We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The aroma drew us in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
(608) 254-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Monk’s Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk’s we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. Although we are famous for our burgers, we can satisfy any of your menu needs. We have a full menu ranging from burgers to sandwiches and wraps, salads, appetizers, pizza (at varying locations), kid’s meals served on a Frisbee they get to take home and including some unique vegetarian options.
Barnhart, MO
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The aroma drew us in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We spent an afternoon downtown shopping and everytime we passed by, the smell was so good...we couldn't resist and tried Monk's. The burgers and fries and onion rings were a great treat! Let the aroma pull you in, too!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

532 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    140
    47
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“An absolute in the Dells.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Any time you hit the Dells, Monk's downtown is a must. The burgers are ridiculously good (grilled onions!) and I completely agree with others: the other Monk's has great food, but you don't get the same feel smelling the grill on the sidewalk, walking into that narrow doorway to see a long bar and grill. Our youngsters demolished the chicken tenders and fries and cookies - the only place all weekend long they cleared out the food to the crumbs. We headed upstairs this time to the second floor (there are 3). Staff was great, attentive, and interacted with our toddlers even though for a weekend lunch it was active. I've been coming here for many years and its a constant enjoyment whenever I've been there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suring, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On our last day at the Dells we decided to stop at Monk's per advice from tripadvisor. I wish we would ate there first as we probably would have eaten every meal there. The atmosphere was fun, the food was great and the waiter was astounding as well. Will definitely eat there every time we come to the dells.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and cheese curds — a true slice of life experience in the Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Are here on a Saturday afternoon while visiting the area for a family wedding at Chula Vista Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The server highly recommended we try the various burgers and cheese curds. So glad that we took her advice! Our favorite burger was the black and bleu with the grilled onions. The cheese curds were light and full of flavor. Oh, yeah... Good cold beers!

The hour or so we spent here will forever be in our memories.

Treat yourself to the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

went to monks bar and grill in end of october and the food was good the drink specials were reasonable would go back again next time im in the dells

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.