We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could have stayed a week!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Save
You added Wilderness on the Lake to your Saves list
350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Could have stayed a week!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Our Girl Scout troop picked the Dells for our end of the year trip and the Wilderness on the Lake (WOTL) was the perfect option for us. We loved the full kitchen and room options for all the girls. There were 8 of us total and the room was plenty big for us. We utilized each of the 4 outdoor water parks during our stay and their favorites were the Wild Water Dome (wave pool) and the Klondike Kavern. A couple of the girls really enjoyed the Wild West Waterpark (water slides) but the majority found it better suited for younger kids. The Wild West also has bumper boats but there was an additional cost of $4 per person. They spent a good deal of time in the indoor/outdoor hot tubs in each waterpark. Cubby's Cove is actually located in the WOTL building. It is better suited for younger children although our 12 year olds were able to entertain themselves in the hot tub and basketball pool.

We used the shuttle for all of our ventures out of the room. Each hotel complex has a different color line. WOTL is blue. The blue line will take you to either the Klondike Kavern (with easy walk to the Wild WaterDome Waterpark) and Wild West Lobby. We were told shuttles run every 15-20 minutes but we found them coming more frequently during peak times.
There were a couple of small issues with the room we stayed in. (226) There is a hole in the wall in the 2nd bedroom and the toilet in the 2nd bathroom was also slow to flush when we arrived. On the 2nd day of our stay we did need to plunge it as it was backed up. I would also recommend running the dishwasher when leaving the building as it is loud. The appliances are full size and very clean. As was the entire room. I did like that they have a crib and rollaway bed right in the room although if using the pull out couch and rollaway bed, you would need additional blankets. We had a couple of girls bring their own pillows or we may have needed those, too.

One change from the last time we stay at the Wilderness is their towel policy. At check in, we were given 10 Pool Towel cards. Upon departure from the hotel, you need to either leave 10 towels or cards in your room. Any missing would result in a $25 fee assessed to your room. If you choose to utilize the pool area after check out, you can turn in your towels/cards at any of the pools. We were asked to right down our hotel and room number and the number of towels/cards being returned. The whole weekend, we carefully counted towels before going anywhere only to have the girl throw them in the to be washed tub without even counting them. I wonder if they are actually counted in the room but at $25 per towel, I wouldn't want to take that chance. Wet towels can be exchanged at any pool or any hotel lobby.

While driving to the property, we missed the Wisconsin Dells Parkway S (Hwy 12) turn onto Wisconsin Dells Parkway (Hwy12/23) while coming from exit 92. From the main Wilderness location, WOTL is 1.6 miles. Head south on east Adams St. Turn right onto Wisconsin Dells Parkway S (Hwy 12), go .5 miles. Turn right onto Wisconsin Dells Parkway (Hwy 12/23), go .7 miles and Turn right onto E Hiawatha (Sprecher's Restaurant & Pub will be on the right hand side), go .4 miles. WOTL is on your right.

Overall it was a great stay. I would recommend it for Scout troops/friends/multiple familes!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    91
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
199
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We brought our 3 year old grandson here and just had a blast. It is designed for smaller kids, that's the beauty of it. Our room was bigger than some apartments, clean, and great views.
This is a great place to stay on your Dells vacation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wausau, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We greatly enjoyed our visit to the Wilderness on the Lake. What a beautiful condo! We stayed with another family and had plenty of space for everyone in the two bedroom condo. The Wilderness on the Lake is not on the main propoerty, but shuttle buses come by fairly regularly. The benefit of this was a much quieter stay than the main hotel (which I have stayed at in the past). Wisconsin Dells is a great getaway destination- we are fortunate to live only 2 hours away and visit often. Our trip to Wilderness on the Lake was our favorite in all our visits.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Wilderness on the lake is a great place to stay. Where else can you be in a jacuzzi in your room with the fireplace on overlooking a lake!! If you are looking for a good night sleep they have that too. It is like you are in a cave at night it is sooo dark. I like that!! It might be a little tricky if you need to get up and use the bathroom the hairdryer light in the bathroom does not give out that much light to help guide you. I really do not like children so coming Sunday to Wednesday was good. Not a lot of running and screaming kids around. Plenty of things to do here and they have shuttles to the other properties and restaurants. It is nice to park you car and not really have to worry about getting around. I was able to get a good wi-fi connection on my Ipod Touch and that does not happen in my house.

Room Tip: Ask for room 318
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although this place was much larger then my husband and I needed, I totally loved it. The porch area was my favorite place to curl up with my book with the fireplace going. The view was very nice over looking the lake. My only complaint was the wi-fi connection. I really needed to do a little work in the mornings and unfortunately couldn't stay connected long enough to do much of anything. Wasn't really in my plans to get up every morning and go to McDonald's for the Wi-fi, but what can you say?

Room Tip: If you want to be able to walk out onto the patio, ask for the lowest level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WI
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a very clean cabin. Very pleased. Went with two other couples and kids ages 12-17. Went the day after Easter. Place was packed as we fully expected. BUT we could not enjoy any hottub. They were jam packed with little kids using this as a pool. Parents need to take responsibility for their kids but there should be staff monitoring this as well. We did do some fun slides with the kids; but lets face it. Teens want to be with friends. It would be great to see an adult only or even ages 14 and up hot tubs. There was no where for us adults to go and relax without watching dirty diaper changes and getting kicked and splashed in a hot tub.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was just spotless. The room was huge. It was a little on the expensive side because of the spring break weekend but it was completely worth it. We did deal with an annoying neighbor complaining about to much noise and we were waking up their kids ...please, we had kids sleeping in our room too they were fine. Everything is far in the resort so prepare to walk. I stayed in the carribean resort which was garbage compaird to the wilderness. I will be coming back again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Address: 350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#18 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.