We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, a new family favorite place to go! Definately worth repeating...we'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Save Saved
You added Wilderness on the Lake to your Saves list
350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minneapolis
1 review
“Awesome, a new family favorite place to go! Definately worth repeating...we'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

We stayed in a 2bdr-2 bath with a great view overlooking the lake. Very clean and spacious. Great amenities, cozy log cabin feel lobby and the staff was gracious and very helpful. It was great having access to the bigger Waterparks at the other Wilderness facilities, but this was by far our favorite Wilderness. The smaller scale waterpark was definately quieter and much more relaxing and easier to keep an eye on the kiddo's. We will definately be back to create more precious family memories our daughter can't stop talking about! Great place to come in the winter for sure!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    89
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
198
10
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2010

We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo. Our entire family went and we booked numerous condo's. Guests ranged in age from infants to 70's. Something to do for everyone. Loved it. We just booked a family reunion for this summer because we were so impressed. We have always went to the Ozark's prior to this, but enjoyed The wilderness and Dells so much we may never go back to the Ozarks.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

The room was nice. The water parks were nice. But that's where the 'nices' stopped. The hotel was at capacity for New Year's and seemed very ill prepared. Most of the food venues were closed. The venues that were open had more than 1.5 hour waits - even if you had reservations. Once seated, the poor servers were so over-extended - you had to beg for a glass of water.The shops in the resort are not owned by the resort, therefore close at their liesure...so if you promised your child an ice cream from the Goody Gum Drop if he behaved through dinner - chances are about 50/50 they closed by the time you get there - door locked, lights are on, people inside. Very , very sad.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bigdog079
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2009

My family and I traveled to Wisconsin Dells for Christmas Break. Our stay at the Wilderness was extremely relaxing, exciting, and fun. The hotel offered an affordable rate and the room was large and accomodating. My wife and I have 4 children between ages 4 and 11 and there was plenty of room for all of us. The room was exquisite (I am including pictures). Specifically some of the details that made this trip a memorable one include;

The waterparks were fun for adults and children alike. There are 3 big ones, the Wild Waterdome, Klondike Kavern, and the Wild West. The 4th indoor waterpark is small, but the kids loved the fact that there are not as many people at Cubbie's Cove inside the Wilderness on the Lake. (Being December, we did not get the chance to experience the outdoor waterparks, although there are heated pools that go both indoor and outdoor at the Cove, the Kavern, and the Wild West). Klondike Kavern and the Wild West are similar, but both very fun. There are waterslides at the big 3 that are exhilarating. The wave pool in the waterdome is fun for all ages.

Besides swimming, Wisconsin provided plenty of snow in the winter which can be used to have a snowball fight, make snowmen, or even snow angels. The amenities in the 2 bedroom condo included a kitchen with the items needed to cook a meal. During our 3 night stay, we ate in the entire time, which helped to save some money. There is a Wal-Mart down the main road in the Dells, where you can get your groceries or any items that you might need. The all-season lanai was fantastic. The kids enjoyed the whirlpool and once the kids went to bed, my wife and I enjoyed the romantic environment also. The bathrooms/showers are also extremely large. The housekeeping staff only replaces towels and full garbage, so just keep in mind that you will have to clean up after yourself, but this was not a problem for us. We even used the washer and dryer.

The Wilderness on the Lake is about a 5 minute drive from the main resort and it was easy to drive. There is also a shuttle, but there can tend to be a wait on your return trip. It was much easier to just drive. Besides the indoor water parks, they have indoor mini golf, laser tag, and an indoor park for the kids. Another bonus was the free wifi that the Wilderness on the Lake provided. This was very important to me and my wife as we usually have business to conduct online, even on vacation. We are looking forward to returning in the Summer to experience all of the excitement the Wilderness provides.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

In the long run we got excactly what we paid for. We paid $175/night to stay in a 2 bedroom condo at Wilderness on the Lake (WOTL). You can see what that room all includes on the website but also note that they include dish soap for the dishwasher and regular dawn. Plenty of utensils and cooking tools were also included. We enjoyed our stay and after a little discussion decided we would do it again if we had the chance in the off season.
Cons:
-starting off we asked for early check-in since we had a 1 year old who needed a nap and the place was EMPTY. We were told to come back in an hour at 1pm. We went, grabbed lunch and came back at 1:05. We were told another 20 mins. Then we were told he was just waiting for the housekeeper to come down and give an update of the room's status. I think we finally got in about 2:15.
-They told us they were "deep cleaning" the rooms. This meant all clean bed coverings (since we all know they don't wash the bed spreads and blankets everyday), they also were supposed to be cleaning the carpeting. My issues with this was "clean" carpeting still made my son's socks black. Also they put a new coffee maker in the room but in order to use I would had to soak the filters in water for 15 minutes, then run the charcoal filter under cold water for 10 mins, then insert the charcoal filter...etc. I really didn't feel like reading the instructional manual and setting up the coffee maker was the guest's responsibility. Also they only gave you one package of coffee (unless you want decaf). Only regular sugar and powdered creamer . They want you to go spend $2.50 on Starbucks coffee downstairs instead I'm sure.
-No housekeeping. They dropped off ridiculous amounts of towels daily but didn't clean the room.
-The rooms are really showing wear. The armchairs all have tattered and worn spots where your hands would rest, the rest of the furniture is worn and out of shape. The pots and pans they supply are really rough and worn. Bring cooking spray or you will never get those things clean.
-The tvs are really old and kinda fuzzy. This wouldn't make a difference if you aren't in the room often but with a toddler who naps 4 hours a day and is in bed by 7pm we spent time in the room and would have appreciated a nicer tv.
-They had closed a waterpark during the week. That left 3 waterparks open which sounds fine if you are like us with a young family but if you have teenagers or if you and your significant other plan to visit during the week there are not a whole lot of "big" rides.
- They gave us mis-information. They advertise that they can give you deals on certain attractions. They told us the dells boat tours were no longer running. We called the tour place directly and were told they were running.
-There are seriously not enough elevators.

Pros:
-The felxability of the large room was awesome.
-we were able to eat breakfast and lunch in the rooms just like we do at home instead of going out to eat for every meal.
-the waterparks were well guarded by life guards and were not crowded at all.
-the shuttle that takes you from WOTL to the other waterparks was always pretty quick.
-the in unit washer and dryer allowed us to leave with clean clothes. We have nothing to wash upon getting home. It was awesome.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We go to Wiscon Dells every year. We have gone to the Wilderness 2 years in a row and we really enjoyed our self. We enjoyed all the great waterparks and would highly recomend this place to anyone. It took a little time for us to find all the parks but once we did it was great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2009

Four adults and one 3 month old stayed in Condo 106 for two nights - the weekend after labor day. I must say I had a bad taste in my mouth from the begining as when we checked in on Friday around 5pm, while the parking lot was near empty, there was a line of people waiting for what appeared to be the only elevator near where we always needed to go. This single elevator could barely fit a bellmans cart and 2 people in it yet was the sole elevator for a huge portion of the resort. Everytime we went somewhere it started with a wait for a super slow elevator.

Being the weekend after Labor Day, all of the outdoor only water parks (Noah's Ark, etc) were closed but we were told the Wilderness would be open. Even though it was Saturday and it was 85 and sunny, only very limited water attractions were open at the resort. I don't blame them as most of their staff are students that go back to school, but don't tell us things are open if they are only about 20% open. We ended up going to the Kalahari to enjoy their outdoor water park.

The room itself (Condo 106) was a corner condo with 3 bedrooms. It was relatively clean but sure could use some updates. The small televisions looked like they were from 1997, the condo is very dark due to limited windows (and we had a corner one with more than the standard amount of windows). Our bedroom had a very annoying knocking noise that came from the walls...didn't want to switch units because we had a baby and it would be a real hassle. We put the baby in that room since she can sleep through anything.

We ate at Fields which was very good, but also very pricey. My NY Strip was $39...I guess NY Strip means NY prices as well. Also ate at the Del Bar which is a favorite of mine. A little less expensive but just as good as Fields.

Some people complained about shuttle availability....I saw the shuttle waiting to go very often. Then again, it was the off-season and wasn't terribly busy. The shuttle takes you to the main wilderness hotel where the majority of the activities are located.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Address: 350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#18 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.