We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Started off just ok...but became intolerable!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Motel
612 Vine St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #57 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Started off just ok...but became intolerable!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

This hotel should have been renovated 20 years ago, but for the extremely low price and awesome location...we thought...what the hey! When we entered our room, there was a car freshener (you know the little tree ones?!) hanging from the tv shelf! The room was dark and musty (despite the car freshener)! The owners are very nice people...so I actually feel bad leaving such a review. My brother had to kill a roach in his room! Somehow, the room was clean and neat but still had a musty smell to it! On the last night of our trip the temperature fell into the low 50s and there was NO HEAT! I understand that no one expected that drastic of a decrease in temperature but the owners live on the property and I'm quite sure they turned the heat on in their home! I guess they didn't care enough about their paying customers to flip the switch?! Just before check out (literally, 15 minutes before), they turned on the heat! I will NEVER...EVER stay here again! Good thing the property is for sale...perhaps the new owners will be more mindful of their guests' needs!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    4
    0
    2
    2
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

My family and I planned this trip to the Dells with this motel in mind. We were not dissapointed! If you want to travel back in time when there were clean, quaint, and memorable places to bed down then this is the place. The staff is always helpful and will go the extra mile for their guests. We stayed in the "Cottage" which sleeps six very comfortably. All the ammenities are top notch, full kitchen with breakfast table a very large livingroom a full bathroom with modern fixtures and a large bedroom with two full size beds. We were visiting the Dells during the heat wave of July 2011 the cottage was airconditioned and was a "cool oasis" during those hot days. The staff was so accomodating that when we checked in there was a problem with a futon in the livingroom we called the desk and within an hour they had replaced the futon completely!
The pool was also a place we enjoyed very much. The kids had a ball on the slide and the adults enjoyed the quiet tranquil surroundings of the neighborhood. The pool was very clean and well taken care of. The icing on the cake is when it gets dark at night, The "neon" comes on! The buildings still have their neon from the 60's and they work! It looked like a scene out of "Radiator Springs" cozy cone! For those of you that want the noise and excitment of the commercial resorts I feel sad, I would suggest try to slow down and relax and experience a little bit of the past as these little "gold nuggets" are vanishing at a breakneck pace. I am so happy that my children have had the opportunity to experience what my parents and I did as I grew up.
So if you are a nastolgic person or wish to experience what a "motel" was like in it's heyday. I highly recommend the Rainbow Motel.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calumet City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Took a family vacation with 5 children and 2 adults, so we were looking for affordability without sacrificing quality. Rainbow was awesome! We had two rooms, adjacent to each other, (but no interior connecting door.) Rooms are average, a bit dated, but clean, comfortable and with a fridge and microwave. Great family pool, swing/play set for the kids, and they rent BBQ grills if you want to grill (which we did.) Best part of the stay was free unlimited park passes to Chula Vista Waterpark for everyone in our family! That alone saved us over $250!! It's within walking distance to the "strip" and a five minute drive to the waterpark. Absolutely would stay again :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

We've stayed at this motel for several years in a row now. The rooms have always been clean and comfortable. The family that runs the place is very accomodating. The pool is heated and best of all, virtually empty. The location couldn't be better. It's in a quiet, residential part of town, and has no hallways, so you don't have to put up with much noise. It's also within walking distance of downtown and the park. Last year was the first disappointment. We stayed in a two-bedroom room instead of a single room, and our AC was leaking onto the floor, and the shower was boiling hot unless mgmt adjusted the water temp from the office. Overall though, it's a nice little motel and the price couldn't be better.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Iowa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2010

We love the location, the owners and the price.The rooms were clean, had tubs that worked and the beds were comfortable. We also like the fact that they provide grills and a tie-in with a water park (Chula Vista). We plan to return.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This was the first motel my family stayed in when we came to the Dells some 15 years ago.
The place has the "perfect" location for someone who does not want to hear the constant noise of of cars, trucks and folks walking on the strip. The Motel is located in a quiet neighborhood, walking distance to stores, shops and restaurants, yet miles away form all the maddening crowds.
Decent pool, great service from the Motel staff. But don't expect the "Taj Mahal" when you walk into the room(s). The place is somewhat a throw-back, Not too many amenities, VERY BASIC- but you can't beat their prices. they have rooms to accommodate a couple, a family, and space for large family gatherings.

I've stayed in Hotels all over the Dells-(Chula Vista, River Inn). I always come back to Rainbow because they offer visitors(Especially in these tough economic times) a chance to save on the cost of rooms and use(more) of their hard-earned money for FUN!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MN
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

we just got back today and i loved and enjoyed my stay there! =D their service was the best...and they are really nice people...=D you wont regret at all!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 612 Vine St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list