We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but smaller than I expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Witches Gulch

Witches Gulch
3951 River Rd., Wisconsin Dells, WI
Improve this listing
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but smaller than I expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

My husband and I drove out to Witches Gulch today. We seemed to be the only one who traveled to it by car. Everyone else there had come by boat.

It is a beautiful place -- but not as large as I thought it would be. It took us about 10 minutes to walk from one end to the other. (If you arrive by car, you walk from the ticket booth -- which is also the concession stand -- and end up at the river. Then you just turn around and come back.)

The majority of the walk is on a wooden walkway that was built through the walls of the gulch (which, according to Google, is "a narrow and steep-sided ravine marking the course of a fast stream"). At the end, beyond the gulch, is a concrete path that goes to the boat dock.

Just a few more things:
- I tried to pay by credit card, but the woman said that they take cash only.
- It's a bit chilly in the gulch, so bring a jacket.
- There are restrooms near the ticket booth/concession stands.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    32
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Drive here and visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We drove here rather than visiting as a stop with the Upper Dells boat.

The entry is off river road and indicates a cost of $5 which we did pay cash. They could accept charge cards so I was surprised when someone else reported not accepting charge cards.

The walk was great and flat so there is not and issue for mobility challenged people. Note that the walk is about three blocks each way. The walk was very smooth planks and sections have been recently upgraded. But it was damp and might become slippery so some caution is appropriate.

The walk is interesting with a few area signs for names but there isn't much history explained. But there was a small story board at the entrance that gave some history.

Restrooms were clean. Food available and some gift items there too.

One note of caution if you have small children. The end of the walk is at the water (upper Dells boat tour) and there isn't much of a gate or railing. Don't let kids get you far ahead and near water the trail curves and you can't always see too far ahead.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very neat and worth a stop.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I know alot of the boat tours stop here. We drove here ourselves which is not far and had to pay $5 per person to walk through. So glad we came on our own and not on the boat. We had 7 of us mostly teenager/college age kids. It is not a long walk but you get to walk through the rock formations with a stream that leads to the river. We got some amazing pictures and it was nice for our kids to see a part of the "real" Dells instead of all the touristy stuff. It is quiet and peaceful and just really neat to see. There was a boat with tourists that stopped for a while so at that time it was more difficult to get pics without random people in them. But, their visit was short and there was peace again. There were lots of mosquitos so you may want to bring bug spray. We had it but didn't use it. It is also very cool in the rocks. That would make it nice on a hot day to cool off but some may feel the need to have a jacket. This is deefinitely worth a stop. I wish it were less than $5 a person....but this is the Dell's. They can charge for everything!

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very scenic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Paid $5 to walk through here. It was very worth it. So cool to walk along the board walk and listen to the rushing water below. The towering fern covered rocks are amazing.
The boat tour stops here but only for about 30 min. We had the whole place to ourselves before and after they came.
A little hard to find, but worth it.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
O'Fallon, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This place can be visited either by driving or boat tour. Recommend the boat tour because you get the incredible scenic view of the river around the Dells. The gulch has water flowing through it and with high sandstone cliffs, makes for a cool place from the heat.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Witches Gulch also viewed

 
Wisconsin Dells, WI
 

Been to Witches Gulch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Witches Gulch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.