We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Happy stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Over all very happy. we only stayed 1 night, so other then check-in didn't need any services. room was very clean and as advertised online. only draw back is ice maker in our area wasn't working so had to go to other complex for ice.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Hello Ricky, We are delighted to hear that you had a "Happy Stay"! We believe in providing a clean room with a honest room description and no extra hidden fees, such as extra amenity, resort or booking fees. We sincerely apologize for one of our four ice machines being out of order. It was brought to our attention that we had a cracked water filter, a result of the unseasonably cold spring that we have had. We hope to see you again this summer, with guaranteed warmer weather. Thank you and have a great day! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    981
    197
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
687
318
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

I have stayed at this motel 3 times. The price and location are great. The owners are friendly and can give you great advice on places to eat and see. How many motels have you stayed in where the owners actually care about your visit? Stay often and you'll never be disappointed! Remember when you traveled in the 60's and 70's and got to park outside the motel door....didn't have to lug your suitcases miles to your room!

Room Tip: All the rooms have comfortable beds!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
I take pride in reading your review because you crushed it with your statement that the owners actually care about your visit. This statement is 110% fact as I and my wife Tena and our entire staff truly to care about our guests and want them to have a pleasant, comfortable experience at a reasonable value. All of this with top notch customer service, as we believe in treating our guests the same way we would want to be treated. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly for your continued patronage to the Black Hawk. We hope to see you again soon! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've been to the Dells many times in my life, passed by this motel every time and thought nothing of it.
This past "weekend" (we work in food service so we got a rare Sunday-Monday-Tuesday three day weekend for Easter) we decided to celebrate our Anniversary in the Dells. We don't have much money and most of the places were well over 100 a night. I finally caved and checked out the cheaper motels. To my surprise, the third one down was only $55 a night and had a 4.5 star rating. The ratings are no lie! This is a great little motel, well kept, clean, friendly. Most everything was in good repair (they were obviously doing season opening repairs at the time so 2 Ice machines were out of order), the arcade is filled with cool retro games, pinball, ms. pacman, TMNT, a couple claw games and a pool table. The pool was warm, the hot tub HOT, and they had a nice sauna. The rooms have private entrances, large minifridges, microwaves, cabinet/drawer space, DVD players and large TVs. The beds are comfortable and the showers get hot. It was a small room but we didn't need much space. We got quite a few coupons and free passes to Chula Vista so that just sweetened the deal. It's only 2 blocks from the stuff on Broadway and 2 miles from Chula Vista, straight shot down the highway. We will definitely be back! I'm glad we found this place and I hope others give them a chance.

CONS: No Breakfast on site. But they have grills so who needs breakfast when you have steak?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Hello Jon, Thanks so much for finally caving in the giving the Black Hawk a chance. Love the title of your review as our 1960's road sign and front building has stirred potential guests away over the years. So happy to hear that your stay was an enjoyable one and you found our indoor pool to be warm and our hot tub hot. Sorry for two ice machines being out of order as this cold winter and spring does not want to end and two of our four ice machines were damaged due to the extreme unseasonably cold spring weather. Our game room has always been a huge hit for many years and we have thoughts about adding a breakfast option at some point in time. Thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon! Kind regards,... Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

i will totally recommend this place.staff is very friendly and respectful rooms are very clean.is a great place very close to downtown, restaurants,parks , gas stations, convenience stores and much more.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 27, 2014
Arturo, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk for your accommodation needs while visiting Wisconsin Dells! We are happy to hear you found our rooms clean and our property ideally located, as well as our staff friendly and respectful. We believe in treating all our guests the same way that we would want to be treated. We hope to see you and your family again very soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This place was a surprise! Should be called a Hotel rather than a Motel. The price was very competitive with other lower cost hotels in WD. Excellent location near Downtown. The staff were friendly and helpful (very nice front desk personnel).The room were clean and well kept. There is a nice warm indoor pool + hot tub. Also a game room, play grounds for kids and more...I heartily recommend this place and plan to stay here each time I am in Wisconsin Dells.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and for choosing the Black Hawk Motel for your accommodation needs. It was nice visiting with you in the office and I agree that some potential guests may be scared of us because of the word Motel. As I stated...we do plan to tweak our name a bit when we do our planned expansion, but we'll always believe in and provide a pleasant guest experience. Thanks again and we're happy to hear that we surprised you! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband & I stayed Friday night for a quick anniversary evening before heading onto a basketball tournament on Saturday. The Owners were so nice & friendly. Room was super clean. Only problem we had was when we arrived the smoke alarm battery was beeping, but since we knew it was their first weekend of the season it wasn't a big deal. My husband called front desk and owner was at our room within 5 minutes to fix it. He even came back later to make sure it was working properly. They were very helpful with giving us directions & helping us find things to do since we were not familiar with the area at all. Plus we got free waterpark passes. What a great value. We will def be back with our kids and soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, April 20, 2014
Hello Amanda! Happy belated anniversary to you and your husband and Thank you for choosing the Black Hawk as your getaway destination! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you on and the rest of your family on your return visit. Be sure and check our website to view our 30 different room types and book with us directly or give us a call as we would be happy to help get you choice accommodations. Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us a review and once again for choosing the Black Hawk! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheboygan WI
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Very friendly people. Just dont stay for the Chula Vista passes. We spent one hour at Chula Vista and my eight yr old daughter wanted to leave after getting pushed out of the way by unsupervised no manners pieces of trash. Sorry about the rant. Back to Blackhawk. Even the people staying there were friendly, I think the staff and owners rub off on the guests. Spent a lot of time in both pools with our little ones and had a great time. Rooms were very clean and modern. Beds were comfy and large bathroom. Its also nice having close parking right outside your room (Reserved for room ). Restaurants and convenience store are very close as well. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Hello Jeff, Thank you so much for taking the time out of your busy schedule to write us our 800th review on Trip Advisor! We sincerely appreciate it, but appreciate even more your kind words towards us and for choosing the Black Hawk! Sorry to hear that you and your family had a unpleasant experience at Chula Vista, however we are happy to hear that you really enjoyed our pools and time spent with us. We believe in treating our guests the way we would want to be treated and so many of our guests are repeat guests...we view them as extended family. We are family owned and operated since 1945 and have always believed in investing profits back into our business. We look forward to accommodating you and your family in the future! Have a great day! Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#18 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.