onto the river, a few of our companions could hear their tubes leaking air. Between three deflating tubes and continuing to get beached, we were ready for that tow after being stranded for more than two hours. A few other groups were dropped off after we were, but not as far up the river as we were, and none of those boats made the extra effort to drive to us after dropping them off to see if we were ok. We flagged several boaters who had rented equipment from Rivers Edge to ask them to send someone up for us when they got back, but no one did. We finally found a couple on a private boat kind enough to call Rivers Edge for us—as we did not bring cell phones out on the tubes with us.

A boat was sent up to get us. Upon returning, we inquired about some sort of refund for all the trouble—mostly due to the deflating tubes and were told that nothing could be done because the owner wasn't there and we would have to call at a later date.

When our organizer called on 8/27 and talked to the owners, she was told there were no refunds and called a liar. The owner stated that the tubes were fine, which is odd considering he wasn't tubing with us to witness this. He also said he was right down the beach from us and that plenty of people had been sent to come get us but that we did not want to come back. If plenty of people were sent, we would not have had to flag down a stranger for help. Also, if he was right down the beach from us, why were we told the owner was not there at the end of our trip?

We are extremely dissatisfied with our experience and the lack of sympathy and effort to reconcile what happened.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Stephanie,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    33
    14
    3
    0
    7
See reviews for
21
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

A group of friends and I went to Rivers edge for a tubing experience. After a 2.5 hour wait to just get on the river we were placed on the river and told that the wind was blowing the wrong way and it was a difficult time to get back down the river and they would be checking on us to see if we needed to be towed in. After about an hour 3 of the 9 tubes had deflated and we hadn't moved an inch from the beach we were left at. While waiting on the beach we flagged down one of the boats and told him we needed a ride back......he was a no show 2 hours later. We finally had to ask a civilian on a boat to use his phone to call the resort to come get us. When we arrived we asked for a refund and were told to call the owners. Upon calling the owners, he called us liars and they wouldnt give a refund. I'm really glad we paid to do nothing for 4 hours on a beach.....Never again and wouldnt recommend!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rebait1, Manager at Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Jessica,
That Saturday was our busiest to date! You were 9 of nearly 300 tubers to go out!! It is not possible to send out 300 people at once, so you did have to wait your turn. But you knew that when you went out.

We did not call you a liar. We have 4 guys running the tube trip. Since we cannot control the wind or current, we have them check on everyone. Occasionally people will want to be towed back if the wind and current aren't moving them along and they don't want to be out past the 2-4 hours allotted time for the trip. Your group was checked on by each of the guys working here. I don't believe all 4 of them singled out your group and not the other 287 people who went out and had a good time that day.

We filled up the tubes you deflated and they are still just as plump as when you went out in them.

You made good on your word that you and your friends would bad mouth us if you didn't get the full refund you demanded. I'm sorry, but all we could offer you was a voucher for another time, which you rudely declined.

(since it is just your group fill up this well intended sight, i will probably post the same rebuttal to each...)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We went tubing here with a 12yo, 10yo, and 7yo. We arrived before noon and checked in. It took maybe 20 minutes to wait for the pontoonn boat to take you up the river where they drop you off.

The trip lasts around 2-4 hours depending on the current. When we went the current was very slow and the wind was coming up-river. It was taking FOREVER to make any progress. If you want to just nap in the tube this is great. After about 90 minutes we got a little antsy and started paddling. Even with paddling the trip took us 3 hours which for us was too long.

This part of the river was very interesting. There were 3-4 areas of beach to stop at and have a picnic lunch. We rented a tube for our cooler and took snacks and drinks.

This is not a deserted stretch of beach though. There are wisconsin touring duck-boats going down this area of the river. We were able to hear the guides description of the rock formations and learn the history of this part of the river :) One guide even pointed us out as an interesting species not native to the Dells.

There was also the Jet Boat tour which would come down the river and make a fairly large wake which kind of broke up the monotony of slowly floating down the river.


Tip - buy some food for lunch ahead of time. The bait shop and restaurant don't really have sandwiches. The bait shop had bread, ham, cheese, chips and drinks but nothing premade.

Tip - Make sure to arrive early. They can run out of tubes if it is busy.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

I love this place! It is not a luxury resort but to me it is exactly what we want in the Wisconsin Dells area. We hardly leave the resort. You can rent canoes,kayaks and pontoon boats or bring your own. It is a fishing resort with a bait shop and guide serve. You can go to the bar/ restaurant for good food and fun without even getting into your car. You could even cook in your room. All rooms have sufficient pots, pans and dishes. The rooms are clean and some of them have a balcony to face the river. There are 2 outdoor pools and also log houses for rent We have stayed here every September for the last 32 years. As you can see..we like it!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

A group of friends and I have been dying to tube down a lazy river. After some research we landed on staying at the Rivers Edge Resort and Motel. I couldn't have been happier with our decision.

The staff was incredibly friendly and accommodating. everything was easy to get to and do. We had to wait a bit to get on the river due to the amount of people, but even that wasn't a big deal. The lodge is RIGHT on the river so they boat you up to a drop off point and you just float down back to the resort. It was so easy.

The cabin was also wonderful. It had a long family style counter table for everyone to gather and eat, two floors, and a jacuzzi (which unfortunately didn't warm up for us). the beds were comfortable and the place was spacious and nice. It was exactly what I had hoped for.

I definitely recommend this place for families, couples, and friends. It has a very laid back vibe and a great accommodating staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake in the Hills, IL
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Accommodations
Pool side room. Main level is kitchen, bathroom and living room. Downstairs is the bedrooms. tip: summertime, don't turn the air conditioning too cool, turn the fan to ON on the thermostat to keep the cold air flowing evenly throughout. Beds comfortable. 4 queen sized beds. Since the only bathroom is upstairs - be prepared for hikes up and down about 12 stairs everytime you need to go. (this is true for the poolside rooms 20, 21,22 & 23...other cabins and rooms have different configurations. Outside we had some chairs and everyone has a weber grill. There is a full kitchen menus an oven. They are fully stocked with plates, cups, microwave, toaster, coffee maker etc. bring your own coffee and filters, paper towels and tupperware. No maid service for the cabins. If you need anything, just go to the office and they will hook you up.

Property
Busier and smaller than I expected. Looking at the map it seems like if you stayed at their additional property across the street you might have a 10 minute hike to get to the river. Untrue! Everything is within a minute or 3 walk. Lots of mature trees. The dock area has a full sandy beach and a fire pit. Nice and quiet.

Boating:
You can rent boats from the office if you don't have one of your own. The rates are very reasonable. 8-10 person pontoon was $175 for a full day. The downside is that rentals are limited to about a 3 mile section of the river...from the dam down to just past 3 island outcrops. Yu are sharing the water with many, many other boats - especially the ducks and the jet boats. The commercial jet boats are very large - holding around 40 people and fast and throw up a very large wake wherever they go. There just isn't much room to maneuver and fish or swim without being tossed around by the wake turbulence of passing speedboats and jet boats. You can beach your boat and spend some time on little isolated beaches. The river is sandy and rocky - so do yourself a favor and wear water shoes. While a nice option, we had a hard time really enjoying the boat due to the wake turbulence and the small space you are operating within. You are allowed the boat all day, but after going back and forth for about 4 hours, we had enough. Fun but not for all day. You are entitled to a free row boat or canoe if you stay a week or more. (motor extra) 

Restaurant:
This is where the locals come to eat. The food is very good. Prime rib specials on Saturday and Tuesdays. Service was very good if a little slow.

Pool.:
We only checked out the one next to our cabin. We have 2 children 4 & 1. We bought  Our 4 yo a floatie and he was good. The 1 year old we had to carry around the pool since there really isn't a shallow end for the little guys. The pool is small but there aren't many people using it so it is fine. Very clean.

Bottom Line: We enjoyed our stay. We would not hesitate to stay there again, although we would not necessarily go to the area just to stay at the resort. If you are looking for a smaller property, fewer people and a great riverfront resort, this is your place.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I recently stayed at River's Edge for 2 nights. The accommodations were good, the food was great, the experiences (tubing) was wonderful, and everyone of the staff we encountered was awesome and helpful. I would recommend it to everyone!

Room Tip: Much more reasonable than a stay right in the Dells….much quieter to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rivers Edge Resort and Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers Edge Resort and Motel

Address: 30 Cty Hwy A, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Also Known As:
Rivers Edge Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Rivers Edge Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers Edge Resort and Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rivers Edge Resort and Motel to your Saves list