We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gables Motel is the best !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Erie, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gables Motel is the best !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Our family stays at Gables twice a year. With our kid`s and grandkids in June and again in September for the Wo-Zha-Wa Days celebration. Gables is only 1 block from downtown so we park our cars and walk .Glen and Helen are your hosts and you could`nt ask for nicer and more accommodating people, plus the rooms are very clean also!! We highly recommend Gables Motel for your next trip to Wiscosin Dells!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 48mimi_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
West Allis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked staying there but not on a weekend cause alot of young people go to motels on weekends to party loudly at the motel. Thats all they do is party at the motel too. I was on a pleasure tour of wisconsin dells seeing the wisconsin ducks boats and doing other stuff like jet boating but when I retired for the night it got loud with alot of shouting. We told management that their was a party with alot of friends who were not staying at motel. They tryed to calm things down but I wish i was refunded for that one saturday night when I got no sleep.

Room Tip: Choose a room thats as close to the managers office cause it probadly woluld not be so loud their fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peacet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel is not fancy, but it is a comfortable and clean place to stay. It is cheap (by comparison), has an outdoor pool and is right downtown so you can walk to the shopping, restaurants and bars. I love it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn Center, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed in the off-season, and had a nice experience. Owners were very nice, the rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. We stayed in October for a Badger Football game. It was worth the drive to Madtown instead of paying 4 times for a Hotelin madtown. The motel was in the heart of Downtown Dells close to the bars & restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uwlbeat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on a two night romantic getaway. It's a nice little motel in downtown Dells. Right in the middle of downtown, plenty of bars, food and things to do are close by. Price is fantastic. Owners were helpfull with any questions and rooms were clean and quaint. It isn't an upscale hotel by any means, but if your hotel isn't your "destination", this is perfect. We were able to walk to bars and up and down the strip very easily.

Only con on sleep quality was the same as with alot of places: Complete blackout curtains for sleeping is a must!! Not just at night but for those lazy midday naps. Otherwise we had a great time and we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kenosha2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What is there not to like about this old school motel situated right in the heart of the Dells. Accommodations are basic but appear to be somewhat updated and rooms are impeccably clean. They have a large outdoor pool and free morning coffee. The owners are very friendly and I believe they live on the property as they were very attentive at all hours. Only little oddity was you pay for ice in the office; a quarter for a bucket. I guess it is a way to be sure guests don’t fill their coolers? We stayed here a few years ago for the Wo Zha Wa Festival and did the same again this year, so obviously a place we would return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_Chi_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a bargain. It is Very Clean and convienent to all things in downtown Wisc. Dells and the River Walk. Owners & staff were helpful in explaining how to get the best deals on boat rides and shows. The hotel has a nice pool, it does not have a lot of other amenities, but you won't need them, there are many restaurants and and other things to do, just a block away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GotToSeaIt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#45 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#27 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Deer Trail Motel
#6 of 20 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Motel
Colonial Motel
#9 of 17 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 60 reviews
1.3 mi away
Super 8 Wisconsin Dells
Super 8 Wisconsin Dells
#51 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing