We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go for park tickets, not comfort.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Save Saved
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starlite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Peoria, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Go for park tickets, not comfort.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel was alittle pricey for what it is. However, all the surrounding hotels are pricey, and you get free water park ticket to a very nice park, Chula Vista. The hotel itself was pretty clean, needed more maintainance and upkeep. The beds were very hard, no phone, clock, or internet. There were only to towels in a 4 person room, they were very small and thin. However, the price of the water park tickets were worth it. The family that owned it were nice. Recommend it for location and tickets, not comfort.

Room Tip: Go for free water park tickets and location, not comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    8
    2
    11
See reviews for
38
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights here just left this morning it is a clean motel and nice for the money you pay. I accidently only reserved a queen room and had four people the lady was nice enough to still let us stay and give us extra blankets and pillows without charging us. The rooms were cleaned daily and beds were comfortable. Close to downtown shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family loved staying here. It is a nice change from the fast paced, loud resorts. The owners were pleasant and the entire property was well maintained and peaceful. It is older, but that is what we loved about it....classic of the Dells. The low price included free wristbands to Chula Vista resort indoor and outdoor waterpark. What a huge savings! My boys loved it. Don't go here planning to have large parties and wreck the interiors...it is obvious this family owned business takes pride in their business.

Room Tip: Walk a few minutes from the main strip. Pefect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Outdated, kinda smelly room. Owners seemed to be very nice though! Always saying hi and asking if we needed anything. Pool area was clean. " family suites" are small, so if extra room is what you want maybe just get 2 adjoining rooms. Overall, they provide no amenities no nothing, just a basic room. They do however offer free passes to the Chula Vista which is a nice bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent two days here on our honeymoon. We are just getting started and don't have much money. I found this place through the internet. The price was within our budget. I made reservations. When we got there, the front desk lady was nice. She gave us a map of the area and pointed out where we were, where the water park was, where the main streets were. She gave us two wristbands that let us into Chula Vista waterpark for free. That was super. The room was basic but that's all we needed. It was super clean. We spent time by the pool too. It was quiet and relaxing. It wasn't the Aruba or Hawaii honeymoon some people get to take, but this is what we were able to afford. We will remember it always. We had a nice stay and will come back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms will be quieter since there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Starlite for three nights and found it to be just what you should expect for the price. We paid $69 dollars a night, which included free water passes to Chula Vista water park ($30 normally) and half price coupons for Mt Olympus water/theme park. By using those coupons we saved $150 alone. The motel was only a couple blocks from all the attractions on Broadway, which was nice. The room was clean and we slept well. The owners always said hello when they saw me. My only quibbles are the pool didn't seem heated when we tried to use it and the Wi-Fi signal is free, but weak.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

when i first got there the daughter was nice then after 4 days the owner(old lady) was very rude she and her husband used racial remarks toward our family blacks are no good and they rude because she had to clean up a room that was a lil messy from staying at any hotel the owner yelled at another group of black people that checked in the same day thinking they were the ones who left the room messy i would never go there again who ever rated this motel great they lied they had no phones,no irons no do not disturb signs things that go with a room they just came in your room when you were gone then they would turn your air off if you had it on to be cool when you came back from shopping or etc. so just because their cheap dont go there it was the worst hotel i stayed at since i been going there.

Room Tip: choose another hotel
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear LaShonda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Starlite Motel. We welcome guests of every race, color, national origin, sexual orientation, age and ability. We never use any language that would suggest otherwise. The room that you describe as a "lil messy" had vomit all over the carpeting. Upon your check-out, we had to replace the carpet in the room.

We do not have irons/ironing boards in each room; however, we do have several available at the front desk upon request. The housekeeping staff provides maid-service daily, meaning we enter the room, take the garbage out, replace the towels, make the beds etc. We honor requests for "no maid-service." Guests who do not wish to have maid-service simply stop by the office and let the front-desk attendant know.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.