We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Quiet, and Comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alakai Hotel and Suites

Save Saved
You added Alakai Hotel and Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alakai Hotel and Suites
1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Chicago
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Clean, Quiet, and Comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is our third trip to the Dells and our first stay at the Alakai Hotel. I found this hotel to be distinctively different from the others in the Dells. For one I definitely found it to be a lot more cleanly than the others. It was nice to get away from those Waterpark hotels we were used to and finally just relax and enjoy our trip. We definitely make Alakai our choice of Hotel for our next visits to the Dells.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    28
    8
    9
    19
See reviews for
82
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2010

Our cozy trip to the dells was fulfilled by the comfortable stay at the Alakai. Kids had a blast, the slides were perfect for our little guys to play on. Standard room was fine for us because of our tight budget now-a-days. Great little weekend getaway..Thanks so much!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

The rooms were clean and had no smells. Pillows were comfy. Bed was a little hard. Its in a good location near the interstate exit but nice restaurants. Felt it was a bit expensive for not being a major resort. Its def. a very nice middle style resort. The 2 year old did have lots of fun in their indoor pool area with the toddler area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

you need to BYO (bring your own) on several items. This was our first trip to this hotel. It is off the beaten path for the Dells, which is nice. It is close to the Great Wolf Lodge and Kalaharia.
Alakia does not have anytype of hotel dining on it's property. However several fast food chains are within walking distance from the hotel (Culvers, Mc Donalds, etc). A couple of attractions are near by Knuckleheads amusement area for one.

This hotel is nice & clean. The staff was friendly, family owned. You will need to BYO, beach towels (otherwise you use the small in room towels), beach toys are allowed, however not the kind that absorb water, no blow dryer, no clothing iron. You cannot have any food in the indoor pool area. If the kids section of both the outdoor & indoor pool are not on, just ask the front desk to turn them on. The indoor pool is only 5 ft deep, the outdoor, I believe was consistanly 3 -4 foot deep. The outdoor pool is geared strictly for children, has a few slide & basketball hoop, lots of fun. The indoor pool, has half side for small children (geared for 6 & under), the other half open swim, again 5 ft deep. Regarding the rooms: Our standard 2 queen bed room did have a refridge & microwave (which was nice), and small TV. It was overall clean & comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

We stayed one night in April 2010. We were really surprised with the quality and cleanliness of the hotel. After reading reviews here, I still wasn't sure but booked it anyway. The place was quiet, clean and pleasant. I wouldn't go to Alakai just for the pool, which is very small. But my young children loved it. I wouldn't stay there for a water park adventure without tickets to Noah's Ark or Mt. Olympus

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

What a great hotel!!! I can't say enough about how clean the rooms, lobby, and pool area was...SUPERB! The staff were so friendly and helpful. We loved every minute of that hotel because it felt like our second home. We are definitely returning soon!!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh,WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have been going to this hotel on a regular basis to celebrate Christmas with my children and grandchildren. With all the "Super large " waterpark hotels in the near vicinity, our choice and my granchildren's choice has been the Alakai. There are two pools indoor for the very young and adult, with usual amenities (hot tub, sauna, etc.). Rooms are well maintained, spotless, and guests are treated as family.

In an area where these mega waterparks are charging sometimes hundreds of dollars per night, the Alakai is the best value at a fraction of the price. We also enjoy running away from home a couple of other times during the year with friends as a get-away.

If you are looking for a great stay, friendly atmosphere, great location to other attractions, and priced for every income, give the Alakai Hotel in Wisconsin Dells / Lake Delton area a try!

Sincerely,

Brian Bradley
Oshkosh, WI

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Alakai Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alakai Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.