We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Hotel Not So Great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Eagan, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Hotel Not So Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We looked for a place close to downtown for easy parking and walking around. It is that. We were also assured by the AAA sign. The owners were also very nice and check in was easy. Unfortunately, the hotel lacks many amenities that I would normally expect--such as shampoo, hair dryer, etc. The TV was about 14 inches--I thought it was a computer monitor at first. It was not connected to the digital cable channels since it was apparently a new unit. The beds were not comfortable. I would not stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Erie, Illinois, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family stays at Gables twice a year. With our kid`s and grandkids in June and again in September for the Wo-Zha-Wa Days celebration. Gables is only 1 block from downtown so we park our cars and walk .Glen and Helen are your hosts and you could`nt ask for nicer and more accommodating people, plus the rooms are very clean also!! We highly recommend Gables Motel for your next trip to Wiscosin Dells!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Allis
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked staying there but not on a weekend cause alot of young people go to motels on weekends to party loudly at the motel. Thats all they do is party at the motel too. I was on a pleasure tour of wisconsin dells seeing the wisconsin ducks boats and doing other stuff like jet boating but when I retired for the night it got loud with alot of shouting. We told management that their was a party with alot of friends who were not staying at motel. They tryed to calm things down but I wish i was refunded for that one saturday night when I got no sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats as close to the managers office cause it probadly woluld not be so loud their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but it is a comfortable and clean place to stay. It is cheap (by comparison), has an outdoor pool and is right downtown so you can walk to the shopping, restaurants and bars. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the off-season, and had a nice experience. Owners were very nice, the rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. We stayed in October for a Badger Football game. It was worth the drive to Madtown instead of paying 4 times for a Hotelin madtown. The motel was in the heart of Downtown Dells close to the bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on a two night romantic getaway. It's a nice little motel in downtown Dells. Right in the middle of downtown, plenty of bars, food and things to do are close by. Price is fantastic. Owners were helpfull with any questions and rooms were clean and quaint. It isn't an upscale hotel by any means, but if your hotel isn't your "destination", this is perfect. We were able to walk to bars and up and down the strip very easily.

Only con on sleep quality was the same as with alot of places: Complete blackout curtains for sleeping is a must!! Not just at night but for those lazy midday naps. Otherwise we had a great time and we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What is there not to like about this old school motel situated right in the heart of the Dells. Accommodations are basic but appear to be somewhat updated and rooms are impeccably clean. They have a large outdoor pool and free morning coffee. The owners are very friendly and I believe they live on the property as they were very attentive at all hours. Only little oddity was you pay for ice in the office; a quarter for a bucket. I guess it is a way to be sure guests don’t fill their coolers? We stayed here a few years ago for the Wo Zha Wa Festival and did the same again this year, so obviously a place we would return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.