We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute in the Dells.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
16082542955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Monk's Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk's we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. The Original! Where our famous burgers began, Monk's Downtown Dells has made Monk's a Dells tradition for more than 65 years! The historical value of the building plays a key part in making every dining experience memorable. Open daily at 11am, we offer our full menu until midnight, but the party continues until bar time every night! One of the oldest restaurants in the Dells area, Monk's tradition of great service from some of the friendliest staff in the area is what has kept business booming for over 60 years!
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“An absolute in the Dells.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Any time you hit the Dells, Monk's downtown is a must. The burgers are ridiculously good (grilled onions!) and I completely agree with others: the other Monk's has great food, but you don't get the same feel smelling the grill on the sidewalk, walking into that narrow doorway to see a long bar and grill. Our youngsters demolished the chicken tenders and fries and cookies - the only place all weekend long they cleared out the food to the crumbs. We headed upstairs this time to the second floor (there are 3). Staff was great, attentive, and interacted with our toddlers even though for a weekend lunch it was active. I've been coming here for many years and its a constant enjoyment whenever I've been there.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Avarel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

867 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Suring, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On our last day at the Dells we decided to stop at Monk's per advice from tripadvisor. I wish we would ate there first as we probably would have eaten every meal there. The atmosphere was fun, the food was great and the waiter was astounding as well. Will definitely eat there every time we come to the dells.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Crystalske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Level Contributor
79 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and cheese curds — a true slice of life experience in the Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Are here on a Saturday afternoon while visiting the area for a family wedding at Chula Vista Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The server highly recommended we try the various burgers and cheese curds. So glad that we took her advice! Our favorite burger was the black and bleu with the grilled onions. The cheese curds were light and full of flavor. Oh, yeah... Good cold beers!

The hour or so we spent here will forever be in our memories.

Treat yourself to the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Peanut1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

went to monks bar and grill in end of october and the food was good the drink specials were reasonable would go back again next time im in the dells

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rayraytoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Level Contributor
114 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Choose restaurant on basis of prior reviews but certainly would not go again. Service was poor and burgers were way over cooked.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Conbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest feed back of Monk's Bar & Grill- Downtown Wisconsin Dells. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to hear more about your experience. Monk's prides itself on service and high quality food (including burgers and our cheese curds), and if you wouldn't mind sending an e-mail about less than satisfying experience to info@monksbarandgrill.com, our owners and management would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you, again, for your feedback on our menu and service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing