We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Starlite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
“Value for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed two nights here just left this morning it is a clean motel and nice for the money you pay. I accidently only reserved a queen room and had four people the lady was nice enough to still let us stay and give us extra blankets and pillows without charging us. The rooms were cleaned daily and beds were comfortable. Close to downtown shopping.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    22
    10
    6
    15
See reviews for
50
19
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

My family loved staying here. It is a nice change from the fast paced, loud resorts. The owners were pleasant and the entire property was well maintained and peaceful. It is older, but that is what we loved about it....classic of the Dells. The low price included free wristbands to Chula Vista resort indoor and outdoor waterpark. What a huge savings! My boys loved it. Don't go here planning to have large parties and wreck the interiors...it is obvious this family owned business takes pride in their business.

Room Tip: Walk a few minutes from the main strip. Pefect location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Outdated, kinda smelly room. Owners seemed to be very nice though! Always saying hi and asking if we needed anything. Pool area was clean. " family suites" are small, so if extra room is what you want maybe just get 2 adjoining rooms. Overall, they provide no amenities no nothing, just a basic room. They do however offer free passes to the Chula Vista which is a nice bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent two days here on our honeymoon. We are just getting started and don't have much money. I found this place through the internet. The price was within our budget. I made reservations. When we got there, the front desk lady was nice. She gave us a map of the area and pointed out where we were, where the water park was, where the main streets were. She gave us two wristbands that let us into Chula Vista waterpark for free. That was super. The room was basic but that's all we needed. It was super clean. We spent time by the pool too. It was quiet and relaxing. It wasn't the Aruba or Hawaii honeymoon some people get to take, but this is what we were able to afford. We will remember it always. We had a nice stay and will come back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms will be quieter since there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, March 6, 2015
Dear Gina,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience at the Starlite Motel. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your honeymoon with us. We always want every guest to have the best possible service/experience whether it is their first time or their tenth time. We pride ourselves and work very hard on the cleanliness of our rooms and our entire property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our outdoor heated swimming pool and the FREE passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. We look forward to your future visit with us.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Starlite for three nights and found it to be just what you should expect for the price. We paid $69 dollars a night, which included free water passes to Chula Vista water park ($30 normally) and half price coupons for Mt Olympus water/theme park. By using those coupons we saved $150 alone. The motel was only a couple blocks from all the attractions on Broadway, which was nice. The room was clean and we slept well. The owners always said hello when they saw me. My only quibbles are the pool didn't seem heated when we tried to use it and the Wi-Fi signal is free, but weak.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were last week at this motel. At first sight I thought the owner (old lady) was rude but later I talked with her daughter and everything was okay. The room was clean we were two days and the housekeeping did the room. Actually liked this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budd Lake
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don't know how this hotel got rated so high, which is what I looked for before booking one! We booked the room through booking.com and when we got there, we were notified that she did not have a queen or king bed room, but two doubles and did NOT take AMEX, which is what card we used on the site. She upped the price for the two doubles and it was like 20 dollars cheaper a night online... So that was the start. We were tired from driving and took the two double beds..
The room was terrible smelling! It smelled like old cat pee, I thought maybe it was from where the air was not on... wrong, We ended up going to get Lysol to try and cover the smell!
the carpets were damp and a very old air conditioner was not cooling at all! We called the owner over and she was very rude about the fact that we did not have it on air that is why, but hey when its so old you cant see the lines what do you do!
The beds were so hard it felt like you were sitting on a box and laying on a brick!
There were spider webs in the bathroom with a huge spider in it! This place has not been dusted in a while! The tv was super small!
There were NO coffee pot, phones, clocks, shampoo or soaps, but it did have a mini fridge??

WE booked three nights there and by the end of the second night, we left. When we asked for a refund, we were told no refunds, but that she would give us a gift certificate for our next stay.... No thank YOU!!! Keep your certificate and we will call our credit card company and file a complaint for the charges to be refunded!
I kicked the sheet off in my sleep and the bed was duct taped over the plastic, so who knows, we might have been sleeping on a board... My husband and I were both very itchy in the room and he ended up with a rash on his side and I ended up with a stiff neck for the next week which ruined the rest of my vacation!
The motel is a couple blocks from the main drag, pretty much walking distance and the parking is super tight... We woke up to a bum in the garbage dumpster (our view) picking through every thing in there making all kinds of noise. Never again!

Room Tip: I was located along the back building behind the pool... The good reviews must have been from the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at the Starlite Motel. As there is a delay between the time that Booking.com takes a reservation and then sends us notification, we did overbook on the number of single King rooms we have. Therefore, for the same price, you were offered a room with two Queen beds. We do not accept pets at our establishment; therefore, the smell could not have been cat pee. We do try very hard to air out our rooms after each guest checks out.

The air conditioners are older models; however, they are serviced regularly and do provide comfort for our guests as long as they are set properly to "cool" mode. The mattresses/box springs were replaced last year. We do get many compliments on them. Each mattress is covered with a plastic mattress cover for sanitary purposes. The cover in your room was accidentally torn by a previous guest two days prior to your check-in. As we were out of new covers, one of the housekeeping staff members placed a piece of tape over the tear temporarily until our order of new covers arrives. Our housekeeping staff tries very hard to keep the rooms in the cleanest condition. As you may have noticed from most of the other reviews, there is mention of how clean the rooms are. Of course, in Wisconsin, there are spiders and there may have been one that made its way into your room. We do apologize for this; although, it is very hard for us to control Mother Nature.

We do offer fresh coffee in the office each morning for the enjoyment of all our guests. We did at one time have coffee makers in each room; however, due to the number of spills we have since decided to offer coffee only in the office. Each room comes with soap, cups, towels, etc. There are mini-fridges in most units.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#48 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Indian Trail Motel
Indian Trail Motel
#7 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
0.4 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#9 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Malibu Inn Wisconsin Dells
Malibu Inn Wisconsin Dells
#61 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
1.6 mi away
Super 8 Wisconsin Dells
Super 8 Wisconsin Dells
#50 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 623 reviews
0.4 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.