We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS!
Ranked #1 of 73 Hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Certificate of Excellence
Oswego, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Haven't stayed here in almost 20 years and it's still great place to stay! We stayed in cabins 70 and 71. Our 2 kids had there own room and me and wife had other room with kitchen. Great rooms. Kitchen was great having in our room... Eating out every meal gets pricey and being able to cook meals in our room was great! We stayed Sun. through Wed. and we pretty much had place to ourselves. Indoor pool was nice. We had a blast staying here!! My entire family will be trying to get back here again next year!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! Our kitchenette unit with 2 Queens is very popular room choice and when rented with the adjoining 2 Queen Deluxe provides even more space and privacy. We glad that you were able to stay with us this past October, a great time to visit as it's our offseason. We hope to see you again soon! Thank you again and have a great winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    982
    197
    34
    9
    2
See reviews for
688
318
19
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Mequon, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Took a road trip with my mom, two sisters and 13-year old niece. We ended up in the Dells for one night. I had read the reviews of this motel on Trip Advisor so I booked a cottage (#67) which had 2 rooms that included 3 queen sized beds and a sofa-sleeper.

Let's just say that the last time I stayed with my family in the Dells was when I was 15. This motel brought back memories of that time. Maybe it was just the "motel" experience, but it was just so nice to pull the car up to your front door, unpack and begin to unwind.

Staff was super friendly--we wanted to extra towels, pillows and needed to borrow a wine opener--all happily given to us when we stopped in the office. One of my sisters volunteered to be the "coffee gopher" and went to the office to get our coffee in the morning (she went 3 times). Was it a pain? Probably a little for her...but it actually really added to the fun and the "going back in time" experience when everything wasn't just at our fingertips. (Suggestion: If you're going to be there awhile and love coffee, bring a thermos or big cups to fill.)

The cottage was clean, the beds were comfortable, it was very quiet at night and we all felt very safe and cozy all together in our retro cottage. And for 5 people, a bill of $150 couldn't be beat. Did I mention we received 5 free passes to the waterpark? We took a short drive to Chula Vista and watched my niece have a blast for an hour or so before dinner. That was just an added bonus...we weren't there to go to a waterpark.

If you're tired of these enormous, impersonal, multi-story hotels--book a room or cottage here and you'll see why their back-to-the-basics approach(friendly, clean and quiet) is so appealing.

Room Tip: Cottage 67 was very quiet and you could easily sleep up to 8 people in it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Diana, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detailed review on your recent stay with us. Cottage #67 is a popular unit as it provides privacy with the second bedroom and is an individual unit with no common walls. Sounds like everyone had a great time and we agree that the complimentary water park passes for all registered guests make for a great deal. I appreciate the title of your review as it describes the Black Hawk well. I and my family have always believed in providing a clean, comfortable, quiet place to stay at a reasonable rate w/ many added amentities....and we are family owned and operated since 1945. Next year, all our rooms will have in-room coffee makers so you won't have to come to the office for morning or afternoon coffee. However, we'll always have coffee fresh and hot in our office, (as we do now) for those looking for a back to basics experience of fresh coffee from a commercial BUNN coffee maker, or anyone who wants to check in the morning and say Hi. Thanks again for staying with us and for your review, as we very much appreciate it! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We stayed at the Blackhawk over the weekend with our in-laws. I tried to keep the price in mind when giving the rating but I did have two minor complaints. But the price expecially for a weekend stay is fantastic. The rooms were very clean and comfortable beds. Bathroom is a little small but not bad and you do get free chula water park passes with the stay. My complaints are that when we checked in no one told us they had complementary breakfast and I've seen it listed on some of the other reviews. 2) the heat and AC is a little difficult to get used to on your first night when you are trying to change back and forth. 3) While the pool was heat and felt great the number of people drinking around the pool while being very loud and Obnoxious made me and my two kids very uncomfortable. It got even worse the grown adults decided they had to go down the slide between my 10 and 12 year old kids. While the hotel cant control people staying there they can control drinking at the pool or at least monitor it if your going to allow it. One of the people even dropped his bottle in the pool at one point and had to fish it out. Lucky the bottle didnt break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Wes, Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Great to hear that you found your room to be not only clean with comfortable beds, but also a fantastic value. In regards to your few issues...we DO NOT offer a complimentary breakfast or do we advertise anywhere that we do. A past reviewer mentioned we have one and we do not as they must have been confused with another place they had considered booking. Our heat / AC systems are constructed to where both can not be ran at the same time, which keeps utility costs lower. Sounds like you and your family stayed with us over Harvest Fest Weekend. Also known as Wisconsin Dells on Tap. We apologize as we are short staffed this past weekend, but would have appreciated you letting us know of any obnoxious guests and I personally apologize for their disrepectful behavior. Although we were sold out for this Friday and Saturday, it's one weekend that we enjoy seeing come and go,...just because many guests are here this weekend to drink. We do allow drinking...but do not cater towards it and try to monitor it and I again do apologize for your family being uncomfortable, while at the pool. Happy to hear that your pool water was warm and comfortable. Thanks again and we hope that you have a great fall and winter season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bend, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We chose the Black Hawk based on Trip Advisor guest reviews and were not disappointed. Our room was spotless, beds were comfy, and the cost was reasonable. Our room was near the office, so it was convenient to get our coffee there in the morning.

Room Tip: We chose a very spacious 2 queen, Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hello Dottie, Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a quick review in regards to your recent stay with us. We are happy that you listened to the rest of the Trip Advisor community and booked your stay with us based on the reviews that you read. Our Two Queen Superior is one of the most requested room types of our 30 different room types to choose from. We hope to see you sometime in 2014...we'll then have in-room coffee in all our rooms. Thanks again and have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipton, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is definitely an older motel. But that does not take away from the experience. Awesome staff from front desk to housekeeping. Room is big and clean, bathroom awesome!!! Not far from downtown Wis. Dells, so easy walking to a lot of action. Retro game room is exactly that, played pac-man, frogger, asteroids and more. Would definitely stay here again. Yes some of it is dated but for the price and the hospitality...definitely worth it!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we are delighted to hear that you found us to be an awesome place to stay! We pride ourselves in providing friendly customer service from our front desk, to housekeeping to maintenance staff. Great to hear that you enjoyed our Retro Arcade and played many classic games as well! We hope to see you again for our 2014 season and have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were in town for the Dells on Tap event, and stayed 2 nights. The staff was super nice, and the room was clean. We have a few small complaints; otherwise our stay was fine... You could only have the fan on the a/c on OR the heat, not both at the same time. The heat was radiant heat from the base board, and the a/c unit was a window-type unit. You could not run both at the same time (I wanted the fan on ~ for the white noise ~ but we also needed the heat because it was only in the 40s at night), instead we put the heat on until bedtime, then switched to the fan, but woke up freezing. The only other complaint was the bathroom. There were hardly any places to hang towels. Only above the toilet, which did not have a lid, and the rod was too close, so the towel would hit the toilet ~ eew, IN the shower, or on a hook by the door. The tub was a half-sized tub. Kind of cute actually, but you could not take a bath in there. The biggest complaint of them all was the bathroom door. Totally crappy. It was a slider door, which was fine, but they rigged it up with wheels and nailed them to the door. It was incredibly LOUD when opening and closing the door (and it wasn't very easy to open or close either). Other than that, our stay was good. The chula vista water park passes were nice. We didn't visit the pool or use the other amenities on-site, but heard from others that they were nice.

Room Tip: We were on the bottom floor of the only building that had two floors. Of course it was a bit loud w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. Great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and your room and our facility to be clean. Sounds like you stayed in our two story building w/ the curved roof. We agree this building and section of rooms is the most dated of all our rooms and that's why we have major renovation plans for this building in the near future. We have even thought of tearing this building down and building new, but our Face Book fans love it so much, we have reconsidered and the new rendering has received very positive response on Face Book as well. This section of rooms currently only has a shower and all pocket bathroom doors, which have wear and tear over the years. We do apologize for this inconveniece. We have worked well with this building recently with adding new carpet, some new lighting, flat screen tv's and of course our Sealy Encore Plush beds in all rooms. Also, we would have been happy to get you a fan for your room so you could have had noise and heat at night, as we have fans available, and the bathrooms also have heaters w/ fans on them. We hope to accommodate you again and hope you book with us instead of thru a major online travel site, as we recommend booking directly from our website for the best price (10-35% less) and specific room selection. Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutsonville, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Reasonably priced, very clean, nice amenities, helpful Owners/Front Desk.

The room was large and the bed was new and very good. The morning continental breakfast leaves much to be desired, but the price of this room makes up for any negative associated with food.

Room Tip: These are outdoor corridor rooms with all the good and bad that follows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We are glad you found us to be a great value and "bang for your buck" with a clean room and comfortable bed. All our rooms are exterior corridors and offer reserved parking by your door. I am not sure if you confused us with another place before booking, because we do not offer or advertise a continental breakfast, just coffee or tea in the office all day long. It is something we have considered for the future though. Next year in 2014, we will be offering in-room coffee in all our guest rooms. We hope to accommodate you again! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wisconsin Dells hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dells
Hilton Garden Inn Wisconsin Dell...
#6 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
1.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wisconsin Dells
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Wiscons...
#30 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
3.5 mi away
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
Ramada Wisconsin Dells
#18 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & Suites
Grand Marquis Waterpark Hotel & ...
#21 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 354 reviews
3.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin Dells
Holiday Inn Express Wisconsin De...
#26 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
4.0 of 5 stars 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
All Star Value Inn
All Star Value Inn
#2 of 73 in Wisconsin Dells
5.0 of 5 stars 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.