We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our group” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Rockford, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect for our group”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

We had a group of 11 stay for the Pokemon regional championships, in rooms 70,71 and 73. The kitchenette was great, we ate most of our meals there, saving us a ton of money. It was the perfect place to gather and just hang out when we weren't at the tourney. Room 71 had a nice big table to play cards at. Our rooms were looked like they were recently remodeled and were extremely clean, the beds were super comfy and there was a ton of room for our crew. We will definitely be back to visit again, possibly with the same crew, since we all had such a fantastic time!!!

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    166
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
521
267
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2009

It is always a pleasure to return to an accommodation and be more pleased than the first visit!

A pleasant outdoor pool (there is also an indoor pool but who wants that during the summer?); the 2 queen bedded room was more spacious than our previous room; micro and fridge in each room with an astro-turffed patio to sit on for morning coffee and dinner; a good place to walk the dogs back behind the motel. And by the way, ask for a room at the rear of the property versus one close to the street.

We look forward to our third visit!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2009

Dollar for Dollar. Great cost savings. Ice is avilable for coolers. Grill is available for cooking (lighter fluid I found under grill). Free Internet. Service was awesome. Got tickets for Mt Olypus. Reasonably quiet for a family place. VERY CLEAN.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

When planning our annual trip to the Dells, I was hesistant at staying at a Motel since we had a bad experience in the past. When we arrived they let us check in early so we can enjoy our time at Mount Olympus. Room was clean and was very well maintained. Staff was very nice and helpful with any questions. I loved the constant barbequing there and we had a nice small kitchenette in our room which was great. The only drawback is that it is not within walking distance to any of the waterparks.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, WI
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2009

I am always tempted to stay at the "kitchy" retro-style motels in the Dells but I have had a couple bad experiences at them...usually that the beds are uncomfortable or the rooms seem dirty. The last two years I've stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn during my husband and my annual Dell's weekend. However, this year I went on Trip Advisor and decided to give Black Hawk a chance. I am SO glad I did! We thoroughly enjoyed Black Hawk Motel! It was VERY VERY clean. The beds are pretty new and super comfortable. Nice flat-screen TV's in the room. The pool area is very retro! We loved it - we actually had the whole indoor pool to ourselves. My husband LOVED the game room with retro-80's video games. It felt like we were kids again! I can see in the summer how it would also be a lot of fun. We'll definitely bring our 3 year old there next summer before she can start begging us to stay at the mega-resorts. Ugh. Anyway, we will continue to stay at Black Hawk and save the $50/night it costs to stay at the Hilton. The bed is just as good (maybe better) the pool area is WAY cooler, and the coffee in the office is yummy! And clean, clean, clean...that's my top priority! Very friendly staff too! I highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, MN
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We stayed in one of the freestanding cottage that has 2 bedrooms and 1 bathroom, full kitchen. Having 2 young kids, we wanted a cabin style place so we can still watch TV or do something else after they go to bed. It was spacious, and has most things we needed, but certainly no frills. It does not provide inroom coffee. The DVD player is very basic, you can't select chapters. But overall, it's great value because of the kitchen and everything is pretty new.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, IL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

Some rooms were already renovated but ours wasn't. It was clean, kitchen will all needed accessories. Bathroom had all needed soaps and shampoo's. Front desk was helpful with passes and coupon books. And the barbqueue pit help keep our costs down. Cannot wait to visit there again

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.