We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classic Motel - Nothing fancy, but clean and comfy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Save Saved
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starlite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Classic Motel - Nothing fancy, but clean and comfy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is a classic, old school motel. It's not fancy, but its comfortable, clean and friendly. It was much better than I expected from one of the older properties in Wisconsin Dells. The location is good if you like being in Downtown Dells. Walking distance to many shops, bars and restaurants, but you need to drive if you want to go to any of the water parks or larger attractions.

The motel has a pool and also provides a wristband to the Chula Vista water park just outside of town. I was surprised that with 2 of us staying in the room, we were only given 1 wristband.

There's a shy cat that wonders around the property too. Very cute, but often hiding.

The room was large with an older model TV and table and chairs. The bathroom had a strange layout with half a countertop, but the shower and tub looked recently updated.

The woman who runs the place is from Poland. She was very nice. There's free coffee in the lobby in the morning. Overall this motel is a great deal in downtown Wisconsin Dells. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had the room on the first floor right next to the lobby and had no problems with noise or car lig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Marybink,

Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to leave us a review. We always appreciate the comments we get. I am happy to hear that you were impressed by our room size and the cleanliness of our place. We think you captured the experience at the Starlite Motel very well! The smaller, family-owned motels depend on the business and return business of families and other visitors and connect person-to-person with their guests in ways the 100+ rooms places can't. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    9
    2
    11
See reviews for
39
17
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Walnut, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We travel with 10 people total. So finding a nice, reasonably priced hotel is sometimes difficult. We rented 2 rooms for 3 nights. The service was wonderful! They did not have adjoining rooms but they placed us next to one another. The rooms are not fancy but very clean. The mattresses were very comfortable and clean. The pool area is small but nice. There is no indoor pool which is a downfall. The parking lot is small and cramped however we were always able to park near our room. The hotel is located at the end of the strip. Definitely a plus to be able to walk downtown! My family and I will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Jennifer B,

Thank you very much for your review about your stay with us recently. I am so glad to hear that you think highly of this place and now we have been able to become that new favorite place to stay while vacationing in the Wisconsin Dells area. We work extremely hard to make sure the rooms are very clean and sanitary. We always try our best to make every guest stay as welcome as possible. It is nice being on the strip within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addison, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very clean ,comfortable and spacious room. There was five of us and still we have enough space ...Also the owners are very kind and helpful . The price is right especially with free pass to Chula Vista and 60% discount to Mt. Olympus!!!The best deal !!
The location is perfect - in quiet area but very close to downtown .
We had a very good experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear Anna Z,

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us. I am glad to hear the cleanliness of our room was up to your expectations. We work very hard to ensure every room is met to the highest standards. It is nice being on the strip within walking distance to the shops and restaurants. We are glad to hear that you and your family enjoyed the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My six year old son summed it up by saying, "Mom, this was the "Bestest" vacation ever." We really had a great vacation. Not only was it affordable, we felt like we were at home. The owners would say hi to us whenever they saw us. They really work hard all day long. They make sure everything is nice and clean. We had a room with two queen beds. The room was very clean and spacious. The beds were super comfortable. We used the pool every evening. My son absolutely loved the pool. The water was nice and warm. We also got free tickets to Chula Vista Waterpark with our room so we took advantage of that too. We would recommend the Starlite to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights, the owners take pride in clean rooms.
It was a very nice stay. The only down is no coffee makers in the rooms, but I brought my own so no worries.
The beds are comfy.
The owners are very friendly. The price is right. It's only a couple blocks to the downtown strip, but very quiet at the motel. There's a restaurant across the alley that's open for breakfast and lunch.
We will definitely stay here again next summer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Georgia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I visited with my three teenaged sons (ages 13, 15, and 18). We are travelling cross-country and doing some mountain biking along the way. We stopped at Devil's Lake in Baraboo, biked until we were exhausted, and then made our way to the Dells. We stayed at the Starlite for two nights. It was a very good experience. We were greeted politely when we checked in, we got free waterpark passes, had a nice corner room on the second floor. We enjoyed the pool and walked downtown. The owner even let us store our expensive mountain bikes in the storage room. I thought that was going above and beyond. . . going the extra mile. The room was clean, the beds were comfortable, the place looked kept up. The price was also very reasonable considering the waterpark passes. Would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Ask for the corner room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

My fiancé and I stayed for 4 nights and loved it! I don't understand all the complaints on here. I always had hot water and the bed had the most comfortable mattress. Our stay also included free chula vista tickets. a free fun pass, and 60% mt.olympus. The staff was very friendly. I'm so glad we decided to stay here! It's such a good value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Booking.com and Venere so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;