We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Burger. You Won't Be Disappointed.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
16082542955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monk's Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk's we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. The Original! Where our famous burgers began, Monk's Downtown Dells has made Monk's a Dells tradition for more than 65 years! The historical value of the building plays a key part in making every dining experience memorable. Open daily at 11am, we offer our full menu until midnight, but the party continues until bar time every night! One of the oldest restaurants in the Dells area, Monk's tradition of great service from some of the friendliest staff in the area is what has kept business booming for over 60 years!
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Burger. You Won't Be Disappointed.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This place, without a doubt, was my favorite stop during our vacation. Service was great and the black/blue burger was probably the best burger I've ever had. This will be a place a frequent every time we are back in the dells.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    462
    226
    64
    19
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Burgers and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

Local bar / grill recommended by locals. Had the German Burger.....a burger topped with sliced brats and covered in sauerkraut and grilled onions. Mmmmm mmmmm good. Seven of us all together and everyone ordered a different burger and everyone loved their burger. Cooked to perfection. Highly recommend.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janesville, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We were in town for our anniversary and had our splurge meal, this was our lunch stop while braving the chilly weather in the Dells(stupid Wisconsin sometimes!) My husband and I both loved this bar and the food was delicious, great burger and fries, the service was so friendly and on top of a very busy place.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Fun place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great food and service!! We were wondering around town when we came across Monks. At first I was worried it wasn't going to be kid friendly since it had a bar look to it from the outside. Was pleasantly surprised once inside. Of course we went on a Tuesday. We enjoyed Monks so much we came back for dinner and bought a t-shirt..

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“It was ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Overall, I wouldn't rush back here. The service was ok, the food was ok, the surroundings were ok. It wasn't that clean, the food was really salty and other than the salty flavor, there wasn't other flavors. We asked for a Blue Moon on tap with no fruit. When it came, there was no fruit, which was great. But as I took a sip, I noticed pieces of orange all over the glass and floating on top of the beer. I appreciate the waiter taking the fruit off, but you don't serve a beer like that, he should have re-poured the beer....without the fruit pieces floating in it. There was a tv on every wall and the volume was turned up on all of them. And music was playing, so it was noisy and almost irritating. Nothing special, won't go back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.