We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kinda pricey for what you get!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Save Saved
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Starlite Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Round Lake, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kinda pricey for what you get!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Outdated, kinda smelly room. Owners seemed to be very nice though! Always saying hi and asking if we needed anything. Pool area was clean. " family suites" are small, so if extra room is what you want maybe just get 2 adjoining rooms. Overall, they provide no amenities no nothing, just a basic room. They do however offer free passes to the Chula Vista which is a nice bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    15
    8
    2
    12
See reviews for
39
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Island Lake, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We spent two days here on our honeymoon. We are just getting started and don't have much money. I found this place through the internet. The price was within our budget. I made reservations. When we got there, the front desk lady was nice. She gave us a map of the area and pointed out where we were, where the water park was, where the main streets were. She gave us two wristbands that let us into Chula Vista waterpark for free. That was super. The room was basic but that's all we needed. It was super clean. We spent time by the pool too. It was quiet and relaxing. It wasn't the Aruba or Hawaii honeymoon some people get to take, but this is what we were able to afford. We will remember it always. We had a nice stay and will come back for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms will be quieter since there is no one above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Starlite for three nights and found it to be just what you should expect for the price. We paid $69 dollars a night, which included free water passes to Chula Vista water park ($30 normally) and half price coupons for Mt Olympus water/theme park. By using those coupons we saved $150 alone. The motel was only a couple blocks from all the attractions on Broadway, which was nice. The room was clean and we slept well. The owners always said hello when they saw me. My only quibbles are the pool didn't seem heated when we tried to use it and the Wi-Fi signal is free, but weak.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Illinois, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

when i first got there the daughter was nice then after 4 days the owner(old lady) was very rude she and her husband used racial remarks toward our family blacks are no good and they rude because she had to clean up a room that was a lil messy from staying at any hotel the owner yelled at another group of black people that checked in the same day thinking they were the ones who left the room messy i would never go there again who ever rated this motel great they lied they had no phones,no irons no do not disturb signs things that go with a room they just came in your room when you were gone then they would turn your air off if you had it on to be cool when you came back from shopping or etc. so just because their cheap dont go there it was the worst hotel i stayed at since i been going there.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear LaShonda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at the Starlite Motel. We welcome guests of every race, color, national origin, sexual orientation, age and ability. We never use any language that would suggest otherwise. The room that you describe as a "lil messy" had vomit all over the carpeting. Upon your check-out, we had to replace the carpet in the room.

We do not have irons/ironing boards in each room; however, we do have several available at the front desk upon request. The housekeeping staff provides maid-service daily, meaning we enter the room, take the garbage out, replace the towels, make the beds etc. We honor requests for "no maid-service." Guests who do not wish to have maid-service simply stop by the office and let the front-desk attendant know.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We were last week at this motel. At first sight I thought the owner (old lady) was rude but later I talked with her daughter and everything was okay. The room was clean we were two days and the housekeeping did the room. Actually liked this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I don't know how this hotel got rated so high, which is what I looked for before booking one! We booked the room through booking.com and when we got there, we were notified that she did not have a queen or king bed room, but two doubles and did NOT take AMEX, which is what card we used on the site. She upped the price for the two doubles and it was like 20 dollars cheaper a night online... So that was the start. We were tired from driving and took the two double beds..
The room was terrible smelling! It smelled like old cat pee, I thought maybe it was from where the air was not on... wrong, We ended up going to get Lysol to try and cover the smell!
the carpets were damp and a very old air conditioner was not cooling at all! We called the owner over and she was very rude about the fact that we did not have it on air that is why, but hey when its so old you cant see the lines what do you do!
The beds were so hard it felt like you were sitting on a box and laying on a brick!
There were spider webs in the bathroom with a huge spider in it! This place has not been dusted in a while! The tv was super small!
There were NO coffee pot, phones, clocks, shampoo or soaps, but it did have a mini fridge??

WE booked three nights there and by the end of the second night, we left. When we asked for a refund, we were told no refunds, but that she would give us a gift certificate for our next stay.... No thank YOU!!! Keep your certificate and we will call our credit card company and file a complaint for the charges to be refunded!
I kicked the sheet off in my sleep and the bed was duct taped over the plastic, so who knows, we might have been sleeping on a board... My husband and I were both very itchy in the room and he ended up with a rash on his side and I ended up with a stiff neck for the next week which ruined the rest of my vacation!
The motel is a couple blocks from the main drag, pretty much walking distance and the parking is super tight... We woke up to a bum in the garbage dumpster (our view) picking through every thing in there making all kinds of noise. Never again!

Room Tip: I was located along the back building behind the pool... The good reviews must have been from the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Shannon,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are sorry to hear you were not happy with your stay at the Starlite Motel. As there is a delay between the time that Booking.com takes a reservation and then sends us notification, we did overbook on the number of single King rooms we have. Therefore, for the same price, you were offered a room with two Queen beds. We do not accept pets at our establishment; therefore, the smell could not have been cat pee. We do try very hard to air out our rooms after each guest checks out.

The air conditioners are older models; however, they are serviced regularly and do provide comfort for our guests as long as they are set properly to "cool" mode. The mattresses/box springs were replaced last year. We do get many compliments on them. Each mattress is covered with a plastic mattress cover for sanitary purposes. The cover in your room was accidentally torn by a previous guest two days prior to your check-in. As we were out of new covers, one of the housekeeping staff members placed a piece of tape over the tear temporarily until our order of new covers arrives. Our housekeeping staff tries very hard to keep the rooms in the cleanest condition. As you may have noticed from most of the other reviews, there is mention of how clean the rooms are. Of course, in Wisconsin, there are spiders and there may have been one that made its way into your room. We do apologize for this; although, it is very hard for us to control Mother Nature.

We do offer fresh coffee in the office each morning for the enjoyment of all our guests. We did at one time have coffee makers in each room; however, due to the number of spills we have since decided to offer coffee only in the office. Each room comes with soap, cups, towels, etc. There are mini-fridges in most units.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

With a family of our size, this was an amazing deal! We didn't know what the family room meant & were pleased with the 2 queens & 1 double n separate room. Everything was clean & the owners were around if you needed them. I wish there was a clock b/c the waterparks take it out of you & we were paranoid about oversleeping. Chula vista was fabulous! Already looking forward to our next trip and recommending the Starlite Motel to family & friends!

Room Tip: Bring an alarm clock! Family suite is perfect for a family with 4 kids,
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Starlite Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.