We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A definite favorite in the dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A definite favorite in the dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

I have been to the dells many times with my family, extended family, and family friends multiple times while growing up and mostly stayed at big motels with water parks, and this was my first time coming with my own family.

My husband and I brought our 3 girls (6 year old and two 2 year olds) and was nervous because I relied on all the reviews on tripadvisor, and I am SO GLAD I did so. The staff (office and cleaners) were very friendly and the ENTIRE place was extremely clean. They placed us in room 48 or 49 (I think) at the end in the corner and also 71, also end and corner. Which was awesome because we have 3 kids and they are loud I did not want to disturb any more other guest than I had to. We had 2 different rooms because I booked it two days before, and there was no problem, they even offered to move our luggage so we could enjoy the day with FREE included waterpark passes at chula vista and Noah's ark.

Black hawk motel has a lot to offer and it's in the perfect area, very close to the gas station, grocery store, park with great playground, and 10 minute walk (which took us about 45 minutes because the area is beautiful) to downtown dells.

The playground at the motel is separated into 4 sections and was very clean, up to date, and they have rubber chips, not woodchips on the ground which was another plus!.. the pools were clean.. bathroom was very clean, kitchenette was clean and appliances included were clean.. with 3 young children I look for cleanliness and this place absolutely exceeded my expectations in every way.

I am so glad I found a great place my whole family loves. We are definitely coming every summer.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Carleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stayed here - me, my husband, my 20 year old son, his girlfriend and my two daughters. We had plenty of room. Very nice and clean! We was very impressed. We stayed in #70- it was like your own little house. Plus there was even a grill and play area outside. In the main part there was the indoor and outdoor pools and hot tubs. There is even an arcade with a pool table and juke box! Pretty neat! On top of that the front desk staff were very friendly and we got free water park passes!! We will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: I don't know about the others but #70 was like your own separate house!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VISIT34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very nice little motel! Clean and spacious rooms. Great service. Our only issue was the wifi was a bit wonky. Our kids loved the retro arcade games and the pools.We arrived really early (10:30 a.m.) and our room was ready along with our free water park passes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathyWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

I had read the reviews and thought it was time to give Blackhawk a try. Loved the retro atmosphere, but the professionalism was first rate. Everything is clean and perfect. Pools and grounds are well-maintained. Passes to the water parks were wonderful and we used both. I don't have a single complaint. Don't think twice about Blackhawk. If you need a bargain family hotel with option for famous water parks--look no further.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

My wife and have stayed here several times over the past six years and we always find the accommodations reliably clean and comfortable. There are numerous types of rooms to choose from depending on your needs and preferences. The hotel is conveniently located near the attractions and downtown Dells. The price is reasonable and includes a pass to a couple of water parks. They also have both an indoor and an outdoor pool.
This family owned hotel is our "go to" place to stay when we go to The Dells and this year we brought family along to share this great find. We'll be back and so will they.

Room Tip: We like the rooms with a kitchenette so you don't have to eat out all the time. We also like the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DinChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have stayed at the black hawk many many times over the years. We visit at least once a summer and often numerous times through out the year. Black hawk is our prefered accommodations. We have stayed at the wilderness, hotel Rome, diamond, flamingo and various motels in the dells. Black hawk beats them all. So clean, so friendly, so comfy, so convienent! My only complaint this trip is our once secrect awesome spot is filled every weekend we attempt to reserve! Everyone now knows how great they are and are a very in demand spot! Good for them as a business but sucky for us because we know anything else will disappoint. Black hawk has set the bar so high that even the high end resorts can't compare.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DellsandDisney4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The stay was absolutely perfect from check-in to check-out! First off, I was very happy that I was treated with respect even though I am a college student as many hotels frown upon people my age staying at their establishment. I went with a few of my friends from college and had a blast. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice our room was. An especially nice perk was having two sinks and two mirrors as it gets a little hectic with four girls getting ready in the morning. The tickets to both Chula Vista and Noah's Ark were just the cherry on top. The only complaint I had was there was some strange goop on one of the bedspreads in room 27; But in the grand scheme of things, that was just a little thing and didn't inconvenience us in any way. I will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dmcnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#24 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 275 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#22 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Suites
BEST WESTERN Ambassador Inn & Su...
#27 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#23 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 391 reviews
3.9 mi away
Great Wolf Lodge
Great Wolf Lodge
#19 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 1,664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing