We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Lodge & Settlement to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year's Eve
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We just happened by this place by chance! Sure glad we did! Close to the hustle and bustle (if you want to be) or out in a quiet, peaceful setting! This place has everything you will need! Really enjoyed the fireplace and the outside deck with the view of the Wisconsin River. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. If we are in the area again, we will definitely stay at the Cedar Lodge. We were only there for two days but thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    57
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
173
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last year. We came to the dells this year but had friends staying at a diffrent hotel which was a disappointment. This Hotel is absolutely beautiful. We are thinking of just making a second trip up to Cedar Lodge. The whole time we were staying at the other place we kept saying, we wish we were here. Great views great location and super friendly staff!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

After researching several different hotels, motels, and restorts, we finally decided on Cedar Lodge. I stayed for 4 days in August 2013 and I must admit, this resort had by far exceeded my expectations! The fireplace villa I stayed in was exceptional! The fireplace, balcony w/ grill, amazing lake view, beach area, firepit, pool and sundeck, the woods, staff...everything was just right! I couldn't have asked for anything better and it was just what the doctor ordered....a nice, tranquil getaway. I live in Chicago so getting away from the everyday hustle and bustle of the city life was a great way to spend this vacation. It's nice to know that I can spend some a great time on the Dells waterpark and attractions strip and then come back to a quiet place to wind down. I simply couldn't have asked for anything better...seriously! I HIGHLY recommend this resort for your next stay! I'll definitely be back for another stay...probably longer next time. Stop reviewing resorts...this is the one you want!

Room Tip: A/C unit was rather loud if sitting on the balcony but you can turn that off if you'd rather not...
See more room tips
Green Features: Clean rooms and outdoor facilities. Pool area is kept clean, beach was clean, grass was clean.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights in August after researching several other "hotels" and was very happy with it. The room was much bigger than a hotel room and the queen/full bunk worked out great since we have 3 children. We actually stayed in the room some and enjoyed it. The rooms came with silverware, plates, coffee cups, and wine glasses. They also had a griddle, ice bucket, corkscrew, dishwashing liquid, and coffee maker. The beach was a big plus and my children enjoyed feeding the ducks by hand and roasting marshmallows over the campfire. There is also a small heated pool that our family had to ourselves one evening. It is close to nearby attractions and there is a restaurant also within walking distance. The rooms were very clean and the beach was also. My son tried the fishing but with no luck:( Our family wasn't too impressed with the waterpark tickets to Chula Vista. There were long lines for all of the indoor attractions and it was too cool to swim outside. We only went for a few hours one day and didn't return (at our kids' request). My only suggestion to Cedar Lodge would be to try to add a kitchenette to the rooms (w/sink and outlets) without raising the prices. It was very hard to wash dishes in the bathroom sink and difficult to cook with the griddle on the floor (without outlets near). A tip to vacationers: stay 5 nights and the price goes down per night considerably. I just hope that in the future, prices do not raise so that middle income families can still enjoy great places such as this. Cedar Lodge --Highly recommended for families!

Room Tip: All rooms in the lodge had some sort of deck overlooking the beach area. Cabins were across the roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having only stayed at waterpark property in the Dells..the Cedar Lodge was a refreshing change!
Located on the Wisconsin river, minutes away from all the attractions allowed for a relaxing, quiet stay.
Fireplace Villa #6 was very clean with a great "woods" decor. Partial covered balcony was quite large with picnic table, Weber gas grill and chairs. Amazing view of the river.
Clean sandy beach, pier to fish from or tie up your boat.
If you really need a waterpark fix, you will receive a wrist band to attend The Chula Vista indoor/outdoor park, along with coupons to use at various Dells attractions.
Definitely worh coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had at Cedar Lodge and Settlement! This resort has that "up north" feeling, yet you are only minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Wisconsin Dells.

The property includes a wide variety of room arrangements. There should be something to fit just about everyone's needs. Rooms are spacious and clean. The property has its own pool. There is a wonderful beach area on the Wisconsin River. We spent our afternoons relaxing in the Adirondack chairs by the water.

First floor units have their own gas grills right on their balconies. We were on the second floor, so we took advantage of the Weber grills and picnic tables down by the water for our cookout one of the nights of our stay. When our charcoal supply proved to be a little weak to finish the job, Chris, in the office, was kind enough to spare a handful of extra briquettes to complete the meal!

There is a pub and grill just a short walk up the beach, which is always a nice convenience.

Everyone working there was wonderful. When housekeeping wanted to clean our unit before we were ready to head out, they were very accommodating when asked to return later.

We were so glad we found this gem! Couldn't have been more pleased. This is a place to return to again and again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurnee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're looking for a place you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded waterparks, this is the place for you. The rooms are big and clean. Great views of the river. There is also large beach and greenspace for throwing bags and gathering in the evening around the firepit. We stayed for 2 nights from 7/19 - 7/21 while our son's baseball team was in town for a tournament and wish we would have booked more nights. We would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Address: E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge & Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.