We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not a trip to the dells unless you go to Monks!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
(608) 254-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Monk’s Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk’s we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. Although we are famous for our burgers, we can satisfy any of your menu needs. We have a full menu ranging from burgers to sandwiches and wraps, salads, appetizers, pizza (at varying locations), kid’s meals served on a Frisbee they get to take home and including some unique vegetarian options.
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“It's not a trip to the dells unless you go to Monks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Monks is great! You have to go downtown to the original! Their burgers are filling and their fries are to die for. I had the cheese curds this last time, for my very first time and they were great! You have to love all the wisconsin memoribelia on the walls along with the police and fire patches from all around the United States. While you are there you have to get a purple monkey, their signature drink. I don't know what's in it but it tastes great! It's not a trip to the dells unless you stop downtown for a monks burger and a purple monkey!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    291
    128
    42
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Springs, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Relaxed and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We stopped in here because it was close to our hotel and we had a lot of fun! Great place for food, drinks, and to catch the March Madness tournament games!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westgate, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Fast seating and service. Great food and the burgers are big and juicy with lots of fixings . Love the large booths for family seating.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago burbs
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very average food & good service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We previously dined here every year as part of our tradition when visiting the Dells. After our most recent visit, we are now ready to give up on Monks & try some new restaurants. Although the service was good, the food was just average this time. I do appreciate that the restaurant has become very green & eco friendly by serving burgers on tissue paper (no paper plate, basket ...just a piece of tissue paper).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, March 14, 2013
Thank you for your honest feed back of Monk's Bar & Grill- Downtown Wisconsin Dells. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations, especially since you frequent this location and have given compliments before to us on Trip Advisor. We would like to hear more about your experience. Monk's prides itself on service and high quality food, and if you wouldn't mind sending an e-mail about less than satisfying experience to info@monksbarandgrill.com, our owners and management would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you, again, for your feedback on our menu and service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaumburg, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“The Smell will draw you in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We visit family in this area a few times a year. A visit is not complete until a stop at Monk's. Being a fan of good simple bar food, Monk's is a must stop. Very casual, friendly attentive help, plus top-notch deep fried and fire grilled fixin's make this place the legend it is. The "Monster Burger" is out of this world. My wife's burger was "outstanding" in her words. She finished it! The patrons all talk amongst ourselves (total strangers) making this a warm inviting atmosphere. It does not seem child friendly... as it is primarily a bar, but most come in to eat, have a beer and watch sports on the endless sea of televisions. But walking to the entrance will make you salivate due to the smell outdoors. Great. Simple. Fun.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.