We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Close to Downtown and Affordable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Starlite Motel

Save Saved
You added Starlite Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Starlite Motel
727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 75 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Rosemont, IL
1 review
“Clean, Close to Downtown and Affordable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

My family visited the Dells recently and we stayed at the Starlite Motel. We enjoyed a clean room and the nice pool that was on property. We were able to walk downtown and not worry about parking. When we checked in, we also got wristbands which were good at the Chula Vista waterpark. Overall, we had a great stay and plan on coming back next year. Prices are very reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    15
    7
    3
    13
See reviews for
38
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

Ok, it was me and there others staying for two nights, sat, and Sunday. We were drinking a little on Saturday night. It's the Dells who doesn't? We woke up to the staff screaming at us saying we were crazy and that we would be watched by them. first off we were not wasted and being stupid like a 16 year old. We are in our 30s. The next night I went to open the door and windows, it was cool outside. The lady came running up saying TURN OFF THE AIR! Screaming at me. I said politely, I'm doing it right now. And she still kept going on! so rude! Never in my life will I go there again! I would advise no one to go! Unless you need a babysitter who's watching your every move!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Kira0355,

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Starlite Motel. The guests staying in the adjacent room were very upset and demanded a full refund Sunday morning. They were unable to get any sleep because you and your friends were partying all night with approximately 15 other people. These guests woke up several times and asked you to be quiet and take the party inside. However, there was no cooperation from you. We, as the management, were upset because you were disturbing other guests who paid the same rate to sleep at our motel.

You also had your windows and doors open while running the air conditioner. We asked you to abide by our policy, which is to close your windows and doors while running the air conditioner. When exposed to hot and humid air, the air conditioner freezes up and stops working.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

this hotel was the worst hotel i have ever stayed in blinds were taped in 4 places blind broke again and i was forced to pay 20 dollars to replace it when i checked out and was leaving the room they came in with tape to thats right tape it once again!!! no microwave refridgerator broke.dont waste your money.very very rude staff.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Jodi,

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Starlite Motel. You had three adults and three children staying in a room with two queen size beds. You registered four guests at check-in. We did not charge you for the extra guests in your room.

The rooms have been updated and look just like the picture on the website. The walls were painted in May 2012 and we just put brand new Symbol mattresses and box springs in the rooms. We replaced the blankets and bedspreads three years ago. The carpet and chairs were steam cleaned in June 2012.

One of the children broke the window blinds in the room. The blinds could not be repaired and needed to be replaced. Guests are liable for any damage caused to the room. The cost to replace the window blinds is $20.00. We do not tape broken blinds. I’m sorry that you feel that the staff at the Starlite Motel was rude because we made you pay for the damaged blinds.

It is a violation of Wisconsin State Statute 101.123 to smoke in lodging facilities. It was explained to you at check-in that all rooms are non-smoking. We also have signs posted inside the room. Your family smoked in the room and we did not report this to the police. If the police were called you would have been issued a citation costing you $100 for smoking inside the motel room. We did not charge you a cleaning fee to remove the smoke from the room.

Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

This place was great! We really felt like we got more for our money here. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, location was perfect. We were able to get free tickets to Chula Vista Waterpark, which we really enjoyed. Also, at check-in, we got a coupon booklet with 2 for 1 deals and other super discounts for restaurants and attractions. The staff was also very friendly. We will tell our friends about the nice time we had here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This place is immaculate. . .probably the cleanest place I've ever stayed at. The location is also very good. You can walk to downtown in 5 minutes. I recommend just leaving the car in the parking lot of the motel. This way you do not have to worry about finding parking downtown. There are also passes to Chula Vista Indoor/Outdoor waterpark included in the price of the room. Can't beat this deal!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, mi
Top Contributor
654 reviews 654 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
217 helpful votes 217 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

When you say the word CHEAP it really has two meanings, and both apply here.

Definition one: Cheap means spending very little

Definition two: Cheap means low quality

I need to say upfront before you get scared away, there is real value to be had at this location. Included with the room rate are passes to the waterparks at Chula Vista and a free coupon book which normally costs $20. So, if you consider that with your room you are getting all these extras (which add up to more savings than the room will cost you in the off-season rates), this is a great deal.

You need to have the right mindset to enjoy these deals, however. If you are a diva and need everything just right, you will be miserable and hate this place. If you enjoy saving a boatload of money (such as extreme couponers) you will overlook the downsides.

What are the downsides of the room? Well there are a few but I can overlook these because of the great deal here.

First, the matress is very firm (I think my wife enjoyed this the least, it was ok for me)
Second the vanity cabinet (or lack thereof) is of extremely shoddy craftsmanship. Oh, I should mention that we got the handicap accessible room next to the owner's room. I figured out what happened here... the owner was too cheap to buy an expensive ADA lav. and tried to put together something that meets the legroom requirements. Yes, it is functional, but looks like Homer Simpson slapped this together.
Thirdly, the carpet is the world's thinnest with no pad, so that if you have a suitcase with wheels, it sounds like you are dragging it across bare plywood.
More features to consider: very small old tv, thin pillows, old chairs and drawers, very faint smell of tobacco smoke. No clothes hooks in the bathroom (for showering). Oh... this one is funny... the directions for using the shower are printed on the back of a festival flyer (yes.. they are THAT cheap!!!).


There's other good news here too. The rooms and bedding are clean. Everything seems to be functional. The location is excellant for visiting downtown and is easy to find. Good Wi-fi signal strength in room next to office.

Room Tip: Shower operation is very strange in the handicapped room, owner has directions posted, but if you ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

First of all the rooms have notbeen updated. When we asked about the updated rooms the lady told us they look just like the pictures on the website. Yes they do with 25 years of use and dirt. We did not walk on the carpets without our shoes because it was so dirty.T he walls were filthy and the blankets we at least 15 years old. I would not stay here again for free! look elsewhere there are so many more options, actually checked in next door even
though we already paid because i could not stay here another night!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
visit_starlite, General Manager at Starlite Motel, responded to this review, September 25, 2011
Dear Vegasbaby88,

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay at the Starlite Motel. First of all, the building that you stayed in was built in 1990. You incorrectly state that the rooms were updated in 1982. The rooms have been updated and look just like the picture on the website. The walls were painted in May 2011 and the blankets and bedspreads were replaced two years ago. The carpet and chairs were steam cleaned in June 2011. During the Labor Day weekend, we normally require a 2 night minimum stay. However, we were able to accommodate you for a one-night stay. You also received 4 Free Chula Vista Waterpark passes for your family, which were good for 2 days. Although we can’t please everyone, we certainly try our best. We have been family owned and operated since 1991 and pride ourselves in taking care of our guests and providing satisfaction and service with a smile.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Starlite Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starlite Motel

Also Known As:
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Motel Wisconsin Dells
Starlite Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Address: 727 Broadway, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells, across from Bowman Park. We have 36 newly remodeled rooms. We take pride in making your visit relaxing and enjoyable. Cancellation policy: 72 hours notice on standard rooms and 5 days notice on suites. Early checkouts subject to 72 hour notice. Complimentary coffee. Non-smoking rooms available. Cable TV, Outdoor heated pool, air conditioning/electric heat, adjoining rooms/family suites, queen/king size beds, jacuzzi rooms, free ice. Check in: 2:00 pm. Check out: 10:00 am. Refrigerators/microwaves/rollaway beds/cribs available upon request for $5-$10 per night. Casino shuttle available. All major credit cards accepted. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Starlite Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Starlite Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.