We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Little Mom & Pop Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Black Hawk Motel

Save Saved
You added Black Hawk Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Black Hawk Motel
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
FREE DUAL WATERPARKS
Ranked #2 of 77 hotels in Wisconsin Dells
Bettendorf, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Loved this Little Mom & Pop Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Very clean room and bathroom. Quiet location. The owner was extremely friendly and accommodating. Indoor pool was well kept and great that it was open until 11:00 pm. It's nice to stay in a place that the owners really care about. Close enough to the old Dells strip so that you can walk. The free waterpark passes were great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Trent, We love that you loved our Mom and Pop motel and you are correct...we do truly care about our establishment. However,...being family owned and operated, makes it easy to care about, and especially our guests. Great to hear that you enjoyed our location and the free water park passes, as well as your clean room. Thank you for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you for our 2014 season. Until then, have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    698
    155
    28
    7
    2
See reviews for
471
252
17
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed there this weekend from Friday October 4 to Sunday 6. had to rooms and every body was happy with the stay because the motel was clean ,the rooms was big, clean and comfortable .just couple of blocks from downtown dell and you get a free water park pass for you stay which save as some money. I would definitely stay there again for my next trip .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to write us a review and thank you for choosing the Black Hawk on your recent stay to Wisconsin Dells! It makes our day when we hear that everyone was happy with their stay. All our registered guests do receive complimentary Water Park Passes to Chula Vista Waterparks. This is a great savings for families as the regular admission price to the park varies between $29.99 - $34.99. We hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milwaukee
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The staff was terrific, the motel was good. The location is at the East end of Downtown, easy walk to everything, far enough away from the traffic. Beds were great, water pressure was good. The only flaw albeit a small one is, there are no coffee makers in the room, but in the lobby there is from 700 to 1100 pm. I will be back .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you found us to be a hidden gem! We are located just 4 blocks east of downtown Wisconsin Dells, far enough...yet close enough to all the area attractions and restaurants. We hope to see you for our 2014 season, as we'll be adding in room coffee to all our guest rooms, however we'll definitely still have a fresh cup of coffee available made right from our Bunn coffee maker. Have a great fall season and thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durand, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This reminded us of our favorite motel in Green Bay, which is why we chose it. Clean, comfortable, quiet and cozy. There is an old fashioned feel with modern amenities, and you can drive right to your door. It's close to downtown and rates are very reasonable. Enjoyed our stay here and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Great to hear that you experienced a clean, comfortable, cozy and quiet stay with us. In fact,...we hope to become your favorite place to stay in Wisconsin Dells! We believe in providing all of the above with top notch customer service added...all while keeping our rates reasonable. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stayed at the Black Hawk Motel is Wisconsin Dells on August 6th. I was passing through the area and wanted to stay in a non chain motel. The room had a character of it's own and made a simple but nice impression. I would defintiely stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book ahead in this tourist area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Hello Bluesky68124....We are so glad that you didn't pass us up when you were just passing thru the Wisconsin Dells area this past summer! Thank you for taking the time to write us a quick review and for choosing to stay at a non-chain hotel and for supporting a family owned and operated business. Great to hear that you would stay with us again....and we hope to see you soon! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

You are not just one of a thousand guests staying in one of a thousand rooms at the Black Hawk Motel. It's a classic motel with excellent service and always clean. Make your reservation with absolute confidence.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Hello Adam, Thank you for having confidence in us and for your patronage. We truly care about all of our guests and want them to have the absolute best possible lodging experience possible. This is one of the many reasons we continue to pump profits back into the business each off season and strive for high levels of customer service. Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review and we hope to see you again for our 2014 season....and until then, have a great fall and winter season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland Park, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We went there with my husband,mother in law and our baby.It was very clean,nice,there is indoor and outdoor pool,jacuzzi,separate whirlpool room and sauna . And free passes to the water park.2-3 blocks from the down town.You can't find better place to stay.Free coffee all day.Great value.Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheBlackHawk, General Manager at Black Hawk Motel, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We are estatic that you found us to be a great place to stay at! Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us. Sounds like you took time to enjoy our pools and complimentary water park wristbands to Chula Vista Waterparks. We hope to see you during our 2014 season...we'll be adding complimentary in room coffee to all our guest rooms, but we'll still have coffee in our office all day as well. Have a great fall season! Sincerely, Brad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Black Hawk Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Black Hawk Motel

Address: 720 Race Street, P.O. Box 15, Wisconsin Dells, WI 53965
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Wisconsin > Wisconsin Dells
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
#2 Business Hotel in Wisconsin Dells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Black Hawk Motel 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sealy Encore Plush Beds in all rooms! Choose from 30 different room types, from family to budget, cottages, jacuzzi suites, kitchenettes and two bedroom units. All rooms include Free High Speed Wireless, Fridge, Microwave, DVD/CD player and Reserved parking at your door. Indoor and Outdoor Heated Pools with slides and diving board. Centerally located just 4 blocks from downtown, attraction packages, 24 hour casino shuttle. Family Owned and Operated Since 1945! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Black Hawk Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Black Hawk Hotel Wisconsin Dells
Black Hawk Wisconsin Dells

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Black Hawk Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.