We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Save
You added Wilderness on the Lake to your Saves list
350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Osceola, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited the WOTL the week of Aug 18th. We were impressed with the quick and easy check-in, compared to the lengthy check-ins we've experienced at other waterpark hotels. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo, which was perfect for our family of 5. I absolutely LOVED the spaciousness! The full kitchen was great! Considering it cost about $60-$70 per meal to eat out, having a kitchen to use saved us a great deal of money. We ate 2/3 meals in the room.

The waterpark on the lake was smaller, but was perfect for our 3 little boys. They especially loved the infinity pool and whirlpool outside. The view of the lake was gorgeous in the 3 season room, so make sure you ask for a room with a lake view. We chose to drive to the other Wilderness waterparks, but there were water taxis available that left about every 15 minutes if we didn't want to drive. There were also shuttle buses available. We thought it was easier to drive so we didn't have to wait around, but it was nice that these options were available. The other waterparks on the campus were great! We spent 5 out of 6 days doing activities and playing at these parks. The lifeguards were very friendly, especially when compared to the rude, bored, life guards we experienced at Noah's Ark. Save yourself some money, and don't even bother going to Noah's Ark.
I also noticed that some of the other reviews gave the front desk staff negative reviews. We had a great experience with them, no problems at all.
Also, these condos are privately owned, and it is posted in the kitchen that they are not cleaned everyday, unless you specifically ask for it. That was ok with us. There was a vacuum cleaner, broom and dust pan.... we could handle it ourselves for a few days. They did come by every morning and take out our trash and replace our towels.
The other thing that I appreciated was the washer and dryer in our room. With 3 boys, things get dirty, this was a great help!
The only negative comment I would make would be about the "information desk". The information desk people are employed by Wyndam Hotels, and will try to sell you a time share located on the property. When you check in, you're given a sheet that tells you to stop at the information desk (which is different than the check-in desk) to pick up your free coupon book. We got lost on the campus (it's that big) and stopped at the information desk at one of the other Wilderness hotels. We asked the gentleman where a specific waterpark was. My entire family was standing there, with our bathing suits on, my 3 year old was crying and just wanted to go swimming. Anyway, the guy pulled out a map, showed us some of the waterparks available, then proceeded to go into his sales pitch about the time shares. We were OBVIOUSLY not good prospects, a family with their bathing suits on, standing in a hotel lobby, lost, with a crying child......but that didn't stop him. As soon as he started with, "Normally, we charge $50 to let you even step foot in one of these, but for today only, I'll give you a $100 preloaded American Express card just to go take a look." I told him we weren't interested. He was rude and arrogant, and asked, "Why aren't you interested?" three times!!!! I finally said, "I'm not interested, just hand me the map and the coupon book, I'm leaving!" So.....steer clear of the "information desk" and just ask the front desk staff if you get lost. The free coupon book isn't worth your time. We never even used it.
So, with the exception of the information desk episode, our stay was amazing. Our boys had a great time, and didn't want to leave. We will definitely be back again!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    93
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
204
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago Suburb
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We came with out two daughters who are in there teens. We usually have stayed at the main resort, but were so happy we chose to stay here. The 2 bedroom unit was extremely spacious. Two of our kids pulled the mattress off the sofa and slept in the 4 season room for all the nights. Rooms were very clean and furniture was nice and rustic. Only complaint was the pillows were horribly uncomfortable. Our kids took the pontoon boat across the lake to the pick up for the waterparks and came back later in the afternoon. Nice place to stay if you want to be away from all the kids running around crazy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a good view. All rooms have view of the lake but some have an obstructed view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The only thing that bugged us was the cleaning staff, who walk in whether the door be opened or locked without knocking early in the morning. They claimed that they needed to change the dirty towels but they failed to do that, instead they walked in to rooms where people were still asleep. I don't recall asking for a wake up call. . .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have stayed at the Wilderness villas and hotel before so this time we thought we would try the one on the lake. WRONG MOVE !!!!!!!!!
The service is bad, and no one cares. We had some issues and we asked to talked to the manager and the front desk (guest services) told me and my husband that we could not speak to a manager. That the manager was at the other hotel and they don't come to this one because it is smaller. So we went to the other hotel and they were not available until the next morning at our hotel, well guess what it's 2 in the afternoon and they aren't here so I called and they said that the manager isn't available until the weekend.
For what we paid you would think some one would are wrong!
So a lot of money and no service don,t stay here you will regret it.
And proof is they won't respond to this review or do anything about it.
Stephanie and. Family from Shoreview Minnesota

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fenton, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake Resort over the 4th of July (5 days......Sun. - Fri.). The rooms are gigantic which is great, but they are very beat up and the carpet is filthy. We were in a first floor two bedroom. We were told we would have a patio area to use for cooking out and that there were no family reunions that week so we should have tons of privacy. The staff at Wilderness on the Lake is very inexperienced and it is not hard to tell why they have so much turnover. All the info I called about prior to booking was entirely incorrect. There are five rooms that go out to this private patio I was told about. There were five tables each with four chairs. There were five grills. So you get the picture one of every patio fixture for each of the rooms. NOT ONE TIME DURING OUR ENTIRE STAY DID WE EVER GET TO USE OUR OUTDOOR PATIO TABLE OR CHAIRS! The reality is that there are big groups that take these, literally put their stuff on them overnight so that they have them the entire time. The staff is fine with this occurrence because when the table directly in front of our room was taken for the fourth day in a row we called the front desk. It was there we were told it was first come first serve. Ya, that's what I want to do, paying these prices to stay here......fight over patio furniture and grills. The patio was crowded with people right outside our room the entire stay. The water park was marginal at best compared to other places in town. The staff however really made our stay a bummer. Watch your bill upon checkout as well. I had a fifty some dollar charge on my bill for a restaurant we never even visited and their solution was to have me sit at the counter and wait while they checked people in while the restaurant got around to faxing over the charge. Finally, after a half hour of waiting they credited the charge back, but very sketchy. All in all for the money I think there are much better places to stay in the Dells.

Room Tip: If you want any privacy.......don't stay near the patio and read Trip Advisor tips thoroughly. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Loved our two bedroom condo. We had plenty of space to spread out our family of seven. The water taxi to the "main" water-parks at Wilderness was fun and fast. Captain Dave was awesome...playing our favorite "pontoon" song. Staff was friendly. The only reason had to take a star away was that their front desk staff needs more training on customer service. A large group had come from the other side of the resort to play 3D mini- golf (very fun by the way) which they were told is open til 10 (which is true). HOWEVER...they got there at 9:05pm and the gift shop which houses the golf clubs to play closes at 9pm. The kicker here is the front desk staff also runs the gift shop which is just a few steps from them...no doors between them and the gift shop check out. All they would have had to do is walk 5 steps and grab the clubs in the "closed" area. Needless to say they had a group of very displeased guest. Not what owners want to see. So everything else was great. The pools were busy but nothing unexpected it was peak season. We still had plenty of room to play.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at the Wilderness on the Lake June 30 - July 4, we had a 2 bedroom and a 3 bedroom condo. We thoroughly enjoyed the location and the access to the other water parks. This location only has a small kid friendly indoor and outdoor park and you need to take either the water taxi (fun) or shuttle to get to the bigger parks. This was fine for us as we had toddlers and the older kids and adults went on their own to the different parks. The Condos are spacious and the full kitchens were very useful. The outdoor patio with grills and fire-pits were a favorite gathering place. Highly recommend the Wilderness Resorts ! We will return.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Address: 350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#15 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.