We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice motel for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 75 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice motel for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for a few nights during the week. The room was was a bit dated, but clean and the air conditioning worked very well. The owners were very attentive, and gave use suggestions for places to eat. They also gave us a "passport" book that saved us about $75 in total on the attractions we did. We were able to walk to our dinner cruise and the jet boat tours from the room. Woud definitely suggest this motel if you are looking for a simple and reasonably priced place to stay that is close to the action.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
10
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waukesha, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

What a lovely motel off of Broadway. We own a family business and appreciate independently owned and operated establishments, you can see the pride here. Very clean, convenient, away from all the noise....just perfect! Will return when the next opportunity arrives.

Room Tip: Ideal layout of all rooms, cozy and quaint, reminded me of Door County.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagan, Minnesota
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We looked for a place close to downtown for easy parking and walking around. It is that. We were also assured by the AAA sign. The owners were also very nice and check in was easy. Unfortunately, the hotel lacks many amenities that I would normally expect--such as shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The TV was about 14 inches--I thought it was a computer monitor at first. It was not connected to the digital cable channels since it was apparently a new unit. The beds were not comfortable. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family stays at Gables twice a year. With our kid`s and grandkids in June and again in September for the Wo-Zha-Wa Days celebration. Gables is only 1 block from downtown so we park our cars and walk .Glen and Helen are your hosts and you could`nt ask for nicer and more accommodating people, plus the rooms are very clean also!! We highly recommend Gables Motel for your next trip to Wiscosin Dells!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked staying there but not on a weekend cause alot of young people go to motels on weekends to party loudly at the motel. Thats all they do is party at the motel too. I was on a pleasure tour of wisconsin dells seeing the wisconsin ducks boats and doing other stuff like jet boating but when I retired for the night it got loud with alot of shouting. We told management that their was a party with alot of friends who were not staying at motel. They tryed to calm things down but I wish i was refunded for that one saturday night when I got no sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats as close to the managers office cause it probadly woluld not be so loud their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but it is a comfortable and clean place to stay. It is cheap (by comparison), has an outdoor pool and is right downtown so you can walk to the shopping, restaurants and bars. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the off-season, and had a nice experience. Owners were very nice, the rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. We stayed in October for a Badger Football game. It was worth the drive to Madtown instead of paying 4 times for a Hotelin madtown. The motel was in the heart of Downtown Dells close to the bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Also Known As:
Gables Hotel
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list