We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So awesome there was no vacancy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 79 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So awesome there was no vacancy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at the black hawk many many times over the years. We visit at least once a summer and often numerous times through out the year. Black hawk is our prefered accommodations. We have stayed at the wilderness, hotel Rome, diamond, flamingo and various motels in the dells. Black hawk beats them all. So clean, so friendly, so comfy, so convienent! My only complaint this trip is our once secrect awesome spot is filled every weekend we attempt to reserve! Everyone now knows how great they are and are a very in demand spot! Good for them as a business but sucky for us because we know anything else will disappoint. Black hawk has set the bar so high that even the high end resorts can't compare.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    172
    28
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Marinette, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The stay was absolutely perfect from check-in to check-out! First off, I was very happy that I was treated with respect even though I am a college student as many hotels frown upon people my age staying at their establishment. I went with a few of my friends from college and had a blast. We were pleasantly surprised with how nice our room was. An especially nice perk was having two sinks and two mirrors as it gets a little hectic with four girls getting ready in the morning. The tickets to both Chula Vista and Noah's Ark were just the cherry on top. The only complaint I had was there was some strange goop on one of the bedspreads in room 27; But in the grand scheme of things, that was just a little thing and didn't inconvenience us in any way. I will definitely be returning!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The Black Hawk is exceptionally clean, it's a great value, has very comfortable beds, and is in a great location in the Dells. Very friendly, helpful staff. Nice warm pool. We were pleased from the time we made our reservation until the time we checked out. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton,MO
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Rooms clean. Beds are more like doubles not queen sized. great to have a refrigerator and microwave in the room. We stayed in the U shaped rooms surrounding the pool. Was great we could sit out front of room on the lawn chairs and watch the kids play on the playground or in the pool. Walkable distance from the strip.Nice indoor pool & hot tub for cool evenings.

Room Tip: If you do not want to be around the pool or playground ask for rooms up the hill behind the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

For a couple of years when the grandkids were in town from around the country, we would trek up to the "Dells" with our camping trailer and tents for a few days of old fashioned fun at Noah's Ark Water Park, riding the Ducs, etc. It was a lot of work for this grandma. Then we discovered the Blackhawk Motel. Straight out of the 60's but with all updated furniture and baths--spotlessly clean and groomed--and as user friendly as you could want. Indoor pool, outdoor pool, refriges and microwaves. I still pack the cooler with breakfast and lunches and snacks and drinks but we rent rooms and I do not have to pack and wash bedding and towels and it actually costs LESS than the campground. We have the older kids of three families plus gramma and gramps and some of the parents and we have a very good time. This is the place to stay for a reasonably priced good old fashioned fun family time.

Room Tip: Room 31 has two rooms on a corner and four queen beds, but only one bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

The accommodations at the Super Eight motel a wonderful experience. The rooms were clean, comfortable, and a terrific price point. The location of the hotel could have been more perfect. It was literally half a mile from the main strip, but far enough away where it was very quiet when we were sleeping at night. The people at the front desk were polite and professional, and help this out with any and all requests that we had. Terrific property managed by very professional people. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I stayed here with my family of 5. The kids loved the pools (indoor and outdoor). One of the reasons we stayed here also was the low price compared to other hotels in the area and the free tickets to Noah's Ark and other areas. Room was nice and clean and had plenty of space. Would definitely stay again and recommend to any family.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.