We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best holiday bang for the buck!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Sharon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Best holiday bang for the buck!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2009

I've stayed in a lot of hotels/motels over the years and The Black Hawk Motel is one of finest. Clearn, spacious, indoor and outdoor heated pools with slides, hot hot tub, fine location, excellent service and affordable! The Wisconsin Dells has a lot of attractions and is a great famly place. One reason why I consider returning to Wisconsin Dells for a family vacation is that I know that I can stay at the Black Hawk. I will be staying again in July 2009 while on holiday.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

916 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    721
    158
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
491
254
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
st.paul, mn
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2009

Ive stayed at the black hawk twice now,(in aug 2006 and aug 2008), its cheap, comfortable, there's microwaves and mini-fridges in all the rooms. The first time i was there, i stayed in the queen poolside room,the room was really small and smelled like my grandpa, i dont know what that was about, but the 2nd time, we stayed in the queen or king ( i dont remember which) budget room, which is not poolside. the room was bigger and not stinky this time, we added an extra night onto our stay which the staff happily accomodated. the pools/hot tub/sauna are nice. the motel is not on the main strip-so its quiet and not chaotic like the rest of the dells in summer-but is within walking distance of downtown and only a short drive to the main attractions anyway. my boyfriend (he loves it too) and i cant wait to go back to the dells and stay at the black hawk again

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

When we decided to visit Wisconsin Dells, I checked TripAdvisor - and was so glad I did! The Black Hawk Motel, highly praised for cleanliness and old-fashioned service, was our choice because of the reviews on this site, and we had an even more excellent vacation because of it.
We stayed in a queen whirlpool suite, which turned out to be one of a row of small freestanding cinderblock rooms. Having a tiny yet well equipped kitchen made the room an excellent bargain, as we were able to save by having some of our meals at "home." Recently replaced mattresses, while not luxurious, were comfortable, and linens were clean and fresh. On days that we had a "do not disturb" sign out, we received a call in the afternoon asking if we wanted the room serviced, extra towels, or anything else. We haven't received that level of personalized service except at 4 & 5 star hotels with club or concierge service.
Although definitely not luxury class, the cleanliness and friendliness more than make the Black Hawk an excellent place to enjoy the Wisconsin Dells.

  • Liked — Clean! and enough hot water to fill the hot tub.
  • Disliked — Happy children early in the morning enjoying the playground
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I like to come up to the Dells in the off-season to get the best rates and miss the crowd. We just discovered Black Hawk this year and loved it!! They have great off-season rates. The rooms are comfortable and roomy with great beds. The pool is warm and has a fun slide too! When we are looking for hotels there are a few key things we like to have, they include, indoor pool, microwave and fridge, and free WiFi. The Black Hawk had all three!! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to young couples or anybody looking to get away for a long weekend and not spend a lot of money.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Discovered this motel through tripadvisor and gave it a try because we liked the jacuzzi in the room and the low price. Upon driving up to the motel, we were a little frightened because it seemed a bit "old" so we were a little worried. Once we got to the room (number 68) we were shocked at how awesome the room was. Inside the room, it felt like a hotel. Our room was a separate miniature home/apartment that was not connected to other rooms. It was excellent! Mini fridge, relaxing jacuzzi and mirrors on the ceiling above the bed. It was a great little second honeymoon for my husband and I. AND it had two additional beds in an adjoining room so it is perfect for families and/or couples that want a romantic getaway. We will definitely stay here again and request the same room. The indoor pool was big and since the motel wasn't that busy, we had it to ourselves which was nice. We recommend this motel if you want a good price, away from the commercialized strip and a little romance in an unsuspecting place.

  • Liked — jacuzzi in room
  • Disliked — exterior is dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the Black Hawk 10/9 - 10/11 for a fall weekend getaway. We got a great rate for our stay (plus AAA too) since it's the end of the season. We travel around a lot and prefer to spend our time sight seeing rather than in the room. Our main requirements of a room is that it is reasonably priced, clean, quiet, a few amenities and has a very clean bathroom. The room met all our needs! We're in our 40's and the room style reminded us of the motels we stayed at as kids with our parents - this was a good thing! The room had amenities like a hair dryer, fridge and microwave, table & chairs - and plenty of room to move around. The pillows were a bit low & smushed for us (probably from much use after all summer long), but a quick trip to the office and we were provided with a couple more nice fluffy ones. The outdoor pool is closed but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we met a lot of nice people. The mangement was very friendly and accomodating. They even provided a 2 for 1 card for Dells attractions and restuarants (and we used it!) We head to the Dells every year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location, amenities
  • Disliked — Some people/car traffic outside of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have stayed here before and loved it. But not so much this time. I love the people that run it, and they take good care of the place. But the room smelled funny, and my kids couldn't go in the pool because of the strong chlorine! We went in once, and couldn't go in again, as everyone's eye's were burning and they got a rash! Also some of the loudest , rudest people were staying here this weekend. (Not hotels fault). Kids running around 1/2 naked, music blaring, cooking weird smelly food on the grill. (Which no one else could use). We stayed here to save some money for our big vacation, and let the kids swim. Unfortunately I will never do that again!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
All future, past and potential guests can be assurred that our pools are clean and swimmer friendly. This review is in response to a guest that stayed with us in the month of May 2008. Since then, we had have over 30 positive reviews from guests that stayed with us in the months after May 2008. None of these reviews mention any problem with a strong clorine smell or swimmers rash. In fact many guests have complimented us on our pools. This review in question only mentions "pool", where as in fact we have 5 pools total. Indoor, outdoor, kiddie and 2 whirlpools.

To Vactionnut 12,....thanks for your comments and we sincerely apologize for any problems. Chlorine level was at a higher level one day as a result of a chlorinator feed pump working to maintain water clarity. This method was tested and is no longer used by us. No mention in your review if any problems you were having were brought to our attention, I could of offered you a full refund, and still can, however you'd have to contact us so I can verify some information. Also, we do have more than one grill, however, they are available on a first come, first serve basis. I assume you were here Memorial Day Weekend if you say you couldn't get on the grill. We can not screen all our guests when they make reservations. We can however control them and their children once they get here, and if they don't oblige, they are out of here! We wish you had let us know if you felt uncomfortable with any thing. We do not care what our guests cook on grill, as long as it's edible. What may be "weird and smelly" to one, may be a family favorite to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.