We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alakai Hotel and Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alakai Hotel and Suites
1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Oshkosh,WI
1 review
“Best value in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2010

We have been going to this hotel on a regular basis to celebrate Christmas with my children and grandchildren. With all the "Super large " waterpark hotels in the near vicinity, our choice and my granchildren's choice has been the Alakai. There are two pools indoor for the very young and adult, with usual amenities (hot tub, sauna, etc.). Rooms are well maintained, spotless, and guests are treated as family.

In an area where these mega waterparks are charging sometimes hundreds of dollars per night, the Alakai is the best value at a fraction of the price. We also enjoy running away from home a couple of other times during the year with friends as a get-away.

If you are looking for a great stay, friendly atmosphere, great location to other attractions, and priced for every income, give the Alakai Hotel in Wisconsin Dells / Lake Delton area a try!

Sincerely,

Brian Bradley
Oshkosh, WI

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    8
    9
    17
See reviews for
76
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Family owned hotel, great service, very friendly. Nice pool area for younger children and adults. Relaxing being away from the big water parks. Rooms and entire hotel are very clean.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaCrescent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2009

The Alakai is a great hotel to stay at in the Dells. The rooms are exceptioally clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The location is great for the things we enjoy doing. We've stayed at other places in the past but the Alakai by far offers the best value, cleanest rooms, and friendliest staff.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

I've stayed here twice now with my wife this summer and the service is excellent. This is by far the cleanest hotel we've stayed at in the dells. The hotel is comfortable and we've always felt welcome there. You have to go there to appreciate it. Love it, and will come back shortly after Labor Day!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Chicago
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2009

We thought it was priced ok, because of the Mount Oympic passes, Placed looked alright,well kept, clean, I got up in the early in the morning to use the bathroom and their it was a Cock Roach, I killed it, told the front desk they didnt seem that worried so i woke everyone up, we shook all are clothes out and left.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

We (husband, wife, 9 and 6 year old daughters) planned a last minute getaway to the Wisconsin Dells and decided on this hotel because they were offering a Mt. Olympus Theme and Waterpark package at the time of our stay. The tickets to Mt. Olympus alone would have been more than our hotel room for our family. I was a little concerned after seeing some of the pictures on the Internet that the rooms would be worn and dated, but they were not. The room and the common areas of the hotel were very clean and well maintained. While the hotel is certainly not a brand new mega-resort, it is a very clean and very well maintained hotel. A few things lacking in the rooms which people have come to expect are a coffee maker (coffee is available in the lobby in the morning), hair dryer and iron/ironing board. The indoor and outdoor pool areas were very clean and the chairs were comfortable, however, you do need to bring your own beach towels. This hotel does not have a large waterpark like many of the resorts in the area, but the indoor and outdoor pool areas do each have a few small/medium size slides -- the kids enjoyed them and I especially enjoyed that I was able to sit in one spot and see them the entire time -- the family was able to get their "fix" of large waterslides and rides at Mt. Olympus and relax in the evening when we came back to the hotel. There are some restaurants (local and chain) and shops (local and an outlet mall) within walking distance of the hotel, but you do have a short drive to get to the downtown/tourist area. We ate at a few local restaurants during our stay and I would recommend any of them (The Brat House, Monk's, Buffalo Phil's, Paul Bunyan's). The only place we ate that I would not recommend was the Pizza Pub -- it wasn't terrible, but there are surely better options. We also took a Dells Boat Tour of the Upper Dells -- we would highly recommend this. The only other comment I would make, based on some of the other comments was that all of the staff we encountered at the hotel was very friendly. The same lady was at the front desk our entire visit and she always greeted us with kind words and a smile, even when we were just passing by.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2009

This hotel was wonderful. Nothing was bad about it. I went with two children: a 16 year old and a 14 year old and they had an excellent time as well as I. The hotel was clean, the pools were fun, and the service was great! The people at the front desk were very nice and inviting. The place was just wonderful and we are going back next year! The staff saw that my daughter was in the pool, and turned on the sprinklers for her. Everything was just wonderful. It's great for all ages!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alakai Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alakai Hotel and Suites

Address: 1030 Wisconsin Dells Pkwy., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#19 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Alakai Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alakai Hotel and Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alakai Hotel and Suites to your Saves list