We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to rest your head in the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gables Motel

Gables Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wisconsin Dells
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gables Motel
Save
You added Gables Motel to your Saves list
822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Monticello, Minnesota
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great place to rest your head in the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

First off nothing fancy about the Gables. It is very clean and tidy. The pool is always clean and warm with not to many screaming kids. My wife and I have stayed here several times and it has always been a good place to stay. Great spot walking distance to all of down town. Near to the Raildog caboose stop in you will get a good hot dog and a few stories for the owner. Will stay at the Gables again. The staff is really very helpful. Gave us some great coupons to the more popular attractions. So much of the Dells is changing not really to my liking but the Gables has remained the same.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottyTravels1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ripon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed here for one night in June. The motel is older but very clean and well maintained. Less than one block from downtown. Pool was clean and warm. Helpful staff. Was a little noisy at night but I think you are going to find that with any Motel where you have people parking and walking right outside your door.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RiponELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigerton, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Was a very nice motel so close to shopping and restaurants! We stayed with our 2 young boys and they had so much fun! The weather really did not cooperate with us for swimming, but we still tried (heated pool), and the kids loved it! The friendliness and service was outstanding also! Made you feel right at home. We will defiantly stay there again when we get to go back to the dells! :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rnagraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The Gables is in a great location. Right in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. It's walking distance to some good restaurants and bars. The pool at the Gables is great, very clean and they plant a ton of flowers in the summer time so it looks really pretty. The rooms are very simple so if you are expecting something upscale this is not the place for you. We stopped in the Dells on a motorcycle trip so it was a perfect place to drop our stuff off and go. The rooms are very clean but the beds are firm which was a strain on my back. I would stop by again for a weekend.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chicagogirl537
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winthrop Harbor, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

This is an older motel property in the heart of downtown Wisconsin Dells. Very clean rooms and the motel is kept up very well. It has a nice, heated pool that was never too crowded. The mattresses were not the most comfortable (plastic covered, and no fitted bottom sheet) and the TV was tiny, but that is honestly the only negatives I can say about this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EziliGede23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McGregor, Minnesota
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2010

I liked:
1) The location was great. Within walking distance of everything downtown making barhopping a breeze but not too far to drive to do things on the strip all day.
2) The pool was virtually empty. There were only a few adults out there each day we stayed which is great when you don't feel like dealing with a pool full of screaming kids.
3) The rooms were clean and comfortable. We paid $230.81 for 3 nights. Good deal.

My only dislikes:
1) Our neighbors who came on the last day were loud and thought sitting on the stoop with their door propped open was a cool thing to do.
2) No clock or hairdryer in the room which is definately not a deal breaker but was kind of unhandy.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice Lake
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2010

This motel is a great location. Walk a few steps and you are downtown Wisconsin Dells. The rooms are clean but definately motel like with small t.v. and doors that open to the outside. But the price is great and the location is everything. If you want a fun night out and no cab fare this is the place to saty.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzakrzewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
1.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin Dells
Baymont Inn & Suites Wisconsin D...
#44 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#4 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 694 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Polynesian Resort Hotel
Polynesian Resort Hotel
#56 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
3.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.1 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#25 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
River Road Motel
River Road Motel
#29 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gables Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gables Motel

Address: 822 Oak St., Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Gables Motel Wisconsin Dells
Gables Hotel Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing