We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
(608) 254-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Monk’s Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk’s we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. Although we are famous for our burgers, we can satisfy any of your menu needs. We have a full menu ranging from burgers to sandwiches and wraps, salads, appetizers, pizza (at varying locations), kid’s meals served on a Frisbee they get to take home and including some unique vegetarian options.
Rochester, Minnesota
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is definitely a sports bar / restaurant, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The food here is good, and at a decent value. We really enjoyed the burgers, but there were plenty of other options on the menu too. If you are looking for a good sit down place for the family, this is a good place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

556 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    327
    147
    49
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had lunch here over Labor Day Weekend, This was my first time at Monk's and the burgers were delicious. There was a group of 4 of us and all of us enjoyed our lunch. I had the BLT Burger the peppercorn mayo was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Wisconsin, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came just for appetizers and desert. Service was very quick and very friendly. We got the wings and cheese curds, both of which were very good. Prices are great on everything as well. For desert we had a sundae, which our son loves because it had a little chocolate monkey on it.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabula, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really:-(”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband and I was at the Dell's for Wha Zha Wa days, at supper at Monks, seen a young gal being walked out with the help from 2 guys, the sad part is she was so drunk she couldn't walk by herself. the bartender states to everyone sitting at the bar and tables, loudly, "this is what happens when you drink 2 purple monkey's". If she was that drunk after 1 purple monkey, she should not have been serviced the second one. The prices were jacked up, 1 hamburger and fries, cheese balls and 4 beers was $40., yes that's right. I can say that I will never go back in there. They should have more respect for their customers, and I've been to the Dell's 4 times this year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of Monk's Downtown Wisconsin Dells. Your honest feedback about our food and service quality are taken seriously, and if you don't mind sending a quick e-mail to info@monksbarandgrill.com with a few details of what happened during your last visit with us, you will be hearing from someone very shortly about this situation. We do create a special festival menu during these big weekends to ensure your food arrives in a timely manner and help operations run smoother with our limited kitchen area. Festival weekends do get a little crazy around downtown and we'd like to hear a few more details about the situation you witnessed so we can address it properly. Again, our apologies and hope you will be willing to give us a second chance at some point, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good food, sting drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Monks has delicious food! I had a wonderful black bean burger and fries and a hurricane! It was a great meal! My hubby had the black and blue burger and said that it was fantastic. This is a hot spot...three levels of seating and two bars. It can get a bit crowded as there isn't much room from the downstairs bar to the wall...but it's a bar and its fun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.