We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will Be Back for more!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #1 of 78 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Carpentersville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Will Be Back for more!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I stayed here with a large group of friends over the Columbus day weekend and found this family owned motel just delightful. The management is genuinely friendly and accommodating. The facilities are all well kept, clean and comfortable. (our group used 17 rooms so I got to see a lot of the place). With all the different room layouts you'll be sure to find something to suit you at a price that is a good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Hello Juanita, It was a true pleasure to accommodate you and the rest of your Meet Up group this past weekend! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found us to be a delightful place. We do have 30 different room types to choose from and they consist of budget, to family to whirlpool suites. Be sure and check our web site for detailed room descriptions and additional photos. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we look forward to accommodating you and your Meet Up group in 2014. Next year...we'll be providing in-room coffee in all our guest rooms. However, we'll still have the fresh hot java going in our office all day as well. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    762
    166
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
521
267
17
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a long day of riding my motorcycle I ended up at the welcome center on the south side of the Dells. I asked the attendant if she could suggest a motel with a whirlpool for one night. She not only knew which ones had whirlpools but she actually called several and got pricing and availability for me.
The Black Hawk stood out at half the price of the others. She said it was very clean and gave it a high recommendation. I was not disappointed. A great location on the edge of town. Quiet yet close enough to walk to stores, pubs, restaurants, and all the other tourist traps down town.
I could go through a list of things that were good but suffice it to say that there would be nothing on the list that I could find to complain about. A very homey feeling.
The game room had a pool table and 2 REAL PINBALL MACHINES as well as some of the newer digital stuff the kids like. The pool area was nice but the whirlpool could have been hotter for my liking. HINT - there is a 2nd whirlpool and sauna in a separate small room next to the office - hot, well maintained and a blessing after my long day of riding.
No, it didn't have a free breakfast, but I knew that up front and what I saved In $$ left me with more than enough for a great breakfast at the Kilbourn Broadway Grill which was just a short walk from the motel.
I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us! We take complaints and concerns very seriously, however we are estatic that you had nothing to complain about. Sounds like you had a relaxing stay after traveling to the Wisconsin Dells area. In regards to our second hot tub located by our office, I do keep it hotter than the one by our indoor pool. In fact, we have had complaints on it before for being to hot, (which I have turned down), but I figure we have both options for our guests with having two hot tubs. Pat & Glen from Starworlds Arcade in Delkalb, IL do a great job of stocking our retro arcade with great games, in fact I requested a pinball...and they delivered two! Have a great day and we hope to see you again soon! Safe travels, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Great hotel! Definitely a little bit old school but everything is cared-for well and the prices are great. Assigned parking is nice, beds were comfy, and the location is close enough to town to walk but far enough away that this place stays nice and quiet. I will stay here again next time I'm in town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Adam, Thank you for taking the time to write us a quick review on your recent stay with us...we sincerely appreciate it! We feel we are a bit of old school also...but with many of todays modern amenities. Many of our guests enjoy that we are in a quiet location, yet close enough to the downtown Wisconsin Dells area. We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Super clean room and great location. We stayed in suite 74 which my children 6 and 9 described as our own little house. We used the indoor pool also clean and perfect. Obviously this property is maintained to a high standard and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. The location is great as it is close to downtown. The free waterpark passes to Chula Vista (best indoor waterpark in my opinion) saved us some money. You park right in front of your room not in a giant parking lot and it feels like a residential neighbourhood.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review! We're happy that you found us to be an excellant value! Unit #74 is our two bedroom kitchenette w/ 3 full beds, queen sofa sleeper and complete kitchen and it's one of our most popular of our 30 different room types to choose from. We do carry very high standards here at the Black Hawk, especially seeing that we are family owned and operated since 1945. We agree that Chula Vista is a great water park for families w/ younger children and all guests receive free complimentary water park passes with their stay. We hope to see you again soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

Great prices, coupons, nice room and friendly staff. Location is great for walking and attractions are not far if you are driving. I have been staying at the Blackhawk for 20 years and have never had a bad experiance.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review and more importantly...for your 20+ years of continued patronage! We always strive to provide a clean, comfortable room, friendly customer service and a great value. All registered guests do receive complimentary Chula Vista Water Park passes and we always have great money savings coupons for the Dells area attractions and restaurants, like 25% to Noah's Ark and the complimentary Dells Splash Pass which is a buy one get one free discount card. Thank you again for your review and have a great fall season. Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean room and bathroom. Quiet location. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating. Indoor pool was well kept and great that it was open until 11:00 pm. It's nice to stay in a place that the owners really care about. Close enough to the old Dells strip so that you can walk. The free waterpark passes were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Trent, We love that you loved our Mom and Pop motel and you are correct...we do truly care about our establishment. However,...being family owned and operated, makes it easy to care about, and especially our guests. Great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the free water park passes, as well as your clean room. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you for our 2014 season. Until then, have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed there this weekend from Friday October 4 to Sunday 6. had to rooms and every body was happy with the stay because the motel was clean ,the rooms was big, clean and comfortable .just couple of blocks from downtown dell and you get a free water park pass for you stay which save as some money. I would definitely stay there again for my next trip .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and thank you for choosing the Black Hawk on your recent stay to Wisconsin Dells! It makes our day when we hear that everyone was happy with their stay. All our registered guests do receive complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. This is a great savings for families as the regular admission price to the park varies between $29.99 - $34.99. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.