We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monk's Bar & Grill

Monk's Bar & Grill
220 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965-1565
(608) 254-2955
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $12
Cuisines: American, Hamburgers, Bar, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night
Description: Monk’s Bar & Grill has been known throughout the Midwest as THE place to go for a great burger and friendly service, since 1947! Here at Monk’s we are committed to delivering exceptional food, beverages and service efficiently in a clean, friendly, sports-oriented atmosphere every minute of every day. We serve our fresh, home-style burgers in a clean, family-fun filled sports atmosphere. Although we are famous for our burgers, we can satisfy any of your menu needs. We have a full menu ranging from burgers to sandwiches and wraps, salads, appetizers, pizza (at varying locations), kid’s meals served on a Frisbee they get to take home and including some unique vegetarian options.
Suring, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

On our last day at the Dells we decided to stop at Monk's per advice from tripadvisor. I wish we would ate there first as we probably would have eaten every meal there. The atmosphere was fun, the food was great and the waiter was astounding as well. Will definitely eat there every time we come to the dells.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    153
    49
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Awesome burgers and cheese curds — a true slice of life experience in the Wisconsin Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Are here on a Saturday afternoon while visiting the area for a family wedding at Chula Vista Resort. The staff was friendly and helpful. The server highly recommended we try the various burgers and cheese curds. So glad that we took her advice! Our favorite burger was the black and bleu with the grilled onions. The cheese curds were light and full of flavor. Oh, yeah... Good cold beers!

The hour or so we spent here will forever be in our memories.

Treat yourself to the experience.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“good food reasonable prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

went to monks bar and grill in end of october and the food was good the drink specials were reasonable would go back again next time im in the dells

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Would not go back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Choose restaurant on basis of prior reviews but certainly would not go again. Service was poor and burgers were way over cooked.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Monk's Bar & Grill, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your honest feed back of Monk's Bar & Grill- Downtown Wisconsin Dells. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and would like to hear more about your experience. Monk's prides itself on service and high quality food (including burgers and our cheese curds), and if you wouldn't mind sending an e-mail about less than satisfying experience to info@monksbarandgrill.com, our owners and management would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you, again, for your feedback on our menu and service quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friendship, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very nice place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

they let you have fun. they have very good food and they have really good drinks lol they are a nice get away place to go.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Monk's Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Monk's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monk's Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.