We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic and Clean--with firm bed” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Starlite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Basic and Clean--with firm bed”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We were looking for a basic, clean place to stay in the Dells while attending a seminar. This place fit the bill. Definitely clean and definitely basic with a good firm bed. The place is a dated, but that was not unexpected. It took me back to my childhood--and I'm in my 50s.

At first, I was concerned that it would be noisy because the walls were thin, but everything quieted right down each night at 10:00. The room is a bit dark but I loved the night light in the bathroom.

One suggestion--a hook on the back of the bathroom door would be inexpensive and make showering much easier. I do not like putting my clothes on the floor but there was no other option.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    16
    9
    3
    13
See reviews for
40
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mundelein, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

I convinced my wife to pack up our two boys and go to the Dells for Automotion weekend. Basically, it is a car show with lots of vehicles, several hundred for sure. We had a great weekend. Stayed at the Starlite. It is a nice place, smaller motel with a pool (although the pool opens on Memorial Day weekend so we were a week early to enjoy it). But no problem because we got 4 tickets to Chula Vista Waterpark included in the cost of the room. Our boys loved it. The price of the hotel room was super reasonable considering the waterpark tickets. We were also able to walk to downtown because it was only a few blocks. The place was all around clean and comfortable. Would stay here again next time. Will recommend to family and friends

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The owners were incredibly rude. The woman barged into our room uninvited, screaming that visitors were not allowed and that it was stated in the rules (which was on a sheet hidden under the lamp). They also insisted we store the bikes we brought in their storage unit, which was not in the "rules" anywhere. I told them the bikes were worth almost $2k and not getting stored out of our sight. The woman continued screaming at my boyfriend and telling him his "opinion didn't matter" because he was not a registered guest. He offered his credit card to her, saying, "Swipe my card, then I will be a paying customer and you can hear me out." She refused and wouldn't let him get a word in edgewise. Her only arguments being that he was not a registered guest, no visitors were allowed, and she "is 75 years old!". Also accused me of purposely trying to sneak people in because I brought an extra blanket and asked for extra (which I didn't) and was told I almost always bring my own blanket because it's a hotel. Pretty sure I'm not the only one that does this. She threatened to call the police. We insisted she do so, then waited, but they never showed. We theorize she cries wolf often. She was extremely rude, even after being informed my boyfriend and his son were leaving and that I would register my friend (who was supposed to stay with me only on Sunday night. I rented the room for Sat & Sun). The room had 2 queen beds so it would have been myself, my son and his friend, and my friend- not over capacity. She yelled about the 2 extra cars even though the lot was near empty. Literally screamed at us for a good 15 minutes, then came back with her husband and screamed at us for another 20. Horrible experience, didn't even stay the last night even though it was paid for. Drove 2 hours home at 10 pm. My boyfriend owns 7 companies, and informed her he knew of business practices, and treating customers in this manner was anything but good business, that she could count on none of us returning and she had lost business here permanently. She shouted that she didn't care. The whole ordeal was ridiculous and unbelievable, and I believe the only reason they have been in business so long is the fact that the area is a tourist destination. Customer service was awful, and we will be looking for all means to post this exact review. Don't stay here, whatever you do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Kieu N,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at the Starlite Motel.

The policy of the motel is not to have any "unregistered" guests on the property. The reason for this is that we do not have liability insurance for unregistered guests. Should an unregistered guest break an arm or leg on the property, our insurance company would not pay for these claims.

We noticed the bicycles being taken into the room and offered to store them in the stock room. We have many guests who travel with bicycles and 99% of them graciously store them in the stock room. This prevents damage to the room from tire marks on the walls, tracking of mud/debris on carpet, etc. The rooms were recently painted and the carpets steam cleaned. We are trying to keep the rooms in top condition for all our guests.

We have been family owned and operated since 1991. We pride ourselves in providing service with a smile. Although we try very hard, we are unable to please all of our guests.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

My husband I opted to stay here versus having a room at one of the waterparks where our son and family were staying. The staff was very nice and accommodating. This was all we needed... the room was spotless and comfortable, and it also included free waterpark passes. We will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear mbnb,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Starlite Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We always want every guest to have the best possible service/experience. We pride ourselves and work very hard on the cleanliness of our rooms and bathroom, in fact our entire property. We hope that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterpark. We look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

my wife and i were newly weds. We stayed here for our honey moon. It was fantastic we got free passes to chula vista. The prices were great. Our room was clean, fun, and spacious. The staff was very nice all in all they did a great job accomidating us. I can't wait to bring other family members here. We are definatally returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear TripAdvisor Member,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Starlite Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We always want every guest to have the best possible service/experience whether it is their first time or their tenth time. We pride ourselves and work very hard on the cleanliness of our rooms and bathroom, in fact our entire property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a classic, old school motel. It's not fancy, but its comfortable, clean and friendly. It was much better than I expected from one of the older properties in Wisconsin Dells. The location is good if you like being in Downtown Dells. Walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants, but you need to drive if you want to go to any of the water parks or larger attractions.

The motel has a pool and also provides a wristband to the Chula Vista water park just outside of town. I was surprised that with 2 of us staying in the room, we were only given 1 wristband.

There's a shy cat that wonders around the property too. Very cute, but often hiding.

The room was large with an older model TV and table and chairs. The bathroom had a strange layout with half a countertop, but the shower and tub looked recently updated.

The woman who runs the place is from Poland. She was very nice. There's free coffee in the lobby in the morning. Overall this motel is a great deal in downtown Wisconsin Dells. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor right next to the lobby and had no problems with noise or car lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Marybink,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We always appreciate the comments we get. I am happy to hear that you were impressed by our room size and the cleanliness of our place. We think you captured the experience at the Starlite Motel very well! The smaller, family-owned motels depend on the business and return business of families and other visitors and connect person-to-person with their guests in ways the 100+ rooms places can't. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We travel with 10 people total. So finding a nice, reasonably priced hotel is sometimes difficult. We rented 2 rooms for 3 nights. The service was wonderful! They did not have adjoining rooms but they placed us next to one another. The rooms are not fancy but very clean. The mattresses were very comfortable and clean. The pool area is small but nice. There is no indoor pool which is a downfall. The parking lot is small and cramped however we were always able to park near our room. The hotel is located at the end of the strip. Definitely a plus to be able to walk downtown! My family and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us recently. I am so glad to hear that you think highly of this place and now we have been able to become that new favorite place to stay while vacationing in the Wisconsin Dells area. We work extremely hard to make sure the rooms are very clean and sanitary. We always try our best to make every guest stay as welcome as possible. It is nice being on the strip within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.