We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem of the Dells” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Lakewood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem of the Dells”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2008

When we decided to visit Wisconsin Dells, I checked TripAdvisor - and was so glad I did! The Black Hawk Motel, highly praised for cleanliness and old-fashioned service, was our choice because of the reviews on this site, and we had an even more excellent vacation because of it.
We stayed in a queen whirlpool suite, which turned out to be one of a row of small freestanding cinderblock rooms. Having a tiny yet well equipped kitchen made the room an excellent bargain, as we were able to save by having some of our meals at "home." Recently replaced mattresses, while not luxurious, were comfortable, and linens were clean and fresh. On days that we had a "do not disturb" sign out, we received a call in the afternoon asking if we wanted the room serviced, extra towels, or anything else. We haven't received that level of personalized service except at 4 & 5 star hotels with club or concierge service.
Although definitely not luxury class, the cleanliness and friendliness more than make the Black Hawk an excellent place to enjoy the Wisconsin Dells.

  • Liked — Clean! and enough hot water to fill the hot tub.
  • Disliked — Happy children early in the morning enjoying the playground
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    724
    158
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
492
255
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

My boyfriend and I like to come up to the Dells in the off-season to get the best rates and miss the crowd. We just discovered Black Hawk this year and loved it!! They have great off-season rates. The rooms are comfortable and roomy with great beds. The pool is warm and has a fun slide too! When we are looking for hotels there are a few key things we like to have, they include, indoor pool, microwave and fridge, and free WiFi. The Black Hawk had all three!! We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to young couples or anybody looking to get away for a long weekend and not spend a lot of money.

  • Liked — Everything!!!
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Discovered this motel through tripadvisor and gave it a try because we liked the jacuzzi in the room and the low price. Upon driving up to the motel, we were a little frightened because it seemed a bit "old" so we were a little worried. Once we got to the room (number 68) we were shocked at how awesome the room was. Inside the room, it felt like a hotel. Our room was a separate miniature home/apartment that was not connected to other rooms. It was excellent! Mini fridge, relaxing jacuzzi and mirrors on the ceiling above the bed. It was a great little second honeymoon for my husband and I. AND it had two additional beds in an adjoining room so it is perfect for families and/or couples that want a romantic getaway. We will definitely stay here again and request the same room. The indoor pool was big and since the motel wasn't that busy, we had it to ourselves which was nice. We recommend this motel if you want a good price, away from the commercialized strip and a little romance in an unsuspecting place.

  • Liked — jacuzzi in room
  • Disliked — exterior is dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the Black Hawk 10/9 - 10/11 for a fall weekend getaway. We got a great rate for our stay (plus AAA too) since it's the end of the season. We travel around a lot and prefer to spend our time sight seeing rather than in the room. Our main requirements of a room is that it is reasonably priced, clean, quiet, a few amenities and has a very clean bathroom. The room met all our needs! We're in our 40's and the room style reminded us of the motels we stayed at as kids with our parents - this was a good thing! The room had amenities like a hair dryer, fridge and microwave, table & chairs - and plenty of room to move around. The pillows were a bit low & smushed for us (probably from much use after all summer long), but a quick trip to the office and we were provided with a couple more nice fluffy ones. The outdoor pool is closed but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we met a lot of nice people. The mangement was very friendly and accomodating. They even provided a 2 for 1 card for Dells attractions and restuarants (and we used it!) We head to the Dells every year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location, amenities
  • Disliked — Some people/car traffic outside of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have stayed here before and loved it. But not so much this time. I love the people that run it, and they take good care of the place. But the room smelled funny, and my kids couldn't go in the pool because of the strong chlorine! We went in once, and couldn't go in again, as everyone's eye's were burning and they got a rash! Also some of the loudest , rudest people were staying here this weekend. (Not hotels fault). Kids running around 1/2 naked, music blaring, cooking weird smelly food on the grill. (Which no one else could use). We stayed here to save some money for our big vacation, and let the kids swim. Unfortunately I will never do that again!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
All future, past and potential guests can be assurred that our pools are clean and swimmer friendly. This review is in response to a guest that stayed with us in the month of May 2008. Since then, we had have over 30 positive reviews from guests that stayed with us in the months after May 2008. None of these reviews mention any problem with a strong clorine smell or swimmers rash. In fact many guests have complimented us on our pools. This review in question only mentions "pool", where as in fact we have 5 pools total. Indoor, outdoor, kiddie and 2 whirlpools.

To Vactionnut 12,....thanks for your comments and we sincerely apologize for any problems. Chlorine level was at a higher level one day as a result of a chlorinator feed pump working to maintain water clarity. This method was tested and is no longer used by us. No mention in your review if any problems you were having were brought to our attention, I could of offered you a full refund, and still can, however you'd have to contact us so I can verify some information. Also, we do have more than one grill, however, they are available on a first come, first serve basis. I assume you were here Memorial Day Weekend if you say you couldn't get on the grill. We can not screen all our guests when they make reservations. We can however control them and their children once they get here, and if they don't oblige, they are out of here! We wish you had let us know if you felt uncomfortable with any thing. We do not care what our guests cook on grill, as long as it's edible. What may be "weird and smelly" to one, may be a family favorite to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Well I was impressed at first by how shiny clean everything looked as we arrived at our room. Sure, the buildings were older and there was a funky old AC unit propped up in the window but the room looked good and the bathroom was clean.

Then we walked around the room a bit and noticed that our feet and white socks had turned black, and there was a dark dirty path running down the length of the room. When I alerted the front desk to the condition of the floors, they acknowledged that they were not clean because it was the end of the busy season and they hadn't gotten around to steam cleaning the carpeting yet. To make matters worse, they had just resealed the driveways and all that black asphalt had gotten tracked into the rooms, too. Gross

So if you can keep your shoes on during your stay, you will probably enjoy this inexpensive, simple, motel in a quiet, safe part of town. If you are hungry, make sure to have dinner at Carvelli's, about 4 blocks down on Broadway. It is run by an Italian family and had some of the best Italian food this side of Sicily.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
Hey Renanzel, thanks for your comments! We had to have Meyers' Aero Clean in here earlier this year on Labor Day to clean a large section of rooms, just couldn't wait until we closed the end of October.

Our room carpet gets a lot of traffic and it sometimes it shows for a number of reasons. 1. We're a motel, with all exterior entrances, no lobbies or hallways to catch the dirt. This is one of the main reasons we have the outdoor carpet in front of the rooms, to save on the carpet inside the rooms. 2. When guests go to the pools barefoot, they come out, feet wet and asplhalt moves from their feet onto the carpet. 3. We just recently resealed the parking lots, giving it a fresher appearance, but adding to what can be dragged into the rooms on guests shoes and feet. 4. We are quite a bit busier in the past few years, more guests occupying the rooms and harder to get our commerical carpet cleaner to clean the rooms during the busy season, although this is a good problem to have I guess.

SOLUTION: We have spent over $2,000 and purchased a Tornado Carpet Extractor to clean the rooms and traffic areas as needed during the busy season. Our great staff of AJ, Bill and Denis does this for us and at the end of the season we also have the rooms done by a professional.

Also, your room had one of the oldest AC units in the entire place. We have spares and can change them at any time. Each year we purchase between 4-12 new Amana or GE AC's. We would like to replace all at once, but thought that the New Sealy Beds were a better purchase and investment at this time, plus the older ones this work great.

I'll be sure and also recommend the new Carvelli's Italian Restaurant as we had had great reports on the food and service there!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This motel was fabulously clean!
Six of us stayed (in three separate rooms) at this motel this past weekend and found each to be exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The owners were always attentive and very helpful with the Casino shuttle. The location was great for walking downtown to shop, eat or drink.

The indoor pool room has beautiful wood throughout and the pool was always warm.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning often.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the property.
  • Disliked — No cofee makers in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
We are glad that the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells area provided a safe alternative for your vacation plans seeing that your group had to cancel your trip to New Orleans as a result of hurricane Gustav. Although we don't have coffee makers in the room at this time, keep in mind that we keep the coffee on all day from 7 am. until after 11 pm, it's complimentary as wanted, (or as needed.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.