We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Burgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sandwiches, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monk's Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk's we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. The Original! Where our famous burgers began, Monk's Downtown Dells has made Monk's a Dells tradition for more than 65 years! The historical value of the building plays a key part in making every dining experience memorable. Open daily at 11am, we offer our full menu until midnight, but the party continues until bar time every night! One of the oldest restaurants in the Dells area, Monk's tradition of great service from some of the friendliest staff in the area is what has kept business booming for over 60 years!
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This place is definitely a sports bar / restaurant, but that isn't necessarily a bad thing. The food here is good, and at a decent value. We really enjoyed the burgers, but there were plenty of other options on the menu too. If you are looking for a good sit down place for the family, this is a good place to go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Thank Beaker_MF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

846 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great Burger”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had lunch here over Labor Day Weekend, This was my first time at Monk's and the burgers were delicious. There was a group of 4 of us and all of us enjoyed our lunch. I had the BLT Burger the peppercorn mayo was great.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank jessie258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Really good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We came just for appetizers and desert. Service was very quick and very friendly. We got the wings and cheese curds, both of which were very good. Prices are great on everything as well. For desert we had a sundae, which our son loves because it had a little chocolate monkey on it.

Visited September 2013
Thank Alisha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sabula, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I was at the Dell's for Wha Zha Wa days, at supper at Monks, seen a young gal being walked out with the help from 2 guys, the sad part is she was so drunk she couldn't walk by herself. the bartender states to everyone sitting at the bar and tables, loudly, "this is what happens when you drink 2 purple monkey's". If she was that drunk after 1 purple monkey, she should not have been serviced the second one. The prices were jacked up, 1 hamburger and fries, cheese balls and 4 beers was $40., yes that's right. I can say that I will never go back in there. They should have more respect for their customers, and I've been to the Dell's 4 times this year.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank TeenaFranzen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback of Monk's Downtown Wisconsin Dells. Your honest feedback about our food and service quality are taken seriously, and if you don't mind sending a quick e-mail to info@monksbarandgrill.com with a few details of what happened during your last visit with us, you will be hearing from someone very shortly about this situation. We do create a special festival menu during these big weekends to ensure your food arrives in a timely manner and help operations run smoother with our limited kitchen area. Festival weekends do get a little crazy around downtown and we'd like to hear a few more details about the situation you witnessed so we can address it properly. Again, our apologies and hope you will be willing to give us a second chance at some point, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good food, sting drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Monks has delicious food! I had a wonderful black bean burger and fries and a hurricane! It was a great meal! My hubby had the black and blue burger and said that it was fantastic. This is a hot spot...three levels of seating and two bars. It can get a bit crowded as there isn't much room from the downstairs bar to the wall...but it's a bar and its fun!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank SnewpeaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed


Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing