We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but a little pricey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sarento's Italian Restaurant

Sarento's Italian Restaurant
441 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy South, The Wilderness Resort, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-9727
608-253-3300
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Sarento's Italian Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #28 of 169 Restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza & Pasta, Wine Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Highway 12
Description: From the moment you enter Sarento's, you will experience unique & enjoyable dining in an authentic Italian setting. Our chefs prepare Italian specialties featuring delicious pastas, veal, chicken, seafood, steaks, pizza, salads, & home-made desserts. Come & relax in a casual atmosphere surrounded by attentive servers.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food, but a little pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My family finally tried Sarento's after years of saying, "We should eat there sometime." The atmosphere was very nice. We were seated promptly on a Sunday evening with no reservation.

The menu was not too long, but it has some good choices on it. We had the chicken parma, chicken Sarento, and a penne with Italian sausage. They were all very delicious dishes. They all came with a salad and breadsticks. The chicken Sarento came with a side of either potatoes or risotto. The risotto was so creamy, and flavorful, I had to share it. Everyone loved it!

The wait staff was friendly and attentive. I liked the charming ambiance, and that the restaurant is family friendly. I would recommend Sarento's to anyone who enjoys Italian cuisine. Their prices are a little high, ($110 for a family of four, after tip) but the taste and quality of the food make up for it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    40
    19
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St. Charles,Mo
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Yes and No”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The food here is way overpriced. I thought the food was good, but $12 for 3 stuffed shrimp is a huge ripoff. I could have gotten twice that for half the price elsewhere. We had a waitress who took our order and didn't ask us what we wanted to drink. She had 3 other waitstaff assisting her. They were prompt in service, but took our olive oil without asking if we were done with it, but the guy was nice about it when we told him and he promptly brought it back. The waiters did fine nonetheless, but the waitress could have been better. When we paid at the end of the meal (we left a 20% tip), she took out money but didn't say a work not 'good bye' or anything.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fine dining with pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We have been here for the past few years. Fine dining upstairs with pizza downstairs. Can not judge the pizza as we have always been seated in the dining rooms upstairs. Be prepared it is a little pricey, however food is excellent. Last time we were there we had the seafood cannelloni
and the seafood Alfredo. Both dishes were presented well and tasted exquisite. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa City, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“With 3 children 5 and under, we thought this would be disaster!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Oh, Oh, we walked in and almost changed our minds. Table clothes, white napkins wrapped around the cutlery. Do you have an area where we won't bother other patrons, I asked? We were seated at a large booth table in the corner, so far so good. There were also other tables with children but none this small. The children did behave rather well and everyone passing our table did their best to take care of us and answer their questions or talk with them. Since it was Friday, most of us had fish fry while one opted for chicken with alfredo sauce. The fish was very good with a light batter, the meal included fries and a salad at a good price. I was told the chicken dish was good. We did have a misunderstanding when the bill arrived as we used a coupon found in the area mall discount book and did not read the fine print about the discount not available for the fish special, but they applied the discount to the other meals and everything was handled well. We would like to come back and try this restaurant again without children.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive and food wasn't good”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My husband, son and myself were staying at the Wilderness and went to Sarento's for dinner. We were very surprised at how nice the inside was. When we were seated we were greeted by one of our 5 servers, that seemed a little excessive. We ordered an ravioli appetizer that we were expecting to be fried ravioli but it was like a little side dish of ravioli in a cream sauce and wasn't that good. I had a salad with my meal that had rotten cherry tomatoes in it. I didn't notice this until I bit into one and the rotten taste stayed with me the whole meal. We informed the server and nothing was every mentioned about it by the staff. We got our meals which consisted of lasagna and fettuccine alfredo with chicken, again both were not that good. That disappointing seeing the meals cost about $17 - $25. We were very disappointed by the high cost and poor tasting food and will not go back nor suggest for anyone to go there either.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sarento's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sarento's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarento's Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.