We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Quiet, scenic and relaxing"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge & Settlement

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Antioch, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“"Quiet, scenic and relaxing"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Having only stayed at waterpark property in the Dells..the Cedar Lodge was a refreshing change!
Located on the Wisconsin river, minutes away from all the attractions allowed for a relaxing, quiet stay.
Fireplace Villa #6 was very clean with a great "woods" decor. Partial covered balcony was quite large with picnic table, Weber gas grill and chairs. Amazing view of the river.
Clean sandy beach, pier to fish from or tie up your boat.
If you really need a waterpark fix, you will receive a wrist band to attend The Chula Vista indoor/outdoor park, along with coupons to use at various Dells attractions.
Definitely worh coming back next year!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    288
    49
    13
    5
    1
See reviews for
160
115
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, WI
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

What a wonderful weekend we had at Cedar Lodge and Settlement! This resort has that "up north" feeling, yet you are only minutes away from the hustle and bustle of the Wisconsin Dells.

The property includes a wide variety of room arrangements. There should be something to fit just about everyone's needs. Rooms are spacious and clean. The property has its own pool. There is a wonderful beach area on the Wisconsin River. We spent our afternoons relaxing in the Adirondack chairs by the water.

First floor units have their own gas grills right on their balconies. We were on the second floor, so we took advantage of the Weber grills and picnic tables down by the water for our cookout one of the nights of our stay. When our charcoal supply proved to be a little weak to finish the job, Chris, in the office, was kind enough to spare a handful of extra briquettes to complete the meal!

There is a pub and grill just a short walk up the beach, which is always a nice convenience.

Everyone working there was wonderful. When housekeeping wanted to clean our unit before we were ready to head out, they were very accommodating when asked to return later.

We were so glad we found this gem! Couldn't have been more pleased. This is a place to return to again and again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurnee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you're looking for a place you can get away from the hustle and bustle of the crowded waterparks, this is the place for you. The rooms are big and clean. Great views of the river. There is also large beach and greenspace for throwing bags and gathering in the evening around the firepit. We stayed for 2 nights from 7/19 - 7/21 while our son's baseball team was in town for a tournament and wish we would have booked more nights. We would return here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freedom, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here with 4 other families. Our kids had a blast and the parents loved it as well. The location was QUIET, and less than 5 minutes from the main drag. We enjoyed fishing on the river, swimming in the pool, the bonfire and took advantage of the free Chula Vista waterpark passes. Two families split a 2 bedroom cabin with a full kitchen so we were able to make meals which was nice. Next year we plan to stay longer and take advantage of the boat rentals and grilling area more. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

The location of it wasn't perfect like a couple of the other reviews had said. And the staff there wasn't pleasant to talk to. They seemed like they didn't want to be there. ( I do however understand that it is a job and not many people like theirs.) I am not sure if I will be returning because it was a bit more pricey than it was worth.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The service here was excellent and very friendly (which is often hard to find in the Dells)! We rented cabin #27, which is on the end and across from the main lodge. Very convenient to everything (only a 5 minute ride to downtown) but removed from the hectic traffic and noise. A little piece of quiet in the heart of the Dells. The cabins are great for families. It may seem a little expensive, but when your traveling with 4+ people, it's less expensive than renting a hotel room and here you have your own house! Very clean and very friendly staff!

Room Tip: Cabin #27 is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review Cedar Lodge. Glad you enjoyed your time here. #27 is a beautiful cabin. Looks like you have traveled the world. Your review carries more weight than most and means a lot to us. We hope you made the trip home safely. Thanks again for staying at Cedar Lodge. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed here last year and loved it so we had to try it again. This trip we stayed in a 2 bedroom cabin which was beautiful. The staff, Chris, Angie and Maria (especially Maria) are wonderful people and go out of their way to make sure you are happy. They were a great help in finding fun things to do and steered us away from the "less popular" attractions. We had a few issues that were resolved in a professional manner and we couldn't have been happier. The beach and pool are nice. There is a resort right next door where we rented a pontoon from and loved that it was so close. They have a nightly bonfire. Everyone here makes you feel like family. We will be back next year and refer friends. If I had to say anything negative...the only thing I can think of is better lighting in the bedrooms. The benches/areas were we put our luggage were so poorly lit I had to keep moving the suitcase to the bed to find things. That is the ONLY thing. This is a highly recommended place to stay!!!

Room Tip: Choose a one or two bedroom cabin or the master villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thanks for reviewing us again. We're glad you enjoyed your most recent stay as much as the last. We love making suggestions and helping guests with ideas of fun things to do. Maria is wonderful and very knowledgeable about the local area. We will pass the lighting suggestion on to the owner. We look forward to your next stay with us. Till next time. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Address: E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge & Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Cedar Lodge & Settlement to your Saves list