We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - Top Notch Service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #2 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great hotel - Top Notch Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

This review is a little late but better late than never. My husband and I stayed at the Black Hawk for our anniversary. We've been to the Dells many times - this hotel was our favorite by far.

What we liked about this place -

Size - smaller than the "Mega" resorts on strip. Has a charm about it.
Clean - Very clean rooms with somewhat updated decor. The new matresses are awesome too!
Location - You can walk from the hotel to get to all the downtown action. Saves from having to find a parking spot and quarters for the meters.
Staff - Very friendly and welcoming. Also, quite accomodating. We arrived early to do the Zip line tour and they let us check in early and drop our bags off so we didn't have to drag all that to the tour.
Price - Very reasonable, especially since we were there in "high" season.

For us, there wasn't anything we didn't like about this place. If you are looking for something with indoor waterpark, etc. this isn't it but it does have a pool and is still close to everything you'd want to do in the Dells.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments! We hope to accommodate you again in the near future. New this year with each room reserved, guests will receive a newer and better Free Dells Fun Card. It's a buy one get one free discount card for area attractions and restaurants, a great savings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    696
    155
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
470
251
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Williamston, Michigan
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2010

This was a nice motel with extremely clean rooms. It is located just outside of downtown so it is quiet enough that the sleep quality was very good. It has a nice pool with a water slide and whirlpool.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Larslent,
Thank you for your comments! We hope you can return soon and enjoy our heated outdoor pool and perhaps take a dive off the diving board...one of the few diving boards still remaining in the Wisconsin Dells area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2010

We have stayed at Black Hawk Motel for many years in early June. It is a great hotel if you are looking for good matresses! We have tried many hotels in the Dells area and these are the most comfortable matresses we have found. We are a family with 6 children so we need a bigger room. The Black Hawk has a room with a seperate bedroom with 2 beds and a room with 1 bed. This is nice for us. They also have a larger room with 4 beds but it has been rented every time we came. The pool is nice and close to the rooms. The hot tub in the seperate room is very hot. It is a nice relaxing Motel away from the busyness of the main strip. The free golf was a great perk this year for my husband..

Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Thank you for your comments, we hope to accommodate you and your family again in the near future. We'll be offering the free unlimited par three golf again this year for all registered guests. The course is Pinecrest Par 3 Golf, just a short 3 mile drive out of town. Last summer we had many positive comments about this course, although it's a short course, we heard that the greens are quite a challenge, a good way to work on your short game.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

Like most others, I was suprised that the rooms were actually quite decent and even kind of nice for the price. That said, I am suprised as well that the hotel is rated #1 for Wisconsin Dells. It is definitely not a #1 hotel, but my guess is that the value is close to #1. I was a bit nervous driving into the motel as it looks run down and a bit sketchy. The room was suprisingly nice however. Being that you go to Wisconsin Dells to spend time at the parks and other things, I think it is a great place to stay. Like I said, the rooms are pretty great, especially for the price, as long as you don't mind the rest of the premise. I ranked the hotel 3/5 only with hesitation from the lobby, pool, other guests, but as far as value, it is a 5/5.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thanks for your comments, we're glad that you were surprised while staying with us. We always try to remodel rooms each year from floor to ceiling and have plans in the near future to do a major remodel on our front building close to the road. These are some of our budget rooms and the first building that people see when getting off the highway, however they are just as clean as all of our rooms and have all the amentiies and the Sealy Encore Plush beds. Tripadvisor looks at many areas when ranking places to stay and we do offer a great value, other great places to stay such as Cedar Lodge, and Rhapsody Resort offer great accommdations with a waterfront view, and I assume a higher nightly room rate. We are a family owned business and our lobby/office is attached to our home, it's not a elaborate lobby, but it functions well. Guests will see our fireplace made of Georgia Marble, this is the same fireplace that Santa use to come down when I was a little boy.
Thanks again for your comments and we hope to accommodate you in the near future.
Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids,MI
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

Only stayed here one night, but very pleasant. Room was clean, especially bathroom, sauna was hot & relaxing. Has an indoor & outdoor pool. Close to downtown action, but not in it. Would have stayed here longer. Good price to value.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thanks for your comments, we hope you can return again sooner for a longer stay and a little more R & R.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

We spent 4 nights at the Black Hawk Motel. I was a little unsure when I made the reservations, since I knew it was an older hotel, but the room we stayed in had all been re-done recently. The room and bathroom were clean, had a bit of a new carpet smell, but at least that meant the carpet was clean and new. It was really handy to have a mini fridge and microwave in the room, we ended up just eating breakfast in our room, easier than going somewhere with our kid. The room we had was a little on the small side, but it worked fine for us, with 2 adults, 1 kid. Friendly service...will be back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thanks for your comments, sounds like you may have been in one of our newly remodeled 2 double beds. Newly remodeled for 2011 include our rooms with 3 doubles, two bedroom w/ 3 queens and a few others. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010 via mobile

We attended the Polish festival, but decided to stay at the Black Hawk Motel instead of Mt Olympus, where the event was. We are so glad we did, it was a great value and we were able to do more with the money we saved. The service was great! Nice people!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 11, 2011
Thanks for your comments! We give all guests the Free Dells Fun card for each room reserved, this is a great way to save on attractions and restaurants. The fun card has a buy one get one free for the Dells Boat tours, so use it just once and it will save about $18.00+, and the card is good thru the end of the year! Thanks again and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.