We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean rooms, great price, well kept grounds.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean rooms, great price, well kept grounds.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The only bad thing I could say is that I wish they would have small fridges and microwaves in the room. The pool and lawns are cared for with pretty flowers. Walking distance to bars and places to eat. We just stayed a night but it was very pleasant and the owners were really friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
11
19
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

The worst Service I could ever experience, receptionist is extremely rude and unpleasant, would never go there, they screaming at their clients and disrespect them,when you coming to Wisconsin to get a nice vacation in a great mood that's the place where they can make your vacation a disaster, please I highly recommend do not stay there,thank you

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

The owners are friendly and care about their property. I usually don't write reviews but the owners are so nice I felt the need. No this place isn't the Hilton but it is clean and they take care of their property and cheaper then Hilton! I found my go to motel when going to the dells now. I like how close they are to the downtown attractions. they don't have a mini fridge so bring a cooler is my recommendation

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

We reserved 10 rooms a year ago, when we checked in, rooms were spread out throughout whole hotel, would have been nice to be all together. TV was at least 20 yrs old, no blow dryer, no clock/alarm, no refrigerator. They charge $.25 for ice and then yell at you if you take more than a small amount because there is not enough for another guests. Had to buy a cooler, a blow dryer and ice for our 4 day stay. Shower water temp wouldn't stay temp, either freezing or hot, fan in bathroom didn't work. Carpet was DISGUSTING walked on it after shower for 10mins and my feet were BLACK! We used a couple towels to lay over our Harley seat while it rained and the owner yelled at us, could have just asked us not to use it. They wouldn't give us extra towels for the pool, we had to switch out for new ones. Owner stated that they don't make upgrades because that cost comes out of their pocket. Maybe they shouldn't own a business then. Overall a terrible experience and our group will not be coming back again next year. For the price we can easily something better.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winterset, Iowa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I've stayed here I think 3 times in the last 6 or so years. The place is very consistent and predictable (in a good way) It is probably one of the older motels in the Dells but everything works and the owner's are helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mills, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have stayed multiple times at this quaint motel that is close to downtown Wisconsin Dells. We have always been pleased and have found our stays totally satisfying. The rooms are always clean and the owners totally focused on satisfying your every need. Recommend highly if you are looking for reasonably priced motel that you will not be unsatisfied with your stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Richmond, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were over priced for what they are at $90 a Mondayvv night. Old carpet, old tv, old everything. Manager actually cleaned poolwhile we were in it and asked us why it was so dirty and tried to say we were swimming in lake and that's why it was dirty. Ten am check out is too early for $90. It was my daughters tenth b day and she woke up wanting to swim, but no one uncovered it from the Night before so there was no swimming in the morning. Just over all not good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.