We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A clean place to stay with your family!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE WATERPARK INCLUDED
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Dubuque, Iowa, United States
1 review
“A clean place to stay with your family!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was our second year staying. Very impressed with the newly remodeled room we stayed in! Had a nice kitchenette area and the beds were very comfortable. Clean room and quiet area. Nice playground area with an outdoor and indoor pool. Reasonably priced which is a plus when you want to spend your money on some of the fun attractions in the Dells. Service at the front was amazing! Offered us some ideas on where to eat and within walking distance to the shopping strip. We will definitely be staying again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, today
Hello Lisa, Thank you so much for your review and more importantly for joining are long list of repeat guests! It was a pleasure to accommodate you and your family and we are happy to hear that you had a great stay and our reasonable room rates helped you and your family have a more enjoyable vacation. We hope to see you again soon and enjoy the fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    168
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
541
271
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Streetsboro, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This was first visit to Dells, stayed at the Black Hawk because of great reviews on tripadvisor. Everything people say are true, very nice room. very clean, great owners and close to everything! On top of all that the price was amazing, making this the place to stay in the Dells! Hope to get back again next year!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, today
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and for trusting the Trip Advisor community and planning your stay at the Black Hawk. We're glad you enjoyed everything that we have to offer and we strive to provide the best possible stay for our guests. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We just celebrated our granddaughters 7th birthday at the Black Hawk, which is becoming an annual tradition. As always, our stay was perfect. Brad and Tena are great hosts and make certain everything is great. This was our fifth or sixth stay at the Black Hawk and we will be back (maybe even this fall). If you are looking for a clean, comfortable and affordable place to stay, you can't go wrong with the Black Hawk.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello David, Thank you again for choosing the Black Hawk and taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review. It gratifies us that we are helping you and your family build many lifetime memories by celebrating your granddaughters special day with us. We look forward to accommodating soon,...perhaps during this wonderful fall that we are having. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

It had been a few years since our last visit. This stay was even better with renovations to the rooms. The motel is still clean and safe, the beds are comfy. You can't beat the price. The location is within walking distance to the Riverwalk. Our children loved staying here. We made friends with our neighbors and enjoyed the indoor pool. We took advantage of the free passes to Chula Vista's waterpark and had a great stay. The retro arcade was wonderful, we spent a lot of money playing all the old games. I watched one man spend his entire evening at the Donkey Kong Machine. He must have been reliving his childhood memories of conquering the game. Overall, you can't beat the price and it's a great place to stay on a budget. The owners have thought of everything you need to feel like you're getting your money's worth. Still a great place!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your thoughtful review and for posting some awesome pictures of your stay! We have teamed up with Pat and Glenn of Star Worlds Arcade from DeKalb, IL to bring our guests a great experience in our retro arcade. In fact,...Pat and his family have been staying with our family since the early 1970's. We have a handshake agreement that our retro arcade will always have a Donkey Kong and a Ms. Pac Man, (two of my favorite games when I was kid) and they have been a big hit, along with our billiard table. We hope to see you and your family again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Really friendly service with local owners who are on-site, big clean rooms, wonderful pools (they kept the outdoor one open a couple extra days for us -- it was cold but we were using it!) and arcade -- this is our 4th year staying here. It is by far the best place to stay when you're visiting the Dells.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Staci, Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and posting a great night photo of our pool! I appreciate asking to keep the pool open a couple of extra days as we want to try and deliver the best experience possible and if swimming in late September added to your families experience...it makes our day! Have a great fall and winter season and may you think of the Black Hawk when you are swimming in the colder lakes :D Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A pure gem. Quiet clean friendly and fun.A must stay when in the Dells. Close to attractions. 4blocks to shopping and great food! Get free water park pass for entire stay.Great price. this was our 2nd year staying here. You won't be disappointed. Not a chain motel family owned!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you so much for your review and for joining our long list of many repeat guests by staying with us again! We believe in providing a clean, comfortable room and many on-site and in-room amenities, water parks included and friendly customer service; all at a reasonable price. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We went in late October last year. We had almost the entire place to ourselves! The pool is huge and a great temp. We chose the room that has 3 double beds in it, so the boys were happy they each had their own bed! Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello Beth, Thanks so much for your review! The fall is a great time to visit the Dells, for many reasons and we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us. Our room with 3 double beds in one of the most popular of our 29 different room types. We hope to see you and your family this fall our during our 2015 season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.