We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Country bar and grill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alamo Smokehouse

Alamo Smokehouse
951 Stand Rock Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
+(1)608-253-7233
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 167 restaurants in Wisconsin Dells
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: ‘Friendship’ is the Texas state motto and C.C. Alamo Smokehouse is dedicated to staying true to their exceptional service standards, food and beverage quality while treating all customers as family from beginning to end.Our menu offers as variety of smoked meats, pastas, fresh salads, mouthwatering appetizers, flavorful burgers and sandwiches, plus a great kid's meal! Join us as we bring a taste of Texas to you!
MN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great Country bar and grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

loved the clean, bright country decor--unique fixtures, and lighting throughout. Friendly staff and manager readily available and also very pleasant. I had a bean burger, which was excellent, and my husband had a specialty chicken sandwich. My husband was raving about the clam chowder as we walked out the door after lunch! Large variety in menu choices. We will definitely go back again, and bring the rest of our family. Thank you for a pleasant dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    53
    16
    14
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Not Wowed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in for lunch on April 20, 3013. I ordered the Brisket and Ribs. My Brisket was very thinly sliced, it was very dry except for a couple slices that were moist due to a large amount of fat on them. The ribs were very good , but not much meat on them. The rub used was very good, they didn't need any sauce on them. The coleslaw and Spanish rice were both good sides. My wife had the Pulled Pork Slammie sandwich and she liked that very much. We liked the Decor. We'll come back again but will try something else on the menu. We do miss this place when it was Pedro's though.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Grizzle on the ribs”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

We walk in and there stands the chef
We ask, what do you recommend? He says the BBQ sauce and macaroni and cheese. Too expensive for what you get

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great place for your money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stopped there this past Saturday after spending the morning visiting a winery. We stopped in for lunch and were very impressed with what we got. I ordered the Alamo burger and my wife had the chicken ranch brisket wrap. I ordered a bowl of chili and my wife ordered a cup of the corn chowder. Both very tasty. Our meal came and OMG the size of the order could have fed 2 people. I read about the place on the Wisconsin Dells facebook page and am glad we stopped. We will be stopping back more in the futere.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Where's the flavor?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wanting to try the new smokehouse in town, we anticipated too much from this establishment. Pulled pork platter, ribs and penne pasta with alfredo were the orders. Across the board, the food was bland. It wasn't horrible, it was just *blah*. The portions were not worth the prices charged for each plate. The pulled pork plate was just one note throughout the dish. The loaf of white bread presented was, well, white bread. It was served with their version of a honey apple butter. Notice the spaces... it was honey mixed with butter and what seemed to be applesauce. The flavor hits you and promptly left the building. The penne was just over the edge of overcooked and the alfredo tasted more of flour paste. Even after adding pepper to the dish, the sause seemed to subsumed and was lost to the ether. The ribs seem to come from the runt of the litter. The smallest "rack" of ribs for $22. Then to have to remove the cartiledge from the ends, which IMO should have been done in prep, not to make the customer do it at the table. The accompanying baked potato was the toughest thing to cut through. Clearly it has been baked ahead of time, then nuked to present a hot side. Even the deserts were lacking. Ordering the Grandma's Peach Cobbler, you would expect a plate of warm peach cobbler. The fault was our for not fully reading the description. It was their "re-imagining" of this classic desert. First, served cold and in a martini glass (in a country-themed venue); the layering was strange: Caramel topped whipped cream on top, followed by (canned) peach chunks laying on top of way too much "crumble" on the bottom. It was adorned with a horseshoe chocolate bit and an unbaked "spur" almond cookie.

The service, on the other hand, was courteous, prompt and attentive.

If you like a smokehouse meal, stick to Famous Dave's on the other side of town. We will be doing exactly that.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonksBar, Public Relations Manager at Alamo Smokehouse, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your honest feedback of Alamo Smokehouse. I apologize that we did not meet your anticipated expectations of quality food. We would like to hear more about your experience; Alamo Smokehouse is looking for constructive and honest feedback, being a new restaurant. If you wouldn't mind sending an e-mail about your less than satisfying experience to info@dellsalamo.com, our owner would be more than happy to speak with you. Thank you, again, for your feedback on our menu and service quality. (please disregard the MonksBar display name, as all pages are monitored and managed through the same Communications Director)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alamo Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to Alamo Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alamo Smokehouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.