We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We LOVE The Gables!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“We LOVE The Gables!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

My husband and I along with friends stay at The Gables at least twice a year. We just LOVE it here. The owners are very hands on and the most friendly people you can meet. The rooms are sparse, but comfortable. There are AC units in each of the rooms and if you go in cold weather, there is a heater. Small T.V.s are in the room, but really, how much television are you really going to be watching?

The pool is fantastic and as others have said, usually not busy. 1 block from downtown and within easy walking distance to the bars and restaurants.

We are planning on staying at The Gables next month and again for Labor Day. :-)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kenosha, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The Gables Motel in the WISCONSIN DELLS this last week was very enjoyable. The motel is very well maintained and the staff was all very nice. The pool was clean and the temperature was perfect especially since the air temp was over 95! The motel is located 1 block from the downtown area.
There were 2 downfalls, the beds were not very comfortable and the rooms need a coffee maker(for early risers, the office doesn't open till 7:30) and a hair dryer, so bring your own.
Overall it is a great value and a very nice place to stay if you're not in need of water rides.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the pool, there are 2 floors, the rooms facing south are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DanandI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We were booked into Christmas Mountain resort for 4 days, and decided we wanted to explore the dells a little longer. We could not get back in at the resort for 3 days, so we found this mom and pop motel. Immaculate, comfy beds, great host, great price. No amenities, such as hair dryer or coffee pot, but for the price......who cares. It is one block from Downtown Dells shopping. I will definately go back.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms,and they were all the same, but immaculate. I don't think you would have to do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

First off nothing fancy about the Gables. It is very clean and tidy. The pool is always clean and warm with not to many screaming kids. My wife and I have stayed here several times and it has always been a good place to stay. Great spot walking distance to all of down town. Near to the Raildog caboose stop in you will get a good hot dog and a few stories for the owner. Will stay at the Gables again. The staff is really very helpful. Gave us some great coupons to the more popular attractions. So much of the Dells is changing not really to my liking but the Gables has remained the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June. The motel is older but very clean and well maintained. Less than one block from downtown. Pool was clean and warm. Helpful staff. Was a little noisy at night but I think you are going to find that with any Motel where you have people parking and walking right outside your door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiponELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was a very nice motel so close to shopping and restaurants! We stayed with our 2 young boys and they had so much fun! The weather really did not cooperate with us for swimming, but we still tried (heated pool), and the kids loved it! The friendliness and service was outstanding also! Made you feel right at home. We will defiantly stay there again when we get to go back to the dells! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Gables is in a great location. Right in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. It's walking distance to some good restaurants and bars. The pool at the Gables is great, very clean and they plant a ton of flowers in the summer time so it looks really pretty. The rooms are very simple so if you are expecting something upscale this is not the place for you. We stopped in the Dells on a motorcycle trip so it was a perfect place to drop our stuff off and go. The rooms are very clean but the beds are firm which was a strain on my back. I would stop by again for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogirl537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#45 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#27 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#55 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#24 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#17 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing