We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Get Away” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness on the Lake

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness on the Lake
Save
You added Wilderness on the Lake to your Saves list
350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Burlington, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Family Get Away”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the 2 br condo and it was very spacious! The view was awesome. Loved the 3 seasons porch with fireplace and hot tub! My 3 and 5 yr old granddaughters played in the hot tub with warm water while the adults visited by the fireplace. The only negative things are the condo we were in needed some updating , I.e. remove the flowered wallpaper from the early nineties. Plus, my granddaughter got sick in the middle of the night and when my son called the front desk to get clean sheets, they said housekeeping was closed so he would have to come to the front desk to get sheets - he did...ends up they were the wrong size sheets. The water park was geared towards young kids, but there were many teenagers taking over the area. Overall though a good stay and would go back.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    91
    33
    22
    15
See reviews for
199
11
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Helotes, Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

My family and I stayed 3 nights here Jan. 1 - 3, 2013. I originally intended to book a 2 bedroom condo at Chula Vista those 3 nights and then move to a Wilderness cabin Jan 4 - 6 but the pricing this year was ridiculous. Chula Visa was $100 @night higher than normal and so were the Wilderness cabins on those dates, but Wilderness on the Lake had normal prices.

Wilderness on the Lake was very good. The rooms are excellent and have all have a view of Lake Delton. The water park is totally setup for very young children, so if thats your family this is the place. Our kids are 10 and 11 and we had to take them to the main Wilderness waterpark areas instead. There is a shuttle but we drove.

We visited Chula Vista because it has become a tradition (It would have been our 6th year staying there). I have no idea why their prices were so high this year because the place was deserted. Too bad, but we liked Wilderness on the Lake alot.

Room Tip: Go for the top level rooms for quietness or go for a ground level room so the kids can walk out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate, Iowa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We spent a couple days here with our family and it was a great time with the grandkids and kids. Lots of room in the condo and fun water parks. But we got robbed when we left our billfold and purses in the room. Quite a large sum of money missing. Nothing done about it either. Great trip turned bad

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The condos are huge, and perfect for letting the kids loose. It was a really a nice family trip. So convinient to walk to Cubbys Cove which is the perfect little waterpark for the 4 and under crowd.

Downside was the ceilings between the floors are paper thin, so if any kids are running in the room above you it will sound like a stampede of elephants. I'd ask for one of the top floors going forward ( better view as well). Also our fireplace didn't work and our microwave vent fell off during our stay.

A little pricey (even with the winter coupon) but a lot fun overall. My two kids were wiped out by the end of the weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We brought our 5 kids, arrived on Friday afternoon and left on Sunday morning. We were all very surpised with the amount of space in our 2 bedroom condo. Comfortable, clean, and the attached four seasons room with hot tub was a hit with everyone. I can tell you that my bed was a bit uncomfortable, but I honestly had no problem sleeping after being at water parks both days. I thought the kitchen was well stocked with dishes, bowls, cork screw, pretty much anything we needed and was very spacious. I loved the bathroom off of the large master bedroom, it was huge and the double shower was a bonus.
Do not expect a quiet night, we were on the 3rd floor so you could hear people all hours of the night upstairs and we could hear the people next door as well. This would not detour me from staying again, the amount of space we had made the trip with 5 kids very nice and relaxing. We all felt like we had a little space away from each other. There is a water park located in this buidling, but mainly a hit with the young kids. Our kids, ages 6 to 10 enjoyed it first thing in the morning and later in the evening but did prefer the larger parks that are not attached to this complex. They do offer shuttle service to the other Wilderness parks, but we opted to drive each time. Again, this would not detour me, I would absolutely stay here again, the price was right and everyone had a great time! We enjoyed all of the parks as well as the arcade. There was a lot of walking, but we didn't mind the excersize. I really loved the wave pool, pretty neat that you can tan indoors. Also, be sure to take advantage of the happy hour special from 2 to 4 every day, buy one get one. ;) Yes, we will be back, FOR SURE!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, WI
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

6 of us spent the weekend at Wilderness on the lake. It was a good time overall.

Pros:
Jordan at the front desk was very helpful, she explained everything in perfect detail.
Room was spacious, clean, and well outfitted for a long stay.
Shuttle to main resort area was very convenient.
Waterpark areas were large and fun for everyone.

Cons:
Fireplaces would not turn on, and maintenance had to come twice to fix the problem.
Dining options in the hotel were very limiting.
No safes anywhere in the hotel.
Housekeeping handed me a stack of towels and a garbage bag and said "your all set" but did do a very light cleaning when i prompted them for service.

Overall, this was a great spot to vacation, come prepared with 3 star expectations and you will be delighted.

Room Tip: room 405 was a great location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orland Park, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great condo units - comfortable, spacious, tv with gaming for our teens, kitchen with whatever we need. We shop at the local SuperWalMart or bring food from home so we can eat in the unit instead of purchasing expensive resort food. The hottub is nice because it's indoor/outdoor - which makes it interesting in the winter time. We've also been there during the summer and pool is nice and clean and not nearly as crowded as the Wilderness Hotel. We've stayed at the lake resort several times and keep coming back.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the lobby are best - close to the fireplace and front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness on the Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness on the Lake

Address: 350 E. Hiawatha Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#18 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 500
Also Known As:
Wilderness On The Lake Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness on the Lake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.