We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainy Weekend but Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Expedia.com
and 4 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Kansas City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Rainy Weekend but Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Stayed at the BlackHawk Motel and it was very nice for the price. Close to downtown and a great indoor pool, which was a good thing since it rained all weekend.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    631
    141
    25
    5
    2
See reviews for
422
234
15
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
milwaukee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

My family and neighbors come at least once a year for the last 23 years to the best place to stay with all the Black Hawk Motel has to offer... The prices are very good, plus the indoor-outdoor pools, hot tubs, outdoor grill,laundry/game room with pool table,outdoor play area for the kids is the Best deal in the DELLS... Not to mention the owners are always there for any ?'s or needs and are very friendly... And will be there in July again this year for our 24th year together...

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend WI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

We stay at the Blackhawk every year in August for a vacation with our parents/siblings and children. It is always clean, the staff is always friendly and because the price is so affordable we are able to do more activities in the Dells. We have been staying at the Blackhawk now for over 18 years and we love it! I would recommend this motel to anyone! We love it!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I've stayed in a lot of hotels/motels over the years and The Black Hawk Motel is one of finest. Clearn, spacious, indoor and outdoor heated pools with slides, hot hot tub, fine location, excellent service and affordable! The Wisconsin Dells has a lot of attractions and is a great famly place. One reason why I consider returning to Wisconsin Dells for a family vacation is that I know that I can stay at the Black Hawk. I will be staying again in July 2009 while on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st.paul, mn
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Ive stayed at the black hawk twice now,(in aug 2006 and aug 2008), its cheap, comfortable, there's microwaves and mini-fridges in all the rooms. The first time i was there, i stayed in the queen poolside room,the room was really small and smelled like my grandpa, i dont know what that was about, but the 2nd time, we stayed in the queen or king ( i dont remember which) budget room, which is not poolside. the room was bigger and not stinky this time, we added an extra night onto our stay which the staff happily accomodated. the pools/hot tub/sauna are nice. the motel is not on the main strip-so its quiet and not chaotic like the rest of the dells in summer-but is within walking distance of downtown and only a short drive to the main attractions anyway. my boyfriend (he loves it too) and i cant wait to go back to the dells and stay at the black hawk again

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

When we decided to visit Wisconsin Dells, I checked TripAdvisor - and was so glad I did! The Black Hawk Motel, highly praised for cleanliness and old-fashioned service, was our choice because of the reviews on this site, and we had an even more excellent vacation because of it.
We stayed in a queen whirlpool suite, which turned out to be one of a row of small freestanding cinderblock rooms. Having a tiny yet well equipped kitchen made the room an excellent bargain, as we were able to save by having some of our meals at "home." Recently replaced mattresses, while not luxurious, were comfortable, and linens were clean and fresh. On days that we had a "do not disturb" sign out, we received a call in the afternoon asking if we wanted the room serviced, extra towels, or anything else. We haven't received that level of personalized service except at 4 & 5 star hotels with club or concierge service.
Although definitely not luxury class, the cleanliness and friendliness more than make the Black Hawk an excellent place to enjoy the Wisconsin Dells.

  • Liked — Clean! and enough hot water to fill the hot tub.
  • Disliked — Happy children early in the morning enjoying the playground
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I like to come up to the Dells in the off-season to get the best rates and miss the crowd. We just discovered Black Hawk this year and loved it!! They have great off-season rates. The rooms are comfortable and roomy with great beds. The pool is warm and has a fun slide too! When we are looking for hotels there are a few key things we like to have, they include, indoor pool, microwave and fridge, and free WiFi. The Black Hawk had all three!! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to young couples or anybody looking to get away for a long weekend and not spend a lot of money.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Hotel
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells
Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.