We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the rough” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Denver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Diamond in the rough”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Discovered this motel through tripadvisor and gave it a try because we liked the jacuzzi in the room and the low price. Upon driving up to the motel, we were a little frightened because it seemed a bit "old" so we were a little worried. Once we got to the room (number 68) we were shocked at how awesome the room was. Inside the room, it felt like a hotel. Our room was a separate miniature home/apartment that was not connected to other rooms. It was excellent! Mini fridge, relaxing jacuzzi and mirrors on the ceiling above the bed. It was a great little second honeymoon for my husband and I. AND it had two additional beds in an adjoining room so it is perfect for families and/or couples that want a romantic getaway. We will definitely stay here again and request the same room. The indoor pool was big and since the motel wasn't that busy, we had it to ourselves which was nice. We recommend this motel if you want a good price, away from the commercialized strip and a little romance in an unsuspecting place.

  • Liked — jacuzzi in room
  • Disliked — exterior is dated
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,026 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    815
    172
    29
    8
    2
See reviews for
552
281
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2008

We stayed at the Black Hawk 10/9 - 10/11 for a fall weekend getaway. We got a great rate for our stay (plus AAA too) since it's the end of the season. We travel around a lot and prefer to spend our time sight seeing rather than in the room. Our main requirements of a room is that it is reasonably priced, clean, quiet, a few amenities and has a very clean bathroom. The room met all our needs! We're in our 40's and the room style reminded us of the motels we stayed at as kids with our parents - this was a good thing! The room had amenities like a hair dryer, fridge and microwave, table & chairs - and plenty of room to move around. The pillows were a bit low & smushed for us (probably from much use after all summer long), but a quick trip to the office and we were provided with a couple more nice fluffy ones. The outdoor pool is closed but the indoor pool and jacuzzi were very nice and we met a lot of nice people. The mangement was very friendly and accomodating. They even provided a 2 for 1 card for Dells attractions and restuarants (and we used it!) We head to the Dells every year and will definitely stay here again!

  • Liked — Price, cleanliness, location, amenities
  • Disliked — Some people/car traffic outside of room
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2008

I have stayed here before and loved it. But not so much this time. I love the people that run it, and they take good care of the place. But the room smelled funny, and my kids couldn't go in the pool because of the strong chlorine! We went in once, and couldn't go in again, as everyone's eye's were burning and they got a rash! Also some of the loudest , rudest people were staying here this weekend. (Not hotels fault). Kids running around 1/2 naked, music blaring, cooking weird smelly food on the grill. (Which no one else could use). We stayed here to save some money for our big vacation, and let the kids swim. Unfortunately I will never do that again!

  • Liked — price
  • Disliked — pool
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 23, 2008
All future, past and potential guests can be assurred that our pools are clean and swimmer friendly. This review is in response to a guest that stayed with us in the month of May 2008. Since then, we had have over 30 positive reviews from guests that stayed with us in the months after May 2008. None of these reviews mention any problem with a strong clorine smell or swimmers rash. In fact many guests have complimented us on our pools. This review in question only mentions "pool", where as in fact we have 5 pools total. Indoor, outdoor, kiddie and 2 whirlpools.

To Vactionnut 12,....thanks for your comments and we sincerely apologize for any problems. Chlorine level was at a higher level one day as a result of a chlorinator feed pump working to maintain water clarity. This method was tested and is no longer used by us. No mention in your review if any problems you were having were brought to our attention, I could of offered you a full refund, and still can, however you'd have to contact us so I can verify some information. Also, we do have more than one grill, however, they are available on a first come, first serve basis. I assume you were here Memorial Day Weekend if you say you couldn't get on the grill. We can not screen all our guests when they make reservations. We can however control them and their children once they get here, and if they don't oblige, they are out of here! We wish you had let us know if you felt uncomfortable with any thing. We do not care what our guests cook on grill, as long as it's edible. What may be "weird and smelly" to one, may be a family favorite to others. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

Well I was impressed at first by how shiny clean everything looked as we arrived at our room. Sure, the buildings were older and there was a funky old AC unit propped up in the window but the room looked good and the bathroom was clean.

Then we walked around the room a bit and noticed that our feet and white socks had turned black, and there was a dark dirty path running down the length of the room. When I alerted the front desk to the condition of the floors, they acknowledged that they were not clean because it was the end of the busy season and they hadn't gotten around to steam cleaning the carpeting yet. To make matters worse, they had just resealed the driveways and all that black asphalt had gotten tracked into the rooms, too. Gross

So if you can keep your shoes on during your stay, you will probably enjoy this inexpensive, simple, motel in a quiet, safe part of town. If you are hungry, make sure to have dinner at Carvelli's, about 4 blocks down on Broadway. It is run by an Italian family and had some of the best Italian food this side of Sicily.

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — dirty carpet
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
Hey Renanzel, thanks for your comments! We had to have Meyers' Aero Clean in here earlier this year on Labor Day to clean a large section of rooms, just couldn't wait until we closed the end of October.

Our room carpet gets a lot of traffic and it sometimes it shows for a number of reasons. 1. We're a motel, with all exterior entrances, no lobbies or hallways to catch the dirt. This is one of the main reasons we have the outdoor carpet in front of the rooms, to save on the carpet inside the rooms. 2. When guests go to the pools barefoot, they come out, feet wet and asplhalt moves from their feet onto the carpet. 3. We just recently resealed the parking lots, giving it a fresher appearance, but adding to what can be dragged into the rooms on guests shoes and feet. 4. We are quite a bit busier in the past few years, more guests occupying the rooms and harder to get our commerical carpet cleaner to clean the rooms during the busy season, although this is a good problem to have I guess.

SOLUTION: We have spent over $2,000 and purchased a Tornado Carpet Extractor to clean the rooms and traffic areas as needed during the busy season. Our great staff of AJ, Bill and Denis does this for us and at the end of the season we also have the rooms done by a professional.

Also, your room had one of the oldest AC units in the entire place. We have spares and can change them at any time. Each year we purchase between 4-12 new Amana or GE AC's. We would like to replace all at once, but thought that the New Sealy Beds were a better purchase and investment at this time, plus the older ones this work great.

I'll be sure and also recommend the new Carvelli's Italian Restaurant as we had had great reports on the food and service there!

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2008

This motel was fabulously clean!
Six of us stayed (in three separate rooms) at this motel this past weekend and found each to be exceptionally clean and well maintained.

The owners were always attentive and very helpful with the Casino shuttle. The location was great for walking downtown to shop, eat or drink.

The indoor pool room has beautiful wood throughout and the pool was always warm.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be returning often.

  • Liked — Cleanliness of the property.
  • Disliked — No cofee makers in the room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
We are glad that the Black Hawk and the Wisconsin Dells area provided a safe alternative for your vacation plans seeing that your group had to cancel your trip to New Orleans as a result of hurricane Gustav. Although we don't have coffee makers in the room at this time, keep in mind that we keep the coffee on all day from 7 am. until after 11 pm, it's complimentary as wanted, (or as needed.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2008

When we had decided to spend Labor day weekend in Wisconsin Dells I had originally planned on booking our stay at Hotel Rome (Mt Olympus). I then read the reviews here about the Blackhawk and saw that we could save over $200 and quickly changed my mind. When I told my family what and where I had booked I immediately started getting the jabs. I admit I was hesitant as well. I'm also one of those hotel snobs. They shut up the second we walked into the door of our hotel room and apologized immediately! We booked a whirlpool suite deluxe w/ 3 queens. Everyone loved the room and especially the whirlpool. It was a nice size, 2 person whirlpool. Not one of those small bathtub types that some hotels try to pass off as a whirlpool. The room was quite spacious and updated. There was a flat screen TV with satellite in the front room and another in the bedroom. The kids loved being able to stay in a different room although didn't understand the reason behind mirrors on the ceiling above the bed :) lol. What I didn't like was the extremely small bathroom. There's a tub and a toilet and room for no more in there, sink & vanity is outside the bathroom. The pillow were really flimsy and they didn't supply any more than the 2 per bed. Also the maid didn't make our beds. We placed the tag on the door to have the room cleaned and went to the water park for the day. When we returned we had plenty of fresh clean towels but the beds were still unmade and no new trash bags were put into the trash cans. It didn't appear that the room was really cleaned. These were all things I could live with however and if I were to return to the area would stay here again. I would also recommend this motel to my family and friends.

Stayed August 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlackHawkMotel, Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, September 16, 2008
Glad you liked the Whirlpool Deluxe room! We admit, this is a small bath room. We just completely gutted and remodeled this room in the winter of 08 and wanted to keep the front room large and add the whirlpool. I remember housekeeping asking about your room. We do it in two shifts, a staff member comes in and replaces fresh towels and takes out the garbage and hangs a white towel on the door. This is the signal for housekeeping to come in and clean the bathroom, make the beds, ect. On Labor Day Sunday, we were able to get you clean towels and empty the garbage and the towel was hung on the door, however you returned before housekeeping was able to get in and make the beds, bath room, ect. Upon leaving, you must of either mistakenly hung the Do Not Disturb sign, or hung it thinking that was all housekeeping was going to do for the day. Sorry for the inconvience, but house keeping checked with me and I figured you were satisfied with just towels exchanged, and when the sign says Do Not Disturb, housekeeping will not enter the room. This system of doing housekeeping has worked great for many, many,years and it's much more efficient. Thanks for allowing us to accommodate you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewaukee, WI
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2008

We stayed in this motel for 3 days during Labor Day weekend. The room was spacious and clean. We have not tried any of the pools, but they looked good. There is a fridge and a microwave as well in the room, which was quite handy.
Also there is dedicated parking place for all the rooms. The person at front desk was kind and helpful.
We had a good time there.

  • Liked — Cleanness
  • Disliked — shower
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#3 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#5 Best Value Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.