We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect romantic getaway for a couple” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cedar Lodge & Settlement to your Saves list
Cedar Lodge & Settlement
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
New Year's Eve
Ranked #3 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Perfect romantic getaway for a couple”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the whirlpool suites for our honeymoon in June. We found Cedar Lodge thanks to it's already high rating on TripAdvisor. The staff was super friendly and very helpful offering ideas for the neat things that are usually missed when just looking through the main tourist attraction books, like Witches Gulch, and telling us about local restaurants that had great food. It was close enough to the main attractions, but far enough away that you really felt like you were getting away from it all. It was very quiet and relaxing. The guestbook in the suite is a neat touch...it's fun reading the stories (and warnings/recommendations about local businesses) of others who stayed there. The mattress could be a little bit more comfortable, but that was my only concern. We liked it so much that we're heading back in December for our 6 month anniversary.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, October 5, 2012
That’s a great review. It’s an honor to know you chose Cedar Lodge as the place to stay for your honeymoon. Thanks for the compliments of staff, location and atmosphere. Glad you had a chance to see Witches’ Gulch, it’s an amazing place. We love the pictures you posted on TA. We look forward to welcoming you back again in a couple months. The morning views of the river are breath taking in December. The bald eagles will be back again too. Thanks again for reviewing Cedar Lodge. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    57
    14
    6
    1
See reviews for
173
119
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

My September visit to Cedar Lodge was my second stay at this peaceful and relaxing settlement in the Dells. I drove up with my boyfriend and family from Chicago to enjoy a fun weekend and take advantage of the few remaining days of summer. Unit #28 "The Rats" was the perfect size for all of us, with 2 spacious bedrooms, 2 bathrooms and a loft with 2 twin beds for my nieces. We had all the comforts of home, with a full kitchen that we used to cook a delicious dinner on our first night in town and a dining room table that comfortably sat all 6 of us. The next night we took advantage of the cool weather and used the grill out front to cook up some steaks and eat on the porch patio set. Inside the cabin's living room is a huge leather sofa that guests can just melt into with a full stomach, and since we were traveling with men and it's football season, we took full advantage of the cable TV and big screen! (and warmed up with the fireplace later in the evening). Upstairs in the loft the kids were able to watch cartoons and play before bed, allowing some privacy for the adults downstairs. The beds were nice and comfortable to sleep on and each bedroom also had its own television. In addition to the many great amenities of the cabin itself, its location is extremely convenient. It's just minutes from the water parks and downtown and the lake is literally right behind the office. We took the short walk down to the lake beach where my nieces played in the water and chased the ducks while the adults sat and talked, enjoying the peaceful scenery. Having such a quiet, clean and comfortable place to stay allowed us to really enjoy our weekend away from the city and have the full Wisconsin Dells experience. This was my family's first time visiting the state and they thought the area was just beautiful. Not to mention how friendly and accommodating the staff was - any time we needed something, they had it. I highly recommend this community if you are looking for something that offers more of an at-home type of feel over the traditional hotel. Cedar Lodge is a fantastic place to stay and I plan to go back next summer =)

Room Tip: Book Unit #28 if traveling with a group, multiple couples or a larger family - it's nice and spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Thanks for sharing your experience at Cedar Lodge. Unit #28 is a great cabin to stay in with family. The owners have done a really nice job updating the cabin with new appliances, beds, flooring and TVs. #28 is a very popular cabin and for good reasons. So glad you were able to be comfortable and enjoy the peace and quiet with your family and still be able to go in to town and enjoy everything the Dells has to offer. The Dells is beautiful and a great way to make a good first impression of Wisconsin. Thanks for staying with us again and bringing your family. We look forward to seeing you again next summer. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, South Dakota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

As a couple without kids it was just what we needed/wanted! Close to everything, yet far enough out of the hussle and bussle! But if we had kids, free passes to waterpark! Beautiful lodge and rooms. Definitely would go again.

Room Tip: We had unit with microwave and fridge...but some have full kitchens and grills on the decks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thanks for the short and sweet review. Cedar Lodge is definitely peaceful and off the beaten path. Glad to read your stay was what you needed/wanted. We would love to welcome you back again in the future. Chris & Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
omaha
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We found Cedar Lodge on Tripadvisor and chose to stay here rather than the Holiday Inn, even though I am priority club platinum level. Very peaceful. Staff was so friendly. We stayed in 21- we managed to grab the last hot tub room :). I only saw one complaint online here and it was about an odd smell in the room that someone thought was must and mildew. I think it was possibly a carpet fresh scent that was sprinkled on when vacuuming. It went away after the first day. Nothing was dirty or musty- everything was crisp and clean. The lodge was quiet and gave us just what we needed. I love the fact that we didn't even have to unpack our soaps and undo the pump on the shampoo and conditioners (messy) because they provide a full dispenser for you. It truly is the little things that people do that make the vacation. Whoever came in and cleaned when we were out and about made the beds and took the time to fold my six year old's 'blankey' into a tinier bed on top of her comforter and tucked her pink poodle inside. She was so excited when she saw that- thank you!. Our deck overlooked the water and was so relaxing and beautiful. We will definately stay here the next time we are in town. So glad we found you!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We really appreciate you choosing to stay at Cedar Lodge. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Looks like you do a lot of travelling and are quite experienced when it comes to accommodations. I shared your review with the staff- you made everyone’s day. Michelle did your make, her daughter has a similar stuffed animal and she knows how much kids love them. We decided to go with the soap dispensers to save on waste and use less plastic. Glad you enjoyed them and appreciate the little things. We're really glad you found us too- It was a pleasure to have you here. See you the next time you’re in town. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our kitchenette room was beautiful. Very large, Nice fireplace, log furniture, patio overlooking the lake, comfortable beds, refrigerator, cooktop, microwave. The shower was great, it had a spa type shower head, soap and shampoo dispensers. After a long day, a nice shower means a lot.
We loved it and highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Glad you loved your stay here at Cedar Lodge. Appreciate you taking the time to review the resort. It was a pleasure to have great people like yourselves here this last weekend. Thanks for the kind words and detailed description of the accommodations. The kitchenette is a great unit with an amazing view. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Comfortable, clean and spacious accomodations. Staff was very nice and informative. Will definitely look at bringing our whole family here for a vacation next summer! :) Great place to stay. Off the "beat and path" but close to all the action, shopping and entertainment, if you need a filler for your vacation. I cannot say enough about the georgeous views and beach along the Wisconsin River! Thanks for a great weekend! :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
You’re Welcome! Thanks for taking the time to write this review. Next year when you come to stay again- I would recommend a Master Villa. It will have a full kitchen, two bathrooms with whirlpool tub and a large deck with gas grill overlooking the beach, bonfire and river. It’s a great unit for families- clean, comfy, private and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back again next year and meeting the rest of your family. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I loved going to Wisconsin as a kid and now my family has found a new place to stay every time we come back! Right by the beach, close but away from the Dells craziness, clean, friendly, awesome place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dellmanager, Manager at Cedar Lodge & Settlement, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Glad your family chose Cedar Lodge as your place to stay when you come to the Dells. We think this place is pretty awesome too. I imagine quite a few people have great childhood memories of the Dells- I know I do. Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We hope to see you and your family again soon. Chris-
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cedar Lodge & Settlement? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cedar Lodge & Settlement

Address: E 11232 Hillside Dr., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cedar Lodge & Settlement 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Wisconsin River on the Lower Dells. Close to attractions, yet quiet and secluded. Relax and unwind in the summer with nightly bonfires along 400 ft. of sandy beach. Admire the Bald Eagles in the winter. Beautiful, clean riverview log units and friendly staff invite you and your family to make memories that will last a lifetime. Free water park passes included year round for every registered guest. Discount book and splash pass included with every reservation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Cedar Lodge & Settlement reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cedar Lodge & Settlement Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Lodge And Settlement
Cedar Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Cedar Hotel Settlement

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cedar Lodge & Settlement, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.