We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, price!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 72 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great location, price!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here on a two night romantic getaway. It's a nice little motel in downtown Dells. Right in the middle of downtown, plenty of bars, food and things to do are close by. Price is fantastic. Owners were helpfull with any questions and rooms were clean and quaint. It isn't an upscale hotel by any means, but if your hotel isn't your "destination", this is perfect. We were able to walk to bars and up and down the strip very easily.

Only con on sleep quality was the same as with alot of places: Complete blackout curtains for sleeping is a must!! Not just at night but for those lazy midday naps. Otherwise we had a great time and we'll stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    17
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
21
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

What is there not to like about this old school motel situated right in the heart of the Dells. Accommodations are basic but appear to be somewhat updated and rooms are impeccably clean. They have a large outdoor pool and free morning coffee. The owners are very friendly and I believe they live on the property as they were very attentive at all hours. Only little oddity was you pay for ice in the office; a quarter for a bucket. I guess it is a way to be sure guests don’t fill their coolers? We stayed here a few years ago for the Wo Zha Wa Festival and did the same again this year, so obviously a place we would return to in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a bargain. It is Very Clean and convienent to all things in downtown Wisc. Dells and the River Walk. Owners & staff were helpful in explaining how to get the best deals on boat rides and shows. The hotel has a nice pool, it does not have a lot of other amenities, but you won't need them, there are many restaurants and and other things to do, just a block away.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed at The Gables for a couple of days last week and, as always, had a wonderful time. Their pool is a great place to lounge, the rooms are affordable, clean and spacious. The location can't be beat! It sits just a few yards from the center of the downtown River District with all it's shops, restaurants, and bars. We just park the car when we check in and walk everywhere. We also stay during the off season for Dells On Tap (October) and Automotion (May).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafton, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I along with friends stay at The Gables at least twice a year. We just LOVE it here. The owners are very hands on and the most friendly people you can meet. The rooms are sparse, but comfortable. There are AC units in each of the rooms and if you go in cold weather, there is a heater. Small T.V.s are in the room, but really, how much television are you really going to be watching?

The pool is fantastic and as others have said, usually not busy. 1 block from downtown and within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants.

We are planning on staying at The Gables next month and again for Labor Day. :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

The Gables Motel in the WISCONSIN DELLS this last week was very enjoyable. The motel is very well maintained and the staff was all very nice. The pool was clean and the temperature was perfect especially since the air temp was over 95! The motel is located 1 block from the downtown area.
There were 2 downfalls, the beds were not very comfortable and the rooms need a coffee maker(for early risers, the office doesn't open till 7:30) and a hair dryer, so bring your own.
Overall it is a great value and a very nice place to stay if you're not in need of water rides.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool, there are 2 floors, the rooms facing south are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were booked into Christmas Mountain resort for 4 days, and decided we wanted to explore the dells a little longer. We could not get back in at the resort for 3 days, so we found this mom and pop motel. Immaculate, comfy beds, great host, great price. No amenities, such as hair dryer or coffee pot, but for the price......who cares. It is one block from Downtown Dells shopping. I will definately go back.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms,and they were all the same, but immaculate. I don't think you would have to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gables Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.